Customer Reviews


376 Reviews
5 star:
 (141)
4 star:
 (111)
3 star:
 (75)
2 star:
 (25)
1 star:
 (24)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved it!
Great movie. Laughed a lot. Really entertaining! My husband and I really enjoyed it!! Great actors. De Niro and Stallone are great together. Kim Basinger is gorgeous as ever...and at age 60!
Published 13 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Making Fun Of Iconic Roles
Grudge Match features Robert De Niro and Sylvester Stallone in an attempt to make fun of their previous iconic roles of famous boxers such as Jack LaMotta in Raging Bull and Rocky Balboa from the Rocky movies respectively. This movie was made for a few laughs.No question about it.We we a mediocre and cliche ridden story with a few corny scenes and lifeless drama.But in...
Published 3 months ago by Desertman84


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved it!, December 29, 2013
Great movie. Laughed a lot. Really entertaining! My husband and I really enjoyed it!! Great actors. De Niro and Stallone are great together. Kim Basinger is gorgeous as ever...and at age 60!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grudge Match the overlooked movie, December 31, 2013
This review is from: Grudge Match [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Grudge Match is a surprisingly great sports drama with humor in the mix. Its not really a comedy as many might expect. It has humor but Grudge Match is a excellent drama. While the plot is predictable and nothing new, the story is well written with great acting by each member of the cast. Hardcore Stallone or De Niro fans should definitely give this film a shot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GRUDGE MATCH IS A GOOD MIX OF COMEDY DRAMA AND BOXING ACTION, December 28, 2013
I loved Grudge Match,In the midst of all the over the top movies that came out this Christmas,here is a movie with Real Actors,no animation or digital effects just alot of laughs and a lot of heart.I think Sly and Deniro work well together and this movie shows that Sly still has it even though there are alot of aging jokes he can still hang with the best of the best!
A great movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars OLD MAD MEN, January 12, 2014
Razor (Sylvester Stallone) and The Kid (Robert De Niro) were two boxing rivals and greats from Pittsburgh. They has each won one match against each other. The third match didn't happen because Razor quit boxing and eventually went to work in the steel mills. The Kid went on to become a successful business man. The film makes Razor the good guy and The Kid the bad guy. Sally ( Kim Basinger ) was the reason for rift that existed between the two boxers. Years later Razor needs money and is offered money for the match which he reluctantly accepts.

The film slightly builds off their old boxing movies, but is hardly a spoof. In fact that was the best part of the film, and they opted to limit it. The script was as unconvincing as "Last Vegas" with both film having too much drama.

Shot in Pittsburgh. Recommend as a decent rental.

Parental Guide: 1 f-bomb. Implied sex. No nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Making Fun Of Iconic Roles, October 10, 2014
This review is from: Grudge Match (DVD)
Grudge Match features Robert De Niro and Sylvester Stallone in an attempt to make fun of their previous iconic roles of famous boxers such as Jack LaMotta in Raging Bull and Rocky Balboa from the Rocky movies respectively. This movie was made for a few laughs.No question about it.We we a mediocre and cliche ridden story with a few corny scenes and lifeless drama.But in spite of it,we still get a few scenes of entertainment especially those who are familiar with LaMotta and Rocky and it will also be nostalgic one way or another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable Comedy Drama from the Director of "Get Smart", April 19, 2014
By 
Tsuyoshi (Kyoto, Japan) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Grudge Match (DVD)
In “Grudge Match” Sylvester Stallone and Robert De Niro play retired rival boxers in Pittsburgh, Henry "Razor" Sharp and Billy "The Kid" McDonnen, who once again come back to the ring, fighting their long-delayed grudge match. Kevin Hart is a loud-mouthed promoter, and Alan Arkin plays Razor’s aging trainer. There is also a dramatic subplot with Kim Basinger as Razor’s former girlfriend Sally Rose.

Despite some critics' complaints about the casting – two veteran actors known for iconic roles Rocky Balboa and Jake LaMotta – “Grudge Match” is not a cheap self-parody or “Rocky”/”Raging Bull” sendup. Directed by Peter Segal (“50 First Dates” “Get Smart”), the comedy, or dramedy, is amusing and pleasant to watch, though it takes itself very seriously during the boxing scene.

The problem with the film is the cliché-ridden script in the mid-section of the story. The 113-minute movie would be much better without some uninteresting supporting characters and boring episodes. Still, “Grudge Match” is an enjoyable comedy drama with a few nice jokes and some interesting cameos by real-life boxers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stallone and De Niro have certainly been in much better films, but we wanted to watch something funny, January 24, 2015
Stallone and De Niro have certainly been in much better films, but we wanted to watch something funny, entertaining, and did not require a lot of thought. This movie satisfied that for us. I did enjoy the storyline. Kevin Hart works hard to be as funny as he can be, but between Stallone and De Niro, it is hard to get the spotlight. There are times that Hart succeeds, but many times it feels as if he is really forcing his craft to make you laugh. I had never heard of this movie, but what I enjoyed most was some of the references to the Rocky series, that I absolutely loved. I will watch just about anything with these actors listed and to see them together was good. Not great, but good. I would say that I would watch this again. if you are expecting a Rocky type movie, you will be disappointed. As I had no preconceived notion for this movie, I was still entertained and had an enjoyable evening watching it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Two stars of former boxing movies do a tongue-in-cheek shot at their younger days., January 23, 2015
Rocky Balboa vs Jake LaMotta! It took some talking but they got Stallone to do this flick about two senior citizens stepping back into the ring for a grudge showdown with a bitter rival played by Robert De Niro. Stallone walked away from it all thirty years ago after knocking out De Niro in a rematch for he being ko'd in their earlier meeting. This was the only blemish on each man's record. Stallone had lost his money in the bad economy and went to work in the mills, while De Niro had made a bundle with a bar and a used car business. A fast talking son, Kevin Hart, of the original promoter pins his future on getting the two in for a third fight. A geezer match if you will. Thanks to social media and the two disliking each other he actually pulls it off. Not a great film, but entertaining to watch. You don't have to stretch your imagination to follow the storyline. Worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This movie was funny but could have been so much better, July 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This movie was funny but could have been so much better, if it hadn't been just stupid and crude in parts. Not sure what 70 year old man would jump in the back of his truck with a 20 year old woman. (Oh, maybe in Hollywood.) Very unbelievable and just so common with what Hollywood loves to portray. Honestly, I think Sylvester Stallone's character had it right when he said tv was bad for the brain. Also, the whole BJ joke, just not funny, pointless, needless and offensive, to women and men with a brain and sense of morality . You could've left the crude parts out, and inserted actual funny lines, and had a great movie. But leave it to Hollywood to do as they always do, which is truly sad, and just downright pathetic. I wonder if they know or even care what the majority of their industry really is. I'll stick with the minority.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ROCKY 7 STARRING ROBERT DENIRO, June 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Grudge Match (DVD)
You will enjoy the same story and 1980's drama that the Rocky series brought you but honestly, it is time for even the most popular actors to move into the 21st century and realize, that making sequel-like productions to films that "wow-ed" the audience over 30 years ago, isn't going to bring them the same results, respect or recognition in today's day and age. I say that with all due respect to the past but big names and faces don't sell tickets anymore because of films like this. It's a semi-enjoyable one-time see with an okay story and a good final fight but it definitely won't be making its way into your dvd player a second time around. You'll see...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Grudge Match (Blu-ray + DVD)
Grudge Match (Blu-ray + DVD) by Peter Segal (Blu-ray - 2014)
$35.99 $10.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.