Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Turn your networking into a money making machine with this book
Customer Video Review     Length:: 2:12 Mins
Published on March 4, 2010 by Annalaura Brown

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Common Sense with a heavy dose of enthusiasm
Pros: Tells the hard truth about Networking. Extremely enthusiastic. Has actual examples. Easy to read.

Cons: Book may be too simple for those that grasped its main point. Enthusiasm can get overdone. Repetitive.

Summary: A good book for people stuck in the mire of old-fashioned networking and in need of a way out. Not as useful if you already...
Published on May 11, 2009 by Steven Savage


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Common Sense with a heavy dose of enthusiasm, May 11, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Pros: Tells the hard truth about Networking. Extremely enthusiastic. Has actual examples. Easy to read.

Cons: Book may be too simple for those that grasped its main point. Enthusiasm can get overdone. Repetitive.

Summary: A good book for people stuck in the mire of old-fashioned networking and in need of a way out. Not as useful if you already "get" it

This is an odd book - it's got the feel of a seminar in book form, and is a mix of small bite-sized tips and personal testimonies. Either apart would not have made a complete book, so I think the inclusion of the different sections was necessary, and the two parts work well.

The theme of this book is stunningly simple, and one some people have realized on their own - traditional Networking doesn't work, your goal should to be someone people want to meet and do things on your own. In other words, be worth meeting.

To hammer home that point there are fifty tips to help you become the "Guerrilla Networker" - the person who gets interesting, gets involved, and gets noticed. The usefulness of these varies highly depending on your own personal experience and knowledge. Some are simple and repetitive, some are actually quite insightful, and most are based on breaking out of the old hand-out-cards-try-and-meet-people networking stereotype.

Along with these fifty tips are a variety of short life stories collected from people the authors know - people that are Guerrilla Networkers. These vary widely - and usefully - so there's probably a few people in there you'd like to emulate or meet. Some of this section feels a bit like self-promotion (though as that's part of Guerrilla Networking, I'm not going to fault the folks)

Finally at the end, there are some exercises. These are quite good and make some excellent points about Networking and self-improvement.

Throughout the book there's a lot of enthusiasm, several uses of capitalization, the entire effect of is to be a mixture of fun and inspiring and annoying and overblown. It is relentlessly positive, and it gets under your skin - in a good way.

This book is essentially for people stuck in the old-school networking rut or a general networking rut. If your networking is going nowhere, if you hand out cards and hope, this may be a good purchase just to shock you out of your rut (in a friendly way). On the other hand if the lessons of the book sound like something you already know - then the book is at best a purchase just to make sure you get inspired and think outside the box. I can't recommend it to a person who realizes networking is about being networkable unless they haven't figured out how to apply the realization.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ridiculous, November 30, 2010
This review is from: Guerrilla Networking: A Proven Battle Plan to Attract the Very People You Want to Meet (Paperback)
I suppose I should start off by saying I actually agree with the overall premise of this book - be a truly amazing person & others will want to know you. Agreed. The issue I have with this book is the overly simplistic path to this goal prescribed by the authors which often veers off into just plain ridiculous. One example is a passage in which the authors provide advice on meeting someone considered to be difficult to connect with, using Keanu Reeves as an example. Not a problem folks, all you need to do is become "a millionaire who can finance one of his pet projects" so that you can "hire him as an actor". Yes those are word for word quotes from this book. What's truly disturbing though, is the cultish, scammy disclaimer (repeated throughout the book) of "Easy? No. But doable, YES!" So no matter how outlandish the advice, the authors maintain this rah rah/nothing's impossible mantra that's meant to deflect any rational thought as nothing more than non-believers without vision and drive. So for all of you who yearn to realize your childhood dreams of becoming a fireman/astronaut/ballerina, you now have a book to cheer you on! Nothing's impossible....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Powerful Concept - Insufficient Detail, October 25, 2011
By 
This review is from: Guerrilla Networking: A Proven Battle Plan to Attract the Very People You Want to Meet (Paperback)
First, let me say that the thesis of Guerrilla Networking (stop trying to meet people, become somebody that others want to meet) is a novel approach. However, with that being said, the amount of useful information in this tome is severely limited. Out of its 280ish pages, only about 40 of them are really very good. Part 1 of the book describes what Guerrilla Networking is and how it differs from and complements traditional networking (1 of the 2 good parts). Part 2 lists 50 Guerrilla Networking tips. One tip is to publish a book. Not exactly earth shattering. Part 3 has other individuals tell their Guerrilla Networking stories...unfortunately most of these are simply statements about what Guerrilla Networking did for them, but not usually how they did it. Part 4 gives a 9-page set of instructions. As I said, the concept is interesting and useful, but the book itself is mostly filled with fluff. Somewhat recommended, but don't expect a ton of useful material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Turn your networking into a money making machine with this book, March 4, 2010
This review is from: Guerrilla Networking: A Proven Battle Plan to Attract the Very People You Want to Meet (Paperback)
Length:: 2:12 Mins

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Book Made My Network as Strong as a Gorilla, February 20, 2009
By 
Simon Stapleton (Nailsworth, England) - See all my reviews
Anything with 'Guerrilla' in the title makes me want to know more, so I had to see what this book was all about. I contributed to Levinson's (and Perry's) upcoming book, the next installment of 'Guerrilla Marketing for Job Hunters' so I knew I was going to enjoy this one too.

Like the other 'Guerrilla' books, it gives straightforward, no-nonsense advice on pinpointing your target contacts and dangling carrots to draw them in. I particularly like the success-stories and views from industry experts.

The most important thing of all is that to make the most of this book, you have to work at it and apply the advice. It isn't a book to read and then put down. This is why it is so powerful!

My results after 6 months of first reading this book was a network four times the original size, and the quality of the contacts was far greater - in many cases C-level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth it, November 30, 2007
OK, I'll admit it. I know Monroe, so I felt sort of obligated to buy his and Jay's book. However, I have to say that I was really pleasantly surprised and impressed with the content. It's a great read, and it's packed with really useful, practical and sometimes unconvetional networking tips and tactics. The book is divided into four sections: First is an overview of the Guerrilla Networking concept, followed by 50 specific networking strategies. Part three features real-life success stories, while the last section (my favorite) outlines a step-by-step plan to create your very own Guerrilla Networking strategy. This book is too good to stick on the shelf - This one will stay on the desk so I can refer back to it often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The book is over the top, February 10, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Okay, so there's a lot of good information in the book for becoming the sought after rather than seeking after the famous, wealthy, and influential for help. I got it mainly because I thought that it could help me with my network marketing business. My upline/sponsor sent out an email saying he had co-authored it and highly recommended it. So, no loss. It's worth the money for those willing to really work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars INNOVATIVE APPROACH TO NETWORKING, July 14, 2012
By 
Menahem Lender (River Forest, IL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Guerrilla Networking: A Proven Battle Plan to Attract the Very People You Want to Meet (Paperback)
The book `Guerrilla Networking' by Jay Conrad Levinson and Monroe Mann is a working handbook on how to attract and connect with other people.
Most mature and independent people from all walks of life are in need for support from other people. People buy from people. If you want some other person to buy your personal services or your product you need other people. This book is a clear practical study guide on how to get from where you socially are to where you socially want to be. For that purpose you want to attract people - customers, collaborators, partners, friends and soul-mates to you.
The book is written in simple language and many examples of what is `Guerrilla Networking'. In this practical how-to book you learn in part I the guerrilla principle of the two-step process: (1) doing whatever is necessary to become the type of person other people want to meet; (2) making sure that everyone knows it.
Next, you (and me - the readers) are led in part II, through 50 proven ways to get people to come to you (us). All 50 ways require creative work and personal productivity. This compendium is an invaluable sub-book by itself. I found this part inspirational. Even though I was familiar with every one of the 50 items in a general way, this part sparked in me new ideas applicable to my personal current situation. Every method is applicable to some degree to every person reading this book.
The third major part of the book is a genuine treat. The authors introduce you to 26 actual living people, all of them are successful entrepreneurs from all walks of life, of every age group and of many professions who live and practice the philosophy of `Guerrilla Networking'. As guerrilla networkers they are friendly, open and willing to strike virtual friendship on their websites or social media.
While I excitedly read and studied this practical hand-book by Jay Conrad Levinson and Monroe Mann I found an opportunity for improvement in a future edition, i.e., adding expanded part/chapters on the application of social media platforms in guerrilla networking.
I whole heartedly recommend this book to any reader in any stage of personal development.

Mandy Lender MD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Inspiring, January 23, 2009
A very inspiring book... Everything that it suggests is so simple and evident and yet it will blow your mind. I realised I was a guerrilla networker without knowing it, as I was doing many things that the book recommends. It gave me confidence that I was on the right track and turned my intuitive approach into a systematic method for success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational with a focus on entertainers (but applicable to others), September 7, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was an inspirational book with suggestions for non-conventional networking techniques including how to attract people you are interested in to find "you".

I felt that 30-40% of this book contained suggestions that were specific to the entertainment industry; however, the rest of the book was excellent and worth reading for just about anyone.

I finished the book in one day, and it was a pleasant read because it was divided into very short 1-4 page sections.

One of the authors recommendations is to act as a "network hub" to help others connect with people they want to meet. I have no expectations of being on television or in the movies, I may be able to use my network to help others achieve their dreams with the authors suggestions (and build my network at the same time).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Guerrilla Networking: A Proven Battle Plan to Attract the Very People You Want to Meet
$21.95 $15.08
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.