Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This film is actually outstanding!
While "Batman" may have pulverized "Gross Anatomy" at the box office in the summer of 1989, this film is worth seeing and owning. This is one of those films where you watch a character evolve in front of your eyes. You watch Matthew Modine's character grow up in the film. As he goes from being a careless flunky who barely made his way through a...
Published on June 10, 2000

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DECENT EFFORT BY MODINE. HARD TO DEFINE GENRE OF THIS FILM.
I found this title in the comedy section at the video store. It is more of a romantic drama with comedic elements. Modine excells at the sensitive smart-aleck role found in "Gross Anatomy," a la "Vision Quest." He plays a cocky med student, with his own way of doing things, thus ruffling the feathers of the more conservative characters he meets...
Published on August 8, 1999


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This film is actually outstanding!, June 10, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Gross Anatomy [VHS] (VHS Tape)
While "Batman" may have pulverized "Gross Anatomy" at the box office in the summer of 1989, this film is worth seeing and owning. This is one of those films where you watch a character evolve in front of your eyes. You watch Matthew Modine's character grow up in the film. As he goes from being a careless flunky who barely made his way through a less than top notch school, you see, as Christine Lahti does, that he has something. And she makes him believe it. And finally, in an emotional scene in a diner and an even more emotional scene in a classroom before final exams, you realize he has. A great film that you can identify with if you've ever known someone who seemed to have so much going for him, but seemed to just want to play the clown all the time. A beautiful film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Heartwarming, August 10, 2002
This review is from: Gross Anatomy [VHS] (VHS Tape)
"Gross Anatomy" is a predictable, but heartwarming, little film about five eager first-year medical students. I appreciated the occasionally goofy medical humor and the fine performances from all the actors, notably Christine Lahti, as a rigidly serious, if ultimately well-intentioned anatomy instructor This film has been sadly overlooked for years; it deserves more than a passing glance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not enough praise for Gross Anatomy, August 18, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Gross Anatomy [VHS] (VHS Tape)
In my opinion, this movie never received the recognition that it deserved. As a medical student hopeful, I was drawn in by the medical school backdrop of the film. Aside from that,I also feel that the movie's use of drama, romance, and comedy in the main characters' struggle to discover things about themselves and each other was superb. Although largely underrated, this remains one of my favorites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DECENT EFFORT BY MODINE. HARD TO DEFINE GENRE OF THIS FILM., August 8, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Gross Anatomy [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I found this title in the comedy section at the video store. It is more of a romantic drama with comedic elements. Modine excells at the sensitive smart-aleck role found in "Gross Anatomy," a la "Vision Quest." He plays a cocky med student, with his own way of doing things, thus ruffling the feathers of the more conservative characters he meets. Along the way, he falls in love with Daphne Zuniga's character who don't immediately mesh. Film langours at parts where Modine and Dr. Woodruff argue. However, interplay between Modine and Zuniga is great. Worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best med movie ever!, May 29, 2003
By 
Apostolos Simiakos (Athens, Attiki Greece) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gross Anatomy (DVD)
For my opinion the year of 1989 it has been one of the most exciting years in the history of cinema. Three movies from this particular year changed my life. First Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade, second Dead Poets Society and third is Gross Anatomy. the last one i saw it the first time in TV but i loved it right away. This movie mixtures two of my favorite items. Colleges and relationships. It has believable and true characters and most of all it has Daphne Zunigha. Its directory it is honest and modest but above all some melancholy corresses the story. I think the character Matthew Modine plays is a genious who he dosen't know he is genious. I loved it and i am waiting for the european edition of the movie because i cant buy it yet.
Dont miss it either youare med student or not...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps the most underrated film of all time., August 12, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Gross Anatomy [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I am always disturbed to see the lack of recognition which "Gross Anatomy" has suffered. It is in my opinion one of the best films ever produced. The humour is good, but more significant is the character development which is so perceptive and subtle. It is certainly worth seeing, unfortunately it appears to be unavailable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No Special Features, December 7, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Gross Anatomy (DVD)
If you read all the reviews of this film below based on the VHS version, you'll see it is one of the more enjoyable films of the late 1980s. Everything said about it is correct, and I stand by the praise I gave it as well.
I just wanted to alert viewers of the DVD, however, that there are NO special features. It's a bit odd for a DVD not to have any, but that explains why this is is so inexpensive.
Of course, the nice thing is, it's widescreen, so you can see the full picture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Here it is, IN BOLD TYPE.", August 14, 2010
By 
This review is from: Gross Anatomy (DVD)
Gross Anatomy (1989) is a very accurate depiction of what medical school is like, but with a special twist: a carefree slacker of sorts (Joe Slovak) doesn't want to conform to the serious mindset that often accompanies being a medical student. Slovak's attitude and brilliance seem to work throughout the film, but is tested periodically by his peers and instructors who grow frustrated and impatient with his relaxed approach. If it were real life, I think that everyone he came in contact with would respect his down-to-earthness. Joe Slovak marches to the beat of a different drum, and for that, he is a refreshing character. "Hey.......tomorrow's tomorrow!!!!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprise Sleeper Hit!, April 22, 2011
By 
S. Morales (Levittown, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gross Anatomy (DVD)
Gross Anatomy follows one year of new medical students who end up together in a lab group and deal with the tribulations of their stressful assignments and responsibilities in order to pass. Matthew Modine plays the somewhat stereotypical "hotshot streetsmart bad boy" with some hidden insecurities, and his love interest, fellow medical student Daphne Zuniga (of Spaceballs) plays a more serious headstrong type who somewhat disappointingly goes for Modine a little too fast and soon to be totally realistic.
While the movie may be labeled as a Romantic Comedy, there honestly is not much comedy to be had in this film as it is not all that funny, nor does it really try to be. While the film mostly should be labeled a drama, there are few comedic influences as well as a vibe that almost promises a comedy but never really delivers, albeit a few scenes. No, this is mostly a fast-paced drama that at first feels as if it will not fare too well, except that during the second half of the film (and the cast's 2nd half year of medical school) tensions begin to arise, friction between lab partners and love interests as well as friction between students and professors.

What makes this film work is that while the script is not too daring on comedy or memorable choreography or even dialogue, it doesn't ever really try to be, but seems more concerned with building characters, ones in which reveal themselves throughout the school year in forms of deeper insecurities and stresses. While the characters do try and keep a professional attitude at first, the tensions of medical school assignments soon begin to weigh them down, thus they end up depending on each other emotionally more than they originally thought they would need to. This builds a set of characters who may not be the funnest people in the world, but are in fact VERY REAL. And that is where the film strikes gold. Some characters do surprising things that end up getting a few either kicked out or quitting. One throughout the film can either very much relate to it; either by the tension of taking on such a difficult field of study or seeing characters become downright raw with one another - yet virtues such as forgiveness and grace play a tremendous part, thus the film does an excellent job of almost unconsciously exploring many degrees and angles of the human psyche and heart, showing that there is so much more to us depending on what situations we find ourselves in.

I for one very much enjoyed the movie, not because it made me really laugh or cry or tense up, but because the characters felt more downright HUMAN than most movies I've regularly seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Pleasant Viewing Experience., December 23, 2013
By 
Mr. Math Expert (Somewhere in New Jersey) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gross Anatomy [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Viewed: 12/13
Rate: 8

12/13: I had seen Gross Anatomy in clips many years ago because I kept getting in the middle of it whenever I flipped the channels. Finally, I was able to watch it from start to finish for the first time. What particularly impressed me about the film was that how mature the film was in regards to the serious study of medicine. The viewers were taken through the arduous journey of medical students in terms of their studies. It gave them an idea how hard and difficult it was for many future doctors to be where they were. That's why I have a lot of respect for them. On the other hand, Gross Anatomy had nice human moments, especially the one with Joe and his female teacher. There were two negatives I have about Gross Anatomy. One was the romantic aspect between Joe and Laurie which I thought was a distraction. Not that I didn't mind, but the movie makers already had a compelling story to tell to render the aspect useless. Two was the brief in-look of the first year studies. I thought the story should have encompassed more years of medical school including residency to make things interesting. Then again, I should be reminded of the movie's title. All in all, Gross Anatomy was probably and still is to this day one of the rarest films about medical school studies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Gross Anatomy
Gross Anatomy by Thom Eberhardt
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.