Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Book I've read on Focus Groups
This was the most helpful book I read on focus groups and helped me survive my dissertation. It is short and to the point and easy to understand if you don't have a lot of qualitative research experience. It is well organized and leads you through the entire process of focus groups, highlighting choices I never even though from an objective point of view, instead of only...
Published on November 1, 2008 by Psych Grad Student

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great as an introduction
This is a great book if you are looking for an introduction to focus group. Very easy to read and to the point. However, if you're looking for methodology and design of focus groups this is not your book.
Published on June 1, 2011 by KikoPR


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Book I've read on Focus Groups, November 1, 2008
This was the most helpful book I read on focus groups and helped me survive my dissertation. It is short and to the point and easy to understand if you don't have a lot of qualitative research experience. It is well organized and leads you through the entire process of focus groups, highlighting choices I never even though from an objective point of view, instead of only advocating one side. I liked that he presents reasons for an against each method or decision and allows you to make the choice about what is going to be best for your project. I wish it had a little more about the details of analyzing the data though. It seems more focused on the how tos of and decisions about actually conducting focus groups and less on analyzing the data. A great, short practical resource for the how tos though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, February 26, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Focus Groups as Qualitative Research, Second Edition (Qualitative Research Methods Series 16) (Paperback)
This is in reference to the Second Edition because I had read some bad reviews about the Third Edition. It's clear and to the point. Information in other Focus Group books are covered, but without all the fluff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great as an introduction, June 1, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Focus Groups as Qualitative Research, Second Edition (Qualitative Research Methods Series 16) (Paperback)
This is a great book if you are looking for an introduction to focus group. Very easy to read and to the point. However, if you're looking for methodology and design of focus groups this is not your book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid Start in Understanding the Use of Focus Groups, February 19, 2003
This review is from: Focus Groups as Qualitative Research, Second Edition (Qualitative Research Methods Series 16) (Paperback)
Essential to the study of marketing research, "Focus Groups As Qualitative Research" by David Morgan succinctly presents a classroom quality look at a much misunderstood aspect of needs and wants analyses.
Each chapter is segmented topically, making this academic essay organized in such a way to be appreciated by the marketing or communications student.
Intended for the collegiate level and above, Morgan presumes a basic knowledge of market research principles and goals. Here, he justifies the credibility of focus groups, and steers the reader away from seeing them as superficial, unscientific examinations and guesswork.
While it has an academic journal tone to it, it is readable. It has a hefty bibliography at the end, with 50-60 works cited.
I fully recommend "Focus Groups As Qualitative Research " by David L. Morgan.
Anthony Trendl
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good overview, the cliffs notes version, May 9, 2008
This review is from: Focus Groups as Qualitative Research, Second Edition (Qualitative Research Methods Series 16) (Paperback)
I needed a quick over view about focus groups for a project. I did not have the time to read a long winded book but wanted more than a journal article. This book fit the bill. Having seen focus groups used in many settings I wanted to know more about the research design portion of the process. This book seemed to be a good distilation of a larger work, and that is why I call it the cliffs notes version. There is enough here for anyone needing a brief overview, including advice to help a researcher determine if a focus group will produce the results needed for your project. Overall I found Focus Groups as Qualitative Research very helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Focus Groups, March 8, 2009
This review is from: Focus Groups as Qualitative Research, Second Edition (Qualitative Research Methods Series 16) (Paperback)
This book was suggested by my advisor for reference while finishing my dissertation. The book was well-written, easy to understand, and very through. It covered both the nuances of focus groups and the applications of focus groups, so it would be an appropriate read regardless of your specific need in conducting a focus group (e.g., marketing, research, etc.)It is highly recommended for anyone planning a focus group. In my opinion, it gives practical information that is beneficial to have prior to conducting a focus group rather than finding out about glitches after the fact--potential time and money saver.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good for practitioners and achademy, August 14, 2012
By 
Octavio F Torres Chazaro (Tepeji del Rio, MEXICO) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I found this book good and practical. Probably too much achademy language on it, but still with a very good amount of practical advice. I have not read it all but still I found the target chapters useful, friendly and to the point. Plenty of good references to the critical books and articles. Some paragraphs were golden to me as for example the topic on segmentation, But the best were the criteria to organize the full focus group exercise and the full rationale behind it. I would certainly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for the Focus Group Researcher, July 13, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Focus Groups as Qualitative Research, Second Edition (Qualitative Research Methods Series 16) (Paperback)
This book was invaluable as I worked on a research project. It provides not only an overview of focus groups as a research methodology, but provides comparisons of other qualitative methods, setting up and utilizing focus groups, and analyzing data. It is truly a must-have for those who want to use a focus group methodology for research in the social sciences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Instructive and Helpful, October 2, 2003
By 
This review is from: Focus Groups as Qualitative Research, Second Edition (Qualitative Research Methods Series 16) (Paperback)
Data collected from focus groups provide information that would otherwise be unknown. The author defines focus group sessions as "basically group interviews" (p. 9). He adds "The fundamental data that focus groups produce are transcripts of the group discussion" (p. 10). What a researcher finds in focus groups is interaction among the members that is not found in other forms of research. The first chapter covers the history of its use.
Four aspects of group discussion are discussed:
1. The observer is advised to pay close attention to the difference between what participants find interesting and what they find important.
2. Note differences in perspectives as revealed through how questions are asked and answered.
3. Observe areas of agreement and disagreement.
4. Be aware that attempts to build consensus are found in group dynamics within focus groups.
In general this book provides the basics of introducing researchers to the expectations of using focus group for data collection and interpretation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Focus Groups as Qualitative Research (Qualitative Research Methods), February 6, 2007
This review is from: Focus Groups as Qualitative Research, Second Edition (Qualitative Research Methods Series 16) (Paperback)
Succint, accurate and practical. Great help for those entering the world of group interviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Focus Groups as Qualitative Research, Second Edition (Qualitative Research Methods Series 16)
$29.00 $24.07
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.