Customer Reviews


672 Reviews
5 star:
 (521)
4 star:
 (93)
3 star:
 (32)
2 star:
 (20)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Series!
Awesome ending to an awesome series! I loved all 3 “Up In The Air” books and I highly recommend them to anyone that's a FSOG or BTY fan! Grounded is a wonderful conclusion to this series and soooo very satisfying.

James and Bianca are amazing characters and I could read about them forever, but I especially loved the secondary characters as well. The...
Published 18 months ago by TigerLily

versus
24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NOT AS GOOD AS EXPECTED
I was so waiting for Grounded after reading the first two Up In The Air books. But...it just didn't live up to my expectations. I didn't like the writing, thought some of the scenes were just too dark and just couldn't make myself care anymore for most of the characters. Quite a let down. On to Beautiful Bastard.
Published 18 months ago by J Benz


‹ Previous | 1 268 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Series!, February 18, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Grounded (Up In The Air Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Awesome ending to an awesome series! I loved all 3 “Up In The Air” books and I highly recommend them to anyone that's a FSOG or BTY fan! Grounded is a wonderful conclusion to this series and soooo very satisfying.

James and Bianca are amazing characters and I could read about them forever, but I especially loved the secondary characters as well. The friendship and love between Bianca and Stephan is one of the best supporting relationships I've ever read. Some authors try to have a BFF intermixed in the story line somewhere and it mostly seems unauthentic, but Ms. Lilley superbly creates a friendship and devotion between Bianca and Stephan that is sweet and heartbreaking and really adds depth to the books overall.

I can't wait to read Tristan and Lana’s stories (hopefully soon) and check in on Mr. Beautiful and Buttercup too! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NOT AS GOOD AS EXPECTED, February 13, 2013
By 
J Benz (Brookings, OR, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Grounded (Up In The Air Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
I was so waiting for Grounded after reading the first two Up In The Air books. But...it just didn't live up to my expectations. I didn't like the writing, thought some of the scenes were just too dark and just couldn't make myself care anymore for most of the characters. Quite a let down. On to Beautiful Bastard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 41 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Went too far ... No longer plausibly "loving", February 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Grounded (Up In The Air Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
MAY CONTAIN NON SPECIFIC SPOILERS

This book was troubling to me. I bought it the first day it was released - I like the author's writing and felt invested in the story. I enjoyed the closure and further development of the relationships but I was left with the feeling that the story just did not make sense. The actions of the hero did not align with his professed feelings... In fact, I was left feeling like this story might do a disservice to abuse victims by perpetuating the violence equals love belief.

For example, James was unhappy that Bianca was afraid of him, so he beats the tar out of her, leaving bruises that were referenced as still existing much later in the book. And she dares to go out for coffee alone - she must pay severely for that transgression. This doesn't convey romance and love, no matter what the author told us they were feeling.

The "hero" seemed not very different than the villain by the end of the book and the heroine just seemed pathetic - like a shell of who she was at the beginning of the relationship.

The author tried too hard to distinguish her story from the other sexy trilogies out now and went too far. The Up In the Air stories became less of a love story than a description of a powerful man becoming obsessed with a fragile woman and abusing her in the name of love. It was not sexy - it was uncomfortable and tragic because it brought to mind people in real life who may be similarly abused.

But hey, he had money, was hot and bought her friends so I guess we are to believe that it was happily ever after? Ugh. I like a good erotic romance with a possessive hero as much as any reader, but this story left me feeling dirty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 61 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT!, February 13, 2013
Let me start by saying if you are a future, up and coming writer, please avoid "fillers". My first disappointment was I could't or didn't finish this book. 2nd disappointment; I believe for me, the problem was I waited so long and when Grounded was finally released, I had lost interest. I thought giving so much to a photo shoot was pointless, with no depth. 3rd disappointment; The story about Stephan and Javier, should have been its on book, not a chapter in someone else story. I completely skipped that Chapter. Its as though R.K. needed a filler because James and Bianca story was going no where. 4th disappointment; Sex, sex and more sex, that was a little silly, because I don't know a woman on this earth that could possibly have 5 orgasms in one night. Really? A great read, is when people are talking to each other. I hate books that tell me every detail of a room, floor, wall, the sky... etc. Its as though they are trying to make the book longer. It really just makes it super boring.Sometimes less is much better. I love the first two, maybe because I read them back to back. But the third installment couldn't keep my attention. I gave it two stars,because I liked the previous two books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Holy S***!!!! That was A HOT KINKY ROLLERCOASTER, February 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Grounded (Up In The Air Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
I lOVED LOVED LOVED 5+++++ Star for me. Grounded was the perfect conclusion to end this series. I laugh, cried, and fall in love all over again. James and Bianca are my new favorite book couples. Also, Bianca and Stephan friendship just broke my heart. But in a good way. Because you don't find friendships like that, and when you do is very precious to knows heart. Especially after what they both been thru when they were homeless. They were each others ALWAYS. There was so much emotions in this book that it had MY emotions all over the place lol. When S*** hit the fan. I felt for James, Bianca, and Stephan in so many ways then one. ...Sigh... I loved every minute of this book. Bianca finally became open with James and told him how she felt and James became understanding (I know). James never failed to let Bianca know how much he loves her. Oh! Lets not forget the sex scenes HOT HOT HOT. Mr. Cavendish was more kinky in this novel then the last two. The S*** that he did and what came out of his mouth was AMAZING lol lol lol. Mr. Cavendish can have ME anytime lol.. I love a dominant man with a big heart. This series is in my top 3. Up there with FSOG and Gabriel Inferno. Now I am looking for the next 2 books to top my "top 5"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed :\, February 14, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Grounded (Up In The Air Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
****WARNING****SPOILERS****

I REALLY like the first 2 books. And I REALLY like most of this book, except the last few chapters unfortunately. :/ Those last chapters started to feel too rushed to me. And I love Bianca's and Stephen's incredible friendship- their love for and devotion to one another. After all that they've been through together since teens, I totally get their bond. Who wouldn't? They're like family, but after that scary and awful event towards the end of the book, it felt to me as I was reading it, like Stephen was more important (even if only a little) to Bianca than James. And I'm not talking about when she was frantic to see him/know if he was okay. That was completely understandable. It was after that, and in my opinion- pretty much all the way up to the end of the story. Of course Stephen was "number one" for the first half of the books in this series, and understandably so. After all, they only had and trusted each other throughout their incredible hardships, and long history of friendship together. But as the story progressed and Bianca fell madly, deeply in love with James (just as he was with her)- he became equally important and vital to her too. Exactly as it should be as far as I'm concerned. James had become everything to Bianca, just as Stephen was, but in different ways of course. James- her "one and only", her lover and partner in life. Stephen- her best friend, but more like a brother really. However towards the end of the book, to me while reading it, I just felt like while she without a doubt very much loved and was beyond grateful for James, Stephen became "number one" again in her life and who mattered most to her. It's hard for me to put into words clearly, but that's just the feeling/vibe I was getting as I was reading it. And I did not like that at all. :( Then there were all the characters/couples thrown in at the end. I realize they were gathered for a very good reason, but still- overload in a way. The last couple of chapters seemed more about them, and Bianca's connection/friendship with Stephen than it was about Bianca and James and their strong, fierce, all-encompassing love for one another. It should have been the other way around! And oh what a bummer it wasn't. :/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Basically Boring, Repitious, Cheap Porn, May 10, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Grounded (Up In The Air Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
I cannot believe that I read all 3 of the books in this "Up In The Air Series" till the end. I was waiting for something to develop in the plot, but it turned out that the plot was just kinky, repetitious porn and not much else. No suspense and predictable. Can I change my rating to 0-Stars?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Could have been better!, April 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Grounded (Up In The Air Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
I love a good hot, steamy romantic novel. This could have been a wonderful love story. I read this series because it was compared to Fifty Shades. These books were so dark and disturbing that I was angry and sad at the same time. How can one love someone and smack them around just because he is angry? Doesn't cut it with me-too much violence!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!!, February 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Grounded (Up In The Air Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
I've been waiting to read this final chapter in James and Bianca's story for months and it didn't disappoint me one bit!! An amazing story from start to finish ;))
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's a 3 1/2 stars......, February 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Grounded (Up In The Air Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Don't get me wrong, I loved the first two books! First, They didn't get to the beef of the story until the middle of the book. You only saw the meeting/seeing of her half-brother once?? The threat or danger to her was at the end. I guess it was really no build up to the danger. Don't get me wrong because the scene was excellent in the story when it happen just no build up??? And too many characters added to make it look like a spin off is coming soon. I didn't care about all those characters. I guess I was expecting one thing and got another. But they lived happily ever after was there. The first two books got me so excited that I couldn't wait for the last book. It was kind of let down. (Sorry) But I still love James and Bianca love story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 268 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Grounded (Up In The Air Book 3)
$6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.