Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SO Original and Clever!
Our 4 year old daughter absolutely LOVES this book! Every night, I ask her which book she wants me to read at bedtime and (without fail) she grabs "Guess Again!" The first time we read it, the entire family was laughing at the unexpected answers when you turned each page. The illustrations are brilliant and so creative - I've never seen a book like it! Our 7 year old...
Published on September 30, 2009 by B & V Franklin

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A whimsical, albeit brief, book that holds up to repeated readings
Targeted for ages 4-8, there's no denying this gimmicky book of fold-out surprises can produce a healthy current of giggles and guffaws after our sons, ages 6 and 5, laughed themselves into pill bug rolls through our first bedtime reading. They requested an encore and giggled (somewhat less) the second time.

The next night, they requested the book again and...
Published on September 23, 2009 by Jared Castle


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SO Original and Clever!, September 30, 2009
By 
B & V Franklin (El Segundo, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Guess Again! (Hardcover)
Our 4 year old daughter absolutely LOVES this book! Every night, I ask her which book she wants me to read at bedtime and (without fail) she grabs "Guess Again!" The first time we read it, the entire family was laughing at the unexpected answers when you turned each page. The illustrations are brilliant and so creative - I've never seen a book like it! Our 7 year old son, couldn't wait to share it with his friends - he loved that no one could guess the answers! It's great fun and I would HIGHLY recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this silly guessing story, September 24, 2009
This review is from: Guess Again! (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
"Guess Again!" is a silly fun book where you have to guess an object from the clues given on the page. So on the first page you see a silhouette of what looks like a bunny. The shadowy ouline is set in a carrot patch. There is a rhyming verse that even rhymes with the word "bunny". But when you turn the page, it's not a bunny at all! It's Grandpa Ned (in a bunny like contortion)! Each page follows this same format - rhyming verse, visual clues, with a silly solution to the guessing game.

This book was a HUGE hit with my 5 year old. By the end, he was in fits of laughter and anticipating Grandpa Ned at every turn. We had to read the story 4 times in a row. He LOVED Grandpa Ned and all the other silly characters. The next day, he insisted on bringing the book to school to read to his class at story time. His teacher said the book was a big hit all around.

This book is very cute and entertaining. The text is easy enough for an early reader to sound out words. I actually wondered if this would be a story we'd read once and then lose interest in but that is definitely not the case here.

Definitely recommend for preschool/Kindergarten aged kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars cute, accessible book for children, October 1, 2009
This review is from: Guess Again! (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
This book was very cute. I actually wasn't expecting the real answers to the riddles, so I got a kick out of reading the book. The illustrations are attractive and humorous. The joke became a bit repetitive, but my kid didn't seem to mind. A good, short read overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An important book, September 27, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Guess Again! (Hardcover)
This book is a testament to the inherent intelligence of the early reading-age child. Whereas many books intended for this age are written simply to expose children to written language, "Guess Again!" engages the young reader as a participant in the creative process. A child will return to this book again and again because she realizes that with each turn of the page her expectation of what's almost certainly coming is replaced with something infinitely more hilarious. And this process is tremendously important in this age, when children are beginning to develop the cognitive power of abstract thought. It's refreshing to see a new children's author who seems to understand the important role of literature in the process of a child's cognitive development. "Guess Again!" is not only a wonderfully written and beautifully illustrated book, it's also an important one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get the Giggles, September 20, 2010
This review is from: Guess Again! (Hardcover)
This is so hilarious. Page after page of great rhymes that your child KNOWS the answer for... and then a ridiculous surprise on the next page. It's a hoot. Grandpa Ned!

Even the cover illustration is funny - and the back cover is mirror-writing. A few lift-the-flap pages, even. So clever.

Parents note: Fear of dentists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unexpected laughter, May 19, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Guess Again! (Hardcover)
I bought this book to read to my grandchildren. I'm not sure they enjoyed as much as I did!!! It's a "guessing game" with VERY unexpected answers!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laugh out loud genius!, March 18, 2010
By 
Michael Buckley (My Own Little World) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Guess Again! (Hardcover)
Guess Again! is hilarious - truly one of those great ideas I wish I had come up with myself. If you want something silly, for a rainy day, that will make you laugh and probably get your kid giggling then this is truly the right choice. It's not for babies so they may find some of it perplexing, and it's probably not really for very old people either. It's certainly not for those without a sense of humor, who lost their balance in a swimming accident, or have a fear of cats. If you starred on Broadway or enjoy the taste of a swiss chard, or were a citizen of Jonestown you will probably walk away scratching your head. If you demand that all things be labeled and explained, that perhaps books should list ingredients, or you feel that you are not the type of person that likes to take big risks when it comes to purchasing books, well, you will also not enjoy this book. If you live too close to power lines, lived in Love Canal, spend time outside of McDonald's demanding the return of the McDLT, then you should steer clear. But for the rest of us, that tiny 1 to 2 percent out there who really control everything and make all the money (you know, the cabal) - well, this is really up your alley. My kid loved it and he's only two years old. Of course, he didn't read it...he ate it, but that's neither here nor there. What counts is that it has bite marks in it just like classics; Where the Wild Things Are, Cowboy Small, and the Gilmore Girls Companion. I give this book six stars. What? Five, really? What year is this?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Changing Picture Book, January 28, 2010
By 
vamommy (Midlothian, VA United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Guess Again! (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
This book has fun artwork. I thought it would be very predictable for an adult, but even I was surprised to see what the picture piece turned into on the next day. Of course, this isn't a book you read for the plot. If you want cute artwork and a humorous adventure for your young child this is a nicely done option.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, December 3, 2009
This review is from: Guess Again! (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Guess Again is a very fun book to read with a child. It gives clues so you can guess what it is talking about. We had a lot of fun reading this together and guessing out loud!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rewards and Surprises..., November 9, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Guess Again! (Hardcover)
Guess Again is a lot of fun. An image is shown, and children are asked to guess what they're seeing. Children are given clues in poem form, and using what they know about the world and rhyming, they can guess a logical answer. It turns out all the answers are silly, and random, and not what the child is lead to believe. The format allows children to be rewarded by figuring out a puzzle and then delighted by the whimisical nature of the answer.

Beyond delighting children, there's a nice message here about imagination, testing assumptions, and looking at the world from a different angle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Guess Again!
Guess Again! by Adam Rex (Hardcover - September 15, 2009)
$16.99 $12.75
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.