Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Grudge Match (Chris Sinclair Thriller) Hardcover – May 1, 2004


See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$7.00 $0.01

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Hero Quick Promo
Browse in Books with Buzz and explore more details on selected titles, including the current pick, "The Good Girl" by Mary Kubica.

Product Details

  • Series: Chris Sinclair Thriller (Book 5)
  • Hardcover: 384 pages
  • Publisher: Forge Books; 1st edition (May 1, 2004)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0765308924
  • ISBN-13: 978-0765308924
  • Product Dimensions: 8.5 x 5.8 x 1.2 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.2 pounds
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #2,317,393 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From Publishers Weekly

A San Antonio criminal lawyer, Brandon is among the best in the legal thriller business at catching the real atmosphere of a trial—that combination of tedium and terror that makes the courtroom such a popular literary arena. His latest book about San Antonio district attorney Chris Sinclair (after 2003' s Sliver Moon) has an absolute aura of authenticity, even though the plot contains many typical thriller elements. Because of Sinclair's zeal, police officer Steve Greerdon was sent to prison eight years earlier for taking part in an armed robbery. When new DNA evidence surfaces proving that Greerdon was innocent, Chris swallows his chagrin and gets him out of jail fast. But is Greerdon really the victim of bad justice or an incredibly clever killer? When two police officers who served with him are murdered, he's found on the scene, claiming a high-level police conspiracy to cover up the real criminals. Sinclair's lover, child psychiatrist Anne Greenwald, also gets involved in the case because of privileged information from a client, and Chris's teenage daughter finds herself being attracted to Greerdon's son. None of this is particularly new or earth-shaking, but Brandon makes his story move along smoothly by creating an involving portrait of a criminal justice system staffed (mostly) by people trying to do the right thing.
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

Review

"An undersung hero of courtroom drama returns with an admirably complex novel about bitter betrayal and sweet revenge. Laboring long under the shadows of Grisham and Turow, Brandon has yet to earn the recognition he deserves. But his 13th case--featuring multifaceted characters caught in page-turning dilemmas--just might be lucky."
--Kirkus Reviews on Grudge Match

"Brandon is among the best in the legal thriller business at catching the real atmosphere of a trial-that combination of tedium and terror that makes the courtroom such a popular literary arena. His latest book about San Antonio district attorney Chris Sinclair has an absolute aura of authenticity."
-- Publishers Weekly on Grudge Match

"I read Grudge Match the minute I received it. I really, really enjoyed it. The Greerdon character was wonderful--layered and complex. And I've always liked Chris Sinclair. Thanks for writing it!"
--Barbara D'Amato, author of Death of a Thousand Cuts


"Having held two of the Bexar County offices Jay Brandon writes about, District Judge and District Attorney, I can say he nails the jobs and life on the head while at the same time spinning a compelling story. I enjoyed the book tremendously."
--Susan D. Reed, Bexar County Criminal District Attorney, on Grudge Match

"A roller coaster ride of a plot with twists and gasps right up to the last page."
--Mary Willis Walker, Edgar, Hammett, and Macavity winner, author of The Red Scream, on Grudge Match

"Brandon does courtroom drama as well as John Grisham or Scott Turow. And he does love stories better."
--Philadelphia Inquirer on Defiance County

"Brandon writes with verve and authority. He knows the law. And he knows how to grab the reader and keep those pages turning"
--The Houston Chronicle on Executive Privilege

"I've long been persuaded that Jay Brandon is the finest writer of legal thrillers in the country."
--Jeremiah Healy, author of The Only Good Lawyer and Spiral, on After-Image


"An undersung hero of courtroom drama returns with an admirably complex novel about bitter betrayal and sweet revenge."
(Kirkus Reviews)

"Brandon is among the best in the legal thriller business at catching the real atmosphere of a trial."

(Publishers Weekly)

"I read [it] the minute I received it. I really, really enjoyed it. The Greerdon character was wonderful--layered and complex."
(Barbara D'Amato, author of Death of a Thousand Cuts)

"He nails the jobs and life on the head while at the same time spinning a compelling story."
(Susan D. Reed, Bexar County Criminal District Attorney)

"A roller coaster ride of a plot with twists and gasps right up to the last page."
(Mary Willis Walker, author of The Red Scream) --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

More About the Author

Jay Brandon (1953- ) grew up and has lived primarily in San Antonio, Texas. A graudate of the University of Texas, he also has a Master's degree from The Writing Seminars of Johns Hopkins University, and a J.D. from the University of Houston.
Brandon is the author of 16 novels and one book of non-fiction, as well as a number of short stories published in anthologies. His most recent is THE JETTY, a supernatural love story and mystery set at the Texs coast.
Brandon has also been a lawyer since 1985. His first job out of law school was at the Court of Criminal Appeals, the highest criminal court in Texas. He then served as an assistant district attorney of Bexar County (San Antonio), Texas, and a staff attorney on the Fourth Court of Appeals of Texas, before going into private practice in 1990.
Brandon's 1990 novel FADE THE HEAT, his first legal thriller, was shortlisted for the Edgar Award and optioned by Amblin Entertainment. That and later novels have been published by more than a dozen foreign published, with worldwide distribution.
Brandon is a member of the Texas Institute of Letters and the American Crime Writers League (although he generally dislikes belonging to any group; just a natural prejudice).

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
1
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 3 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Stephen W. Sather on July 12, 2007
Format: Hardcover
Jay Brandon writes some fun lawyer stories and this is no exception. Grudge Match is the story of earnest young District Attorney Chris Sinclair and wrongly convicted police officer Steve Greerdon. As a prosecutor, Chris Sinclar sent the officer to jail as an armed robber and a crooked cop; as DA, he exonerated him based on new evidence. Once Greerdon is released and starts poking around, a fellow officer who might have known something about the bad guys turns up dead. Although the DA suspects the same crooked cops who framed officer Greerdon, he can't prove it. As a result, he pursues a murder charge against the dead officer's lover/business partner in the hopes that she will reveal what she knows. However, she steadfastly remains silent, forcing him to go to trial on a case he has limited faith in. Meanwhile, DA Sinclair's teenage daughter and psychiatrist girlfriend are drawn into the drama creating danger to those close to him.

Grudge Match works on a number of levels. This lawyer novel involves equal parts of courtroom theatrics, detective work and human interest. Although this is more of an action story than a character study, the characters have enough meat on the bones to make the reader care about them. The plot manages to keep enough balls up in the air to keep the reader guessing about where the story will go. The courtroom action is an integral part of the story and also serves to distract Sinclair from the danger to his own family. The San Antonio locales are authentically drawn.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful By Harriet Klausner #1 HALL OF FAME on May 5, 2004
Format: Hardcover
Eight years ago San Antonio assistant district attorney Chris Sinclair proved to a jury that Detective Steve Greerdon participated in an armed robbery. Steve insisted he was set up by other police officers who wanted Steve to join their little club of ripping off drug dealers and other lowlifes, but he refused so he took the fall for a crime he never committed. Chris, now the District Attorney, finds DNA evidence and a witnesses exonerating Steve who is pardoned.
Steve wants to reconnect with his son and enjoy his freedom but the police officers who set him up want him back in prison. Chris doesn?t know who to trust on the force and sets a tail on Steve so he always has an alibi. Meanwhile Chris?s lover, psychiatrist Anne Greenwald treats a patient who says Steve is guilty. When two police officers are murdered and Steve is on the scene, Chris has doubts about his innocence. The only way to find out who the dirty cops are is to set up a sting if Steve is willing to risk his life and trust an officer of the court who could put him away again.
When it comes to writing innovative and exciting legal thrillers, Jay Brandon is one of the best in the business. His latest protagonist seeks truth at any cost yet for all his years as a lawyer has a touch of innocence that readers will cherish. The walls of blue start off solid but by the time GRUDGE MATCH ends a few cracks give readers hope that the police will speak out when they see wrong doing. Fans of Linda Fairstein and Christine McGuire will definitely love this book.
Harriet Klausner
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Beverley Strong on August 8, 2004
Format: Hardcover
When former Detective Steve Greerdon is pardoned and released from prison after serving 8 years, he is determined to prove his innocence. He was set up by fellow officers as taking part in an armed robbery, as pay-back for refusing to join in their clique, taking money from drug dealers and other criminals. At his trial, he was prosecuted by Chris Sinclair who is later horrified to learn that he helped to jail an innocent man. During his time in jail, Steves' wife divorced him and married another officer who proved to be violent to both her and her son. After Steves' pardon and return to the job, the officers who set him up, try to falsely implicate him in new crimes so as to return him to jail, but, with the help of the now DA Chris Sinclair and his lover, child psychiatrist Anne Greenwald, Steve eventually clears his name completely and helps to bring about the incarceration of the crooked cops.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Images

Search