Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid, short biography of Grover Cleveland
If you want great detail on the presidents, this book series, "The American Presidents," will not be for you. If, however, you would like to get better introduced to some of the Presidents with some quick reads, this series could be very attractive. "Grover Cleveland," written by Henry Graff, is one book in the series. At the outset, I will say that this is a nice...
Published on March 23, 2008 by Steven A. Peterson

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but not great
I usually enjoy the books in this series as concise but informative introductions to the presidents. This particular volume, in my mind, isn't quite as good as some of the others. It certainly presents a number of very interesting vignettes of the historical and social context in which President Cleveland lived, but the book at times seems to be more about everything but...
Published on December 17, 2010 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars That unknown era in America, December 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Grover Cleveland: The American Presidents Series: The 22nd and 24th President, 1885-1889 and 1893-1897 (Kindle Edition)
Most Americans (let alone non-\Americans) have no idea about those presidents after 1860. I learned so much from this book, not only about Cleveland, but about AMerican culture, society, and politics of that period. I think more people should read about this era, especially this book, which was clearly written and entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Overview Delivered at a Very Readable Depth, November 14, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I read Presidential biographies and lately have focused on lesser-know ones. There is much more to Cleveland than I realized. If you're looking for deep political, leadership, and psychological insight, this series probably isn't for you. But if you want a good overview of each President to expand your knowledge or "audition" presidents for deeper reading, this series is great. Each book gives a good, two-nights of reading assessment of the subject president against the historical background of the day, and I find myself retaining a great deal of knowledge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Grover Cleveland : The Amerian President Series, November 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Grover Cleveland: The American Presidents Series: The 22nd and 24th President, 1885-1889 and 1893-1897 (Kindle Edition)
It is only a casual recollection that Grover Cleveland served separate terms as president. This biography points out why this happened to Grover Cleveland. The reasons for nomination are so related to the world and local climates at the time. Well written biography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cleveland Rocks!, April 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Grover Cleveland: The American Presidents Series: The 22nd and 24th President, 1885-1889 and 1893-1897 (Kindle Edition)
President Cleveland was the first elected Democratic president after the Civil War. In this day and age, in essence, the Democrats were the conservative pro business party, and the GOP supported a larger central Federal government, in complete role reversal of today. Cleveland also administered a rather weak executive, in the same vein as many of his immediate predecessors. This all changed, just a few years later, with the Rough Rider Teddy Roosevelt, and his bully pulpit philosophies - changing American government forever.

Cleveland has two claims to fame: He was a bachelor in his first term, and married in the White House to a lady 27 years his junior. Also, he is the only President to have served two non-consecutive terms. He apparently was a large man, of great girth, and is accused of fathering a baby out of wedlock and having the child institutionalized.

This book is well written. I found it enjoyable. I learned a lot about the President. As is the case often in this particular series, the book lacks a little in depth. But, for the casual reader, it is a very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Grover Cleveland, January 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Grover Cleveland: The American Presidents Series: The 22nd and 24th President, 1885-1889 and 1893-1897 (Kindle Edition)
I would recommend this book to people wha are interested in the history of the American presidencies. Lots of interesting background and detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Grover Cleveland, December 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Grover Cleveland: The American Presidents Series: The 22nd and 24th President, 1885-1889 and 1893-1897 (Kindle Edition)
Excellent read, I would recommend this book to everyone. Young or old readers will enjoy this book. Very well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, September 25, 2011
By 
Jay Bird (Alworth,Illinois) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Grover Cleveland: The American Presidents Series: The 22nd and 24th President, 1885-1889 and 1893-1897 (Kindle Edition)
These Schlesinger books are good reads on the presidents. This one was no exception. I think it covered everything one would want to know about President Cleveland. I felt it was the right length and it did not drag on and on. I would recommend one to read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Successful job of writing about an uneventful era., July 2, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Graff pulls off a more than acceptable description about an era and administration whose limelight has been shut off by history at large. Brings out interesting facts as the first presedent to be subjected to indoor electrical lighting & The Guy on hand to dedicate the Statue of Liberty. Graff's view of Cleveland is a Democrat who used the stealthiness of utilizing a
"middle-of-the-road" attitude in policy offers to a rewarding, voting public.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great series (Presidential), May 30, 2011
By 
Agatha (Parma Hts, OH United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This whole series (The American Presidents) is very good! I have read every president and found this series, written by assorted authors, to be among the best sources. Dick
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars packed with interesting facts!, March 29, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am not sure why the author chose to write about Grover Cleveland, as he does not seem to be much of a fan, but this book is full of interesting details and facts about Cleveland's life, regardless. It is an easy read and I would recommend it to anyone interested in learning more about this fascinating, yet little-known President!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.