Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$13.55+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 6, 2014
FANTASTIC PURCHASE! (Or, as Groot would say: "I AM GROOT!")

If you loved Guardians of the Galaxy in the theater then this is the album to purchase!

The Deluxe Soundtrack is a two disc set that contains both the soundtrack (aka "Awesome Mix Tape vol 1") as well as Tyler Bates dramatic score. Rather than settle for one album or the other you can own both in one fell swoop for a terrific price.

Disc 1: Awesome Mix Tape Vol 1
I don't need to say anymore. This is the album that most movie-goers are going to be familiar with. Songs like "Hooked on a Feeling", "Spirit in the Sky", and "Cherry Bomb" lit up theaters as part of the trailers and are joined by other great hits like "Come and Get Your Love" and "Escape". It's a great collection of songs from the 70's that proves that Peter Quill's mother had great taste in music. Never before has a soundtrack album been integrated so perfectly into a film!

Disc 2: The Score by Tyler Bates.
Remember "300", "Sucker Punch", and "Watchmen"? That was Tyler Bates. It's a solid score that bounces from dark and brooding to tonally light and comical and back again. Tracks like "Black Tears" bring the Guardians theme to the forefront in a way that makes you wish you were back in the theater again, with a big tub of popcorn watching the crew of the Milano tear it up on the big screen. It's a subtle score in places but I've found that I listen to it as much as the Mix Tape!

My only regret is that this wasn't available as an MP3 album and I had to wait a few extra days to get it in the mail.
11 comment| 56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 30, 2014
The James Gunn directed space opera movie based on the most unlikely group of rag-tag anti-heroes also has the most unlikely of soundtracks. From david bowie to the jackson five to blue swede, there's a lot to love about this soundtrack. It even includes the score by Tyler Bates.

The sound quality of the classic music is crisp and clear, and this soundtrack is just plain fun to listen to. The score itself is gorgeous. Easily the best score in the Marvel Cinematic Universe.

It's the most real, authentic, eclectic soundtrack I have heard in my entire life.

Oh yeah!
1212 comments| 144 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 22, 2014
How cool is having one of the best movie soundtracks of the year? Now how cool is it to have it on vinyl? It's a two-record set, the second containing the original compositions of the film's score and the first being primarily composed of the Awesome Mix tracks from the movie. You can't go wrong with this!
review image review image review image
11 comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 30, 2014
Guardians Of The Galaxy was my most anticipated film of 2014 and it's most definitely my favorite movie of 2014 so far. I loved the casting, the directoring, but wow the soundtrack might just be the best part about this film. These songs have an actually precense throughout this film, most these songs are played on Peter Quill aka Star-Lord's Sony Walkman that his mother gave him and it's literally his last connection to the life he had on Earth. I hardly buy soundtracks for films (last one I bought was the soundtrack to Drive) but it would've been criminal to keep myself from owning this amazing soundtrack. I definitely recommend buying it especially after you've seen the film, it adds a whole new layer of emotions when you listen to these songs afterwards. The best part is that these are all old 1970s songs you know and probably already love.
0Comment| 51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2014
Great soundtrack and songs for the epic movie. Simply great, a must buy if saw the movie or love 70s pop music.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 6, 2014
Awesome soundtrack! Not only is the set list for 'Awesome Mix Vol 1' here, but the score is phenomenal as well! Marvel did an excellent job on this package. I highly recommend!

Disk 1 contains 'Awesome Mix Vol 1'
Disk 2 contains the score, by Tyler Bates
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2014
This is the one to buy, as it has the score and the contents of the Awesome Mix vol 1.

The movie made it's budget in less than 4 days & had the highest August opening in history.

As a fan of music and film, I can say if you are even slightly considering buying this album at all, go for it!
22 comments| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2014
I'm feeling conflicted about the "deluxe" vinyl edition of this OST. On the one hand, I got exactly what I wanted, which is a vinyl copy of the best mix in years. On the other hand, we've got plain black discs (which is fine) with rather plain labels, housed in plain white paper sleeves, in a gatefold package with absolutely nothing special or "deluxe" about them. I admit that I kind of wanted a quote from James Gunn on how the soundtrack came together, what they were shooting for, just some information on a brilliant soundtrack. Instead, all of the inside space is filled with the same tracklisting as found on the back, except now with production credits and three photos of concept art that have floated around the Internet for years. I still love the soundtrack, and the pressing is very nice and high quality, but I guess I wanted more... frills.
22 comments| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon October 22, 2014
The soundtrack of "Guardians of the Galaxy" is one of my favorites in a long time, and the 2-Disc Deluxe Version is the one the buy.

*****
DISC 1 - Awesome Mix Vol. 1

Disc One is the songs from the movie. All but one of them are featured in the film ("Spirit in the Sky" is not in the movie, although it was used in one of the trailers). Not only is the music good, but as you know if you've seen the film, the mixtape serves a significant narrative purpose. The songs here are presented as much more than just background music - these songs are important to the main character. My understanding is that the director even played the songs on set to help the cast understand the tone he was going for.

Favorite Tracks
[01] Hooked on a Feeling
[03] Spirit in the Sky
[08] Come and Get Your Love
[12] Ain't No Mountain High Enough

*****
DISC 2 - Original Score by Tyler Bates

The original score for the film is certainly overshadowed by the songs in the movie. But Tyler Bates is very a talented composer, and he delivers an emotional underscore here that serves the story well. It's not as compelling to listen to on it's own as disc one of this album, but there are some interesting tracks that I've found myself revisiting.

Favorite Tracks
[12] Sanctuary
[20] Sacrifice
[22] The Ballad of the Nova Corps.
[26] Groot Cocoon
review image review image review image
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2014
This seems to contain all the music in the Awesome Mix #1 that AZ is selling in a bundle with it. This album does have a disk with the other music from the film. It might be worth having the second copy so that disk can live in the car player.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse