Customer Reviews


223 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (29)
2 star:
 (37)
1 star:
 (104)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Guest House
I watched this movie for the second time and it was good for a mature audience, very entertaining and it kept our attention. Good buy.
Published 15 months ago by . Warrwpen

versus
45 of 59 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't do it....
I wish I would have listened to the other reviewer who gave this film a one star. It would have saved me 60 minutes of my night. I couldn't even finish this movie, it was that bad. Normally when I see Wolfe Video, I expect a good gay drama. They gave us movies like Gia and Elena Undone and The Gymnist. Imagine my surprise when I popped this in and got just what the...
Published on September 16, 2012 by J Gage


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 59 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't do it...., September 16, 2012
By 
J Gage (Buffalo, NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Guest House (DVD)
I wish I would have listened to the other reviewer who gave this film a one star. It would have saved me 60 minutes of my night. I couldn't even finish this movie, it was that bad. Normally when I see Wolfe Video, I expect a good gay drama. They gave us movies like Gia and Elena Undone and The Gymnist. Imagine my surprise when I popped this in and got just what the reviewer said; a dry porn with even worse acting. There were 2 attractive women, but no chemistry, no story, and really, really bad acting. The love scene in the hot tub reminded me of the pool scene in Showgirls, but worse. To quote the film, "My shoulders are so tight. I haven't ridden a bike in a long time." Ok, how are your shoulders sore from that? Did you pedal with your arms? Come on!

I love a lot of Wolfe Video productions. This one should never have been released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Guest House, September 15, 2013
I watched this movie for the second time and it was good for a mature audience, very entertaining and it kept our attention. Good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sweet story, July 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Guest House (DVD)
Very simply this is a love story between two very young girls. It's not as cheesy as people say it is. My favorite character is Rachel, the girl who played her was very natural and easy on the eyes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Captivating Lesbian Drama, September 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Guest House (DVD)
This less than excellent lesbian drama revolves around the life of a rebellious eighteen year old high school graduate, Rachel (played by Ruth Reynolds), who has recently been ditched by her boyfriend, under the pretext that they need to establish new relationships with other people when they move to different colleges, being grounded by her father for breaking curfew, and being put under the care of her new nanny, Amy (played by the ever alluring Madeline Merritt) - who is to be housed in Rachel's deceased mother's former studio, which has just been converted into a guest house, finding herself being attracted to Amy and seducing her after Amy confesses to experiencing an unaccountable attraction to her and admits that she has never really felt comfortable in her relationships with men, fallen in love with one nor experienced real passion with men, and falling in love with Amy, after several nights of passionate sex, with Amy feeling likewise, only to have they triste discovered by Rachel’s father - who in a fit of jealousy that Amy, his one night stand, had engaged in intercourse with his daughter, firing her; and Rachel breaking up with her upon learning that she had had sex with her father, only to find herself feeling empty after her separation with Amy, who, unable to overcome her passionate love for Rachel, has attended every concert performed by this fledging new singer/song writer, and seeking to rekindle their relation and, eventually, succeeding in a lesbian flick that lacks commendable performances, suffers from a less than satisfactory script, and lacks the authenticity that real lesbians can bring to the lesbian love scenes.

If you’re looking for fine lesbian fare, go instead for Loving Annabelle, Blue is the Warmest Color, A Perfect Ending or The Gymnast, which are acted out by real lesbians.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Guest House From Hell, February 6, 2014
By 
Taheen Lopez (United States- San Diego, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Guest House (Amazon Instant Video)
Before leaving for college, a recently dumped goth girl's life changes forever when she falls in love with a smart and professional college grad who is staying in the family's guest house.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Third time is a Charm, October 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Guest House (Amazon Instant Video)
Initially. I was going to chop (not a good thing) this movie up because I thought the main characters, Amy (fresh out of college) & Rachel (high school graduate heading to college), maturity levels were off, and I wasn't feeling the chemistry between the two of them. But, after watching it a few times (have to get my money's worth, lol) I changed my mind. The maturity levels weren't off but more so the characters did a metamorphoses by the movie's end that I missed the first (and second) time around.

I perceived Amy as a mature educated person because she was recently graduated from college. And, she was. However, she was inexperienced in the area of relationships (specifically love & intimacy) which she experienced for the first time with Rachel.

The songs choices were perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not very good, February 16, 2014
I thought I'd see a lot more nudity than this movie actually had. Lets face it I didn't watch this movie hoping to see an academy
award performance from anyone. A real bore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been better, May 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Guest House (Amazon Instant Video)
It was okay...but I think it was a bit cheesy in some parts. It could have been way better. The cast and script are just ok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars okay, March 10, 2014
It was okay, did not really get to finish the full movie but from what I seen it was great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Soft Porn disguised as movie with a plot., August 19, 2014
All these actors need to go back to school for a lesson or two, especially the Dad. He was not believable at all. Maybe it was the script or maybe the inability of the actors to commit to the dialogue but it reminded me of the quality of soft porn movie. Don't even get me started about the young girl's inability to sing. My Oh My! The best part of the movie is the cover!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Guest House
Guest House by Michael Baumgarten
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.