Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


91 of 99 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still timely, twenty plus years later
People got impatient with Fuller because he kept throwing out a timeline which went something like this: if we work like crazy for the next 10 years, we might solve some of the major problems we've always put up with, e.g. death by starvation to take a big one.

Then another decade goes by, and a lot more people starve, and people shake their heads thinking...
Published on April 25, 2005 by K. T Urner

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars hard reading
It was ok. Kind of hard reading to comprehend the full scope. some good info though, gives you a diff perspective.
Published 17 months ago by Mile High Livin


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

91 of 99 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still timely, twenty plus years later, April 25, 2005
By 
K. T Urner (Portland, OR United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Grunch of Giants (Hardcover)
People got impatient with Fuller because he kept throwing out a timeline which went something like this: if we work like crazy for the next 10 years, we might solve some of the major problems we've always put up with, e.g. death by starvation to take a big one.

Then another decade goes by, and a lot more people starve, and people shake their heads thinking "Bucky, Bucky... he just didn't have a clue, did he?" Well, I say he most certainly did. Not his problem or fault that we never staged his "design science decade" with such concerted effort and focus. And the potential to improve our collective lot aboard Spaceship Earth is still real.

What's fun about 'Grunch of Giants' is it marks the end of a long trajectory, where the 'real Bucky' finally hits the water, after the decades-long arc of a canon ball. He makes a big splash, and sets up a lot of ripple effects, many of which we're feeling to this day.

The main thing is he reawakens threads around the issue of corporate personhood, questioning how LLCs got to be "persons" in the eyes of the law. Decades later, Thom Hartmann starts to uncover some answers in 'Unequal Protection' which deserves to show up as a kind of sequel to 'GofG' on many levels.

Countering a soulless march to oblivion, an automatic pilot response to a desperate situation, were heroics, integrity, and the more agile networks. Readers may spontaneously think of the Internet (still in its infancy when this book came out -- no web to speak of), but I also think of networks like CBS, a corporation to be sure, but with a lot of life in it (not soulless).

Bucky was aware of his image through the years, how people saw him. He started out as a kind of benign Buck Rogers, one of those mad inventors coming up with wacky futuristic designs, and making comforting noises about utopian possibilities. But in the meantime the Cold War had gotten going in earnest, followed by a backlash in the 1960s and 1970s, with a new generation finding that Sword of Damocles (the ongoing prospect of immanent nuclear holocaust) entirely unacceptable. The USA became radicalized, as Colby confronted Congress with crazy-making testimony regarding Vietnam, as John Kerry squared off against the Westmoreland types, as colleges projected 'Hearts and Minds' to shocked audiences (1974). Fuller kept going, incorporating all these developments, and coming back with 'Critical Path'. Plus he floated World Game. Increasingly, he had to be taken seriously, less as a harmless crackpot entertainer (like the guy in the 'Six Flags' ad campaign), and more as a serious revolutionary thinker, with difficult-to-sort-out ties to the CIA (E.J. Applewhite, his lead collaborator on 'Synergetics' was an associate of Helms, another Yale grad, and former Deputy Inspector General of the agency -- as the back of the paperback edition of 'Synergetics' made sure we knew).

Indeed, the CIA figures prominently in GofG, which is part of what sets it apart as more "realistic" than some of his earlier poetry. Stocks and bonds, treasury bills, prominent figures of the day mentioned by name -- it seemed like Bucky was finally intersecting our special case reality, at some odd angle, true, but that just added to the uncanny feel of the book. Plus it's very literary, alluding to Orlando Furiouso, which in turn links to Orlando, Florida and the giant BuckyBall at EPCOT: Spaceship Earth. To top it all off, around the same time this book was declaring the USA we have known "bankrupt and extinct," Reagan and company decide this'd be the right time to give Fuller a Medal of Freedom. Shortly after, Fuller dies. 'Cosmography' was posthumous.

This is Bucky at the top of his game in my opinion, a great work of literature. I'm surprised it's not on more college syllabi, as it's quite short and readable, yet opens onto a huge number of threads both into history and mythology. Mythology is about both the very distant past and the very distant future (Fuller thought they sort of came together, given his eternally regenerative universe model), and 'Grunch of Giants', like 'Synergetics' itself, is very definitely a major work in the humanities. Five stars for Bucky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read - over and over, February 25, 2009
By 
This book is definitely vital for understanding the history and growth of the world as we know it... it raises many questions and makes you really think about what you are doing and whether it is for better or for worse of our earth. Intense read and needs to be read more than once because there is just so much to learn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bucky expounds, December 21, 2004
This review is from: Grunch of Giants (Paperback)
If you've never read Buckminster Fuller's writings, you've missed out on one of the most remarkable minds of the 20th century. Yes, he invented the geodesic dome and laid out the principles for some kinds of tensile structures. He was also a tireless inventor. He did not necessarily create something fundamentally new each time, but always sought out more value for the dollar and pound of resources, and always measured that value in quality of human life. Except for the dome, his developments are often paraded and quixotic oddities, stripped of Fuller's real intent. This brief book lays out his philosophy for human welfare in terms of national and trans-national economics.

His thinking is clear and gentle - human happiness always comes first. It comes across in a whirwind of ideas, racing across the page faster than words can keep up. It's not rare to see a sentence start with economics and finish with stellar thermodynamics. You'll also sentences wildly stretched to hold just one of his ideas in complete form. Two consecutive sentences stretch from page 8 to 12! Even English words are too small to hold the atoms his ideas, so he creates the most startling hypenated word-collages. For example, in discussing how tools grew out of and extend the body, he writes:

"Nests and eggs are indeed tools, as is the womb -

an only-once-in-a-while, carried-within-mammalian,

new-life-production tool."

Social criticism, economics based in the physical world, tempered technological optimism, and a wonderful heart - they're all here, wrapped in a unique package of words. Whether or not you agree with his "economics of wealth", as opposed to "economics of scarcity," it's a remarkable view of human society.

//wiredweird
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buckminster Fuller more pertinent than ever to the World Financial Crisis, January 9, 2009
This review is from: Grunch of Giants (Paperback)
The following quote from the book speaks volumes about Fuller's remarkable insight into what ails the world today. Read the quote and decide for yourself if the book has anything to offer in regard to understanding how we find ourselves in financial crisis. Fuller had a very unique style of writing which you will also witness in this quote. It may take a couple or more readings to fully understand this paragraph, but if you can appreciate his message, then you will find the book very insightful. Personally, I believe it to be a handbook for moving the world out of this financial crisis and towards a new era of prosperity.

"Never before in all history have the inequities and the momentums of unthinking money-power been more glaringly evident to so vastly large a number of now literate, competent, and constructively thinking all-around-the-world humans. There's a soon-to-occur critical-mass moment when the intuition of the responsibly inspired majority of humanity, in contradistinction to the angered Luddites and avenging Robin Hoods, faced with comprehensive functional discontinuity of nationally contained techno-economic system, will call for and accomplish a world-around reorientation of our planetary affairs. At this critical moment will occur a realization by the responsibly inspired majority that the adequate capacity of the invisible technology to sustainingly support all humanity depends on all the resources, physical and metaphysical, being always and only employed for all of world-around humanity as a completely integrated techno-economic system operating entirely on its daily income principally of Sun-emanating energy."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm not sure why this isn't required reading in school or at least any economics class., August 23, 2010
This review is from: Grunch of Giants (Paperback)
There are many things we always take for granted and never question. It's called dogma - and it's the result of someone else's thinking. This book will help you to begin to hone your critical thinking skills.

It's always important to find ways to increase your financial IQ and this book is a great stepping stone into understanding our financial infrastructure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grunch of Giants, June 5, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Grunch of Giants (Paperback)
I think the book is really a comprehensive accounts of human history. it teaches how we got in our present complex situation. the book does not suggest what to do in a complex economy. however, every lines you read mean something between the lines. what i like the most is that you can have some other readings like its company the critical path. you can put down the book and think it through and figure out the fragmented dots or pieces from other readings. you can relate it with today's headlines. the books seems to show some patterns and emergent trends.one thing also for a newcomer of the books of bukcminster-it needs to be read reflectively, because it is too scholarly. when one is used with the jargons, one can actually read it fast.perhaps repeated readings will make one understand it more. it's true...that it is more of a book on conspiracy. how the naive were cheated....many times not just many times but for a lifetime.THE GOOD WITH THIS CONSPIRACY IS THAT IT WAS TOO SUBTLE...THATEVEN THE BRILLIANT ARE UNAWARE OF IT. even the presidents and the congress are pawns in a chessboard! it's realy shows the GROSS UNIVERSE CASH HEIST!that's why it is five star!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GRUNCH, July 17, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Grunch of Giants (Paperback)
Not the easiest read. A different kind of explanation. A bit old, but Fuller seems to have predicted what is actually happening today. He wrote this back in 1983. GOOD BOOK !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GRUNCH, July 19, 2010
By 
Timothy W Elkins (houston, tx United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Grunch of Giants (Paperback)
The title of this 'sequel' to Critical Path is Fuller's acronym for "Gross Universal Cash Heist." Written in the 1980's in allegorical form, this serious satire about the rise of multi-national corporations, capitalistic selfishness and the technological revolution emphasizes that our present economic system, and the theories on which it is based are no longer useful because of its false assumption of scarcity.

One can purchase a new copy of this Fuller classic @ $17.95 via the Buckminster Fuller Institute store [...]. The Institute also features the entire book online: [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grunch is right, June 10, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Grunch of Giants (Paperback)
Concise look at how we are being swindled. However, it is a bit difficult to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grunch..., October 26, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Grunch of Giants (Paperback)
The book is like a sequel to Critical Path and just like other 'Bucky' books requires multiple readings. My strategy is to read no more than one page or paragraph at any one time and return to it a number of times before proceeding to the next page/paragraph.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Grunch of Giants
Grunch of Giants by Richard Buckminster Fuller (Paperback - 2008)
Used & New from: $23.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.