Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For Inquiring Minds
Children of all ages will enjoy this book, especially if they love to grow plants. Growing Vegetable Soup is also woderfully illustrated. I used this book in a Literacy Bag in conjuction with a Peter Rabbit Garden created by my university. An activity that can be used with the book for young children would be a matching game--vegetable or tool picture to word.
Published on April 24, 2000 by Brenda

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not nearly as impressed...
My 21mos old and I first read Lois Ehlert's "Eating through the Alphabet" and LOVED it. But while "Growing Vegitable Soup" is based on a cute concept... I found myself disappointingly unimpressed by this one. The colors are flat, it has poor contrast between object & background, and while the main wording is large... the print labeling the items is small, and hard to...
Published on May 12, 2009 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For Inquiring Minds, April 24, 2000
This review is from: Growing Vegetable Soup (Voyager Books) (Paperback)
Children of all ages will enjoy this book, especially if they love to grow plants. Growing Vegetable Soup is also woderfully illustrated. I used this book in a Literacy Bag in conjuction with a Peter Rabbit Garden created by my university. An activity that can be used with the book for young children would be a matching game--vegetable or tool picture to word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, March 5, 2006
By 
L. James "lj2170" (Cuyahoga Falls, OH United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Growing Vegetable Soup (Voyager Books) (Paperback)
As a teacher, I have always loved this book. The bold colors hold children's attention, and it fits well with lessons for younger children on what seeds/plants need to grow, the growing process and includes a recipe for making your own vegetable soup. For early childhood teachers,it can become an early science/social studies/math lesson and also a parent/child activity. A must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A similar book kids love, November 16, 2011
This review is from: Growing Vegetable Soup (Voyager Books) (Paperback)
If you like this book, check out "Who Grew My Soup" about a boy who hatches a scheme to avoid eating his vegetables, but ends up on a madcap adventure to learn where food comes from. Chosen by the Agriculture Department for its "Agriculture in the classroom" program. Awesome illustrations by the famous C. F. Payne.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My 3-year old loves this book, September 16, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Growing Vegetable Soup (Voyager Books) (Paperback)
I don't know what it is about this book, but my 3-year old loves it, to the point of crying hysterically when I accidentally returned it to the library recently and a little girl took it home instead, and my son couldn't have it. Disregard the naysayers. I'm now buying the book, so we will always have it on hand. The colors are bright and bold, and the story follows the process of preparing a garden, planting seeds and seedlings, watering the garden, weeding, picking vegetables, and finally cutting things up and making soup. My son loves all things outdoors (leaves, pinecones, rocks, etc.) and he adores this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cute and great graphics!, December 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Growing Vegetable Soup (Hardcover)
A cute book about gardening, basically listing the tools and veggies. Then a fun recipe at the end. Can't wait until my daughter is old enough to garden and try out the soup recipe!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Preschool-Level Introduction to Vegetable Gardening, April 10, 2012
This review is from: Growing Vegetable Soup (Voyager Books) (Paperback)
This simple story introduces children to the basic growing cycle of garden vegetables. It opens with a child narrator stating, "Dad says we're going to grow vegetable soup." The narrator then explains in simple terms how the family goes about cultivating their vegetables, from planting to harvest. Ehlert illustrates each step with her characteristic collage-style art, more abstract than some of her other work. This is a great introduction to the joy of gardening, and the fact that this garden is a family project, culminating in a shared meal of soup, imbues the story with relational warmth.

With its predictable, simple text and visual warmth, this is a great preschooler read-aloud. It may also be enjoyed by early readers, although they might need help reading the names of vegetables.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book for students learning English, June 27, 2009
By 
D. C. Ridgway (Orange County, California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Growing Vegetable Soup (Voyager Books) (Paperback)
This is a terrific book to use for toddlers or young students learning English. The illustrations are clear and the vocabulary is easy to follow. A terrific book to spark a conversation about healthy eating habits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good lesson for little children, February 5, 2006
This review is from: Growing Vegetable Soup (Voyager Books) (Paperback)
As well as being attractive and quite an easy read (my five year old managed it), it encourages children to be interested in vegetables-both growing and eating them. Great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book for Small Children - a review of Growing Veg. Soup, December 12, 2005
This review is from: Growing Vegetable Soup (Hardcover)
This book has gotten good reviews by others but I am a little less enthusiastic about it.

Certainly I love the concept of teaching about gardening and how food makes it's way from the soil to our plates; but the artwork, I think, gets in the way of making this a superior 5-Star text.

For example, the abstract art [bold and attractive] is okay for demonstrating seeds sitting in the soil, but it is not very good for actually showing what a squash blossom looks like. For all you can tell, it's a open tulip on a vine. Likewise the corn is shown as being orange instead of yellow.

Four Stars. This book gives children an idea of how food goes from the ground to the bowl, but if you are looking for a book that will give your young child an accurate picture of what growing veggies look like, you'll have to keep searching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not nearly as impressed..., May 12, 2009
This review is from: Growing Vegetable Soup (Paperback)
My 21mos old and I first read Lois Ehlert's "Eating through the Alphabet" and LOVED it. But while "Growing Vegitable Soup" is based on a cute concept... I found myself disappointingly unimpressed by this one. The colors are flat, it has poor contrast between object & background, and while the main wording is large... the print labeling the items is small, and hard to read. Overall this would probably be better in a larger (lap book?) size, and enjoyed by a beginner reader, rather than a toddler.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Growing Vegetable Soup (Voyager Books)
Growing Vegetable Soup (Voyager Books) by Lois Ehlert (Paperback - March 15, 1990)
$7.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.