Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for the beginner
This book is wonderful!!! This is my second year growing veggies and my first year with this book. I learned so much from this easy to read guide. The begining general section taught me about crop rotation and sunlight and watering schedules. The sections devoted to each type of vegetable are very informative and go into just enough detail to be really helpful bot no...
Published on July 21, 2008 by JRGC

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Balconies?
Checked this out of the library before purchasing it. Be aware that there is very little about balcony gardening. Most of the container gardening info is illustrated and mentioned within the aspects of gardening on the ground.
Published on November 1, 2010 by Pam


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for the beginner, July 21, 2008
By 
This review is from: Grow Vegetables: Gardens - Yards - Balconies - Roof Terraces (Paperback)
This book is wonderful!!! This is my second year growing veggies and my first year with this book. I learned so much from this easy to read guide. The begining general section taught me about crop rotation and sunlight and watering schedules. The sections devoted to each type of vegetable are very informative and go into just enough detail to be really helpful bot no so much that it was over my head.
This is a great book for begining veggie gardeners!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book of its kind, April 20, 2008
By 
This review is from: Grow Vegetables: Gardens - Yards - Balconies - Roof Terraces (Paperback)
An excellent book, well-written, and beautifully designed and illustrated. It makes the daunting tasks of creating and managing a vegetable garden seem simple. I could see my thumbs getting greener as I read it.

The book manages to be comprehensive, yet concise, covering all of the important topics, without deluging the reader with excessive details, or complicated Latin names. It gives the beginner everything that they need to know to grow all of the common vegetables, but it will also interest the more experienced reader since it contains many unusual and challenging varieties too.

This book stands head and shoulders above its neighbors on the bookstore shelves.

Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book!, July 4, 2009
This review is from: Grow Vegetables: Gardens - Yards - Balconies - Roof Terraces (Paperback)
Wow! What a great book! Large pictures on every page. Broken down in easy-to-find sections for each type of vegetable with brief, informative information (no latin names or scientific babble). This is for the beginner to expert with just the basics you need to grow veggies.

My main questions (that this book answered beautifully) was when a veggie is ready to harvest (describes perfectly) and also best planting/growing conditions for each plant. It also describes how to combat problems that can arise.

I HIGHLY recommend this book to everyone who is interested in growing vegetables in a small/large garden or small balcony or simply in pots. This book will be a reference book for me for years and years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Balconies?, November 1, 2010
This review is from: Grow Vegetables: Gardens - Yards - Balconies - Roof Terraces (Paperback)
Checked this out of the library before purchasing it. Be aware that there is very little about balcony gardening. Most of the container gardening info is illustrated and mentioned within the aspects of gardening on the ground.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good vegetable garden guide for my small space/container gardening, February 9, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Grow Vegetables: Gardens - Yards - Balconies - Roof Terraces (Paperback)
Book is great, gives many options for your particular avaialble space. Many great ideas and a nice list of vegetables to choose from. Good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Vegetable Gardening Book, June 9, 2009
This review is from: Grow Vegetables: Gardens - Yards - Balconies - Roof Terraces (Paperback)
This is the best vegetable gardening book on the market. It is packed with photographs of the vegetable plants and the flowers that bloom when each plant is ready to be harvested.
I don't usually like to read but I read this book cover to cover and really enjoyed it. This is a must read. We planted potatoes according to the instructions and they have turned out perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome product, February 24, 2009
This review is from: Grow Vegetables: Gardens - Yards - Balconies - Roof Terraces (Paperback)
great for anyone in any situation on how to grow your own veggies, even in an apartment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grow Vegetables, October 5, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Grow Vegetables: Gardens - Yards - Balconies - Roof Terraces (Paperback)
This book is a must-have addition to one's gardening library!! Great pictures, growing. purning, and harvesting information. Great reference guide!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for beginners, July 30, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Grow Vegetables: Gardens - Yards - Balconies - Roof Terraces (Paperback)
This was a birthday gift for my son, a new vegetable gardner. He says that this book is just what he needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and Informative, March 15, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Grow Vegetables: Gardens - Yards - Balconies - Roof Terraces (Paperback)
I have been gardening most of my life. I was looking for a book that would interest my teenage son--not a simple task. This book is awesome. Not only has he been reading it, but I have almost read the entire book myself--and have learned so much. The format is very concise and informative. There are absolutely beautiful photos that makes the book fun to look at, as well as read. There are so many vegetables that I hadn't even considered growing. I can't wait to start planting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Grow Vegetables: Gardens - Yards - Balconies - Roof Terraces
Grow Vegetables: Gardens - Yards - Balconies - Roof Terraces by Jo Whittingham (Paperback - February 18, 2008)
$22.95 $17.80
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.