Customer Reviews


106 Reviews
5 star:
 (98)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just WOW, you have to see to believe, December 5, 2012
By 
Nathanile (WINCHENDON, MA, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TRON: Uprising Season 1 (Amazon Instant Video)
Ok so let me first say i am a tron fan, now that being said this cartoon is one of the best cartoons i have seen in years. It manages to capture and the elements that make a truly great cartoon, the serious moments, the intense action, and the most important part that a lot of cartoons miss the mark on and that the consequences for the things you do. I would more than recommend this, i would say you owe it to yourself to at the very least give the show a try.

As a side note, if you view threw your tv and a surround sound its just increases its awesomeness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful aesthetic with some-what provocative story, January 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
First off, there is no end to the stunning visual design quality in this series. If you were a fan of the revamped design aesthetic from the most recent Tron movie (Legacy) then you will definitely find something to love in this series. They've given us what that movie did not: a look into the actual living tron universe, and it is amazing.

So, the graphics are Awesome! Now, that said, there's the storyline and character development components. Tron Uprising does a good job of character introduction and relationship development on the whole, The protagonists are empathetically explored in a manner which is, unfortunately, not usually seen in "children's" programming. Where the character development tends to fail is in the development of the cast of antagonists. They are generally rendered as flat archetypes with little, and in most cases no, exploration of motivation or history. There is one notable exception in the lead female lieutenant's character. There has been sufficient groundwork created to drive a substantial amount of story into her alignment with, and possible defection from, the ClU army (not a spoiler. This is fairly well established in the first two episodes.). With the amount of acting talent that is clearly present in this series (the cas list is very impressive) I do hope they find a way to deepen the full range of characters. I am a fan of the work done in the Avatar: The Last Airbender (and subsequent Avatar: Korra) series. These are what I use as benchmarks for highest quality story-telling within this genre. With Avatar you had such a deep sense of the turmoil on both sides of the story. As with real life there was no clear line between the good and bad; both aspects being present in both protagonists and antagonists alike. There is potential within the Tron series to create this same level of cultural exploration though, at present, something qualitative is missing: culture. In the Avatar series you are brought into the richness of the culture as the story progreses. With Tron Uprising you get more of the sterile nature of the Grid than the cultural nature of the free program society. Hopefully that will change as the series matures.

This project obviously has a massive amount of talent involved, from the voice characterizations to the direction and design quality. The story follows a culture as it faces a challenge to it's freedom in the face of military might. Not at all a fluffy, shallow subject. I'm not all that certain that the nuances of the political undertones will be readily apparent to the younger audience but I am certainly glad they are there. Just because this material is aimed towards children does not mean that it should come off as childish (giving a dirty look at the power ranger franchise).

This show is on par with some of the recent work in the Star Wars: The Clone Wars series but is still a ways from becoming something as profound as Avatar. There is definitely potential though. They just need to remember that story always, and I mean ALWAYS, trumps visual design.

Overall recommendation: Great for kids, good for adults. The themes are complex enough the challenge younger minds but not so much as to lose them in the political clutter. As such it works well as adult entertainment also. With better character development this could be a great show. For now, it's just pretty darn good and a damn side better than most of the crap they throw at children on tv.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tron, November 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am a big Tron fan and I was really stoked to see animated series!!! Totally fun and not cheesy at all!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A nice animated prequel to Tron: Legacy, January 18, 2013
By 
Grieger (Los Angeles, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I'm a big fan of Tron and Tron: Legacy so of course I had to try this out. I actually had this set up to record on my DVR but apparently some episodes lost out to other records so I missed four of them. Nice thing about watching them this way, of course, is the lack of annoying commercials. I doubt any of the following will really be spoilers since I'm not going into any details not covered in the first few minutes of the first episode.

Overall, the stories (on-going and per-episode) are cool and fun to watch. The main story takes place soon after CLU takes over the grid. The series takes place in "a quaint little berg" called Argon City. It's meant to be an outlying city away from the main action (i.e. where CLU rules) though it's still gigantic. Tesler is a program assigned as a governor to oversee the city along with various minions including Pavel and Paige--the former, a conniving, power hungry sycophant just waiting for an opportunity to rule; the latter a strong-willed and idealistic commander serving the wrong people for the right reasons. They run the occupation that tries to pretend it cares about the programs of Argon City even as it callously sends programs to their doom if they get in the way.

Meanwhile, the main protagonist is Beck, a mechanic program working out of the main garage for the city. His friends and co-workers Mara and Zed work for Able, a program who largely wants to just keep the garage running smoothly. The big secret, of sorts, is that Beck, after witnessing the death of a friend at the hands of the occupation, finds Tron, apparently pre-Rinzler, and decides to start a little resistance.

Season one follows Beck as he tries to fight for his fellow programs and gives you a few cameos of some of the characters from Tron: Legacy while adding in some new characters that have an impact on the major characters but weren't part of the movie.

The visuals follow the styles set by Tron: Legacy (a great thing, at least for me, since I really loved the production design from the movie--makes sense that the director used to be an architect!) with artistic license making the characters fittingly cartoony. Yes, they have really long legs but it's just the art style and I don't have a problem with it. Vehicles and the city itself all have that sort of clean-line, neon glowy style though as the season progresses you'll notice more variation (some programs sport multiple colors).

The actors are a mix of familiar names or voices and for the most part fit their roles. My only gripe is I don't really feel like Elijah Wood's voice really fits the character much. It's not terrible but I guess at the same time, it sort of makes sense given who the character is even if it doesn't match what he looks like. I love that Bruce Boxleitner plays Tron. It gives it a nice continuity. I won't mention the other returning cast member from Tron: Legacy but suffice it to say where artistic license was taken with new characters, they did a great job at reproducing the original actors and distinctiveness for the returning characters even if they didn't always manage to get the same actor to return and voice their character.

Each episode is 22 minutes long (made for a 30 minute slot) so they tend to run the per-episode plot fairly quickly. That said, most episodes don't feel rushed necessarily. One or two did feel like they had some potential then ended fairly quickly (though one did leave things open for a return of a certain character or plot line). There were a couple of places where something was introduced without much introduction and thus wasn't explained well enough. When you get to the episode that has a lot of "bugs" in it, you'll understand.

All in all, if you're a fan of the latest movie and don't mind being thrown back a bit to your Saturday morning cartoon days, this is a great series to watch. The current season is almost over so you'll be able to watch the whole season pretty soon (Amazon's on 17, Disney channel showed the 18th last weekend and the 19th airs this weekend on, you guessed it, Saturday). I don't know if it's going to make it to season 2 (one person said it was cancelled, another said it wasn't but there was no news about a pick-up for a second season) but if it does, they've got a lot of time to do it (seeing as it takes 20 years for the events of Tron: Legacy to occur). Plenty of time to do just about anything.

If you didn't watch the movies, it could still be a fun watch though I suggest watching Tron: Legacy. You don't necessarily need to see the original Tron as long as you understand that there were a few things that happened in the past that set up the story as it stands. Legacy's little prologue at the start of the movie gives you a general idea of what's going on. The whole relationship between Flynn and his son really doesn't play into much in this series though. It's more about CLU creating a sort of oppressive state and the efforts of some to resist that oppression.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There needs to be lots more like this show, November 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This show is as good, if not better than the movie which it is set before. Great animation, voice acting, and an actual storyline and characters that are interesting and memorable. Can't wait for the next season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you loved the original Tron, this is for you!, January 20, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
When the Tron sequel was announced, I was REALLY looking forward to it. Even though it did have some great stuff in it, I felt like character Tron was not used well. I still bought the movie but was a little bit of a let down.

I was really happy with the animated series! It has heart, character development, a broad storyline, and wonderful action scenes. This is how I wish the movie had been written.

Many scenes lack the 3D look you may desire, but the scenes that matter have it.

All of the characters have believable motivation. Be warned that Tron, himself, takes something of a backseat because he is training the main character. If you can accept that, you will love the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than Tron Legacy, January 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Even if you hated Tron Legacy, this is worth watching. Great voice talents, an artistic style all it's own, and interesting story arcs that will keep you interested.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasantly Surprised!, December 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
After being rather disappointed with Tron: Legacy, I went into this series expecting it to be an animated rehash of the new movie, but boy was I wrong. Uprising has well-developed characters that you can relate to, an engaging story, stunning visuals, and a great soundtrack similar to that of Legacy (though not from Daft Punk unfortunately), and what we are left with is a unique series that should leave both fans of Tron and newcomers to the franchise alike satisfied. My one gripe with Uprising - an easily forgivable one at that given the nature of the show - would be that the action scenes, while fun to watch, get a bit repetitive and predictable after a couple of episodes. But overall, Tron: Uprising is a fun and refreshing addition to the Tron franchise that people of all ages should give a shot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is an amazing show, where's the dvd/bluRay?, May 29, 2013
WHERE is the DVD/BLU-ray!?!

i have not heard of tron uprising till i saw it pop up on netflix. The series is amazing, and after the season finale, i went to search for season 2 only to find Disney's not making one due to poor ratings???!?!!!!???

What's wrong with you Dis???? There must've been horrible marketing because I've not seen any ads for it.

The show itself has a compelling story, somewhat Batman Beyond'ish, but set in this absolutely beautiful world, with wonderful art and amazingly stylized characters.

Pallete, sense of design, great animation, its unique flat rendering to make 3D look 2D'ish is awesome! i want to see more! i even wanted to buy a blu/dvd set but there isnt any...

There's not even any toys i could find :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The love child of Tron and Aeon Flux., January 21, 2013
By 
This is a spectacular series that anyone who loves sci-fi or anime should watch. Strong story telling, acting and amazing visuals!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Grounded
Grounded by Disney Animation Studios
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.