Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Morgan Silver Dollar Bible ?
If you think your a Morgan Silver Dollar collector and you don't have this book then your NOT a Morgan Silver Dollar collector. Much more than just a book on Morgans, this is a true reference piece that you will refer to again and again. A bible of Morgan Silver Dollars if you will. I find myself refering back to this book not only for new information but also to...
Published on March 17, 2007 by Dennis D. Mills

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Outdated with the market
The book has a lot of good background information about Morgan coins from a history point of view. The pricing is very out of date with the current market valuation. If you're looking for a history book, which I wasn't, it meets the test.
Published 21 months ago by jerrya


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Morgan Silver Dollar Bible ?, March 17, 2007
This review is from: A Guide Book Of Morgan Silver Dollars: A Complete History and Price Guide (The Official Red Book) (Paperback)
If you think your a Morgan Silver Dollar collector and you don't have this book then your NOT a Morgan Silver Dollar collector. Much more than just a book on Morgans, this is a true reference piece that you will refer to again and again. A bible of Morgan Silver Dollars if you will. I find myself refering back to this book not only for new information but also to verify details I have found elsewhere.

Very well written, very comprehensive, very well organized. A natural flow through to the book from the history of dollars to a detailed analysis of each date and mint. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Thorough and Well-Organized Guidebook, March 12, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Guide Book Of Morgan Silver Dollars: A Complete History and Price Guide (The Official Red Book) (Paperback)
An excellent publication in terms of breadth of coverage from both a historical and a collector's standpoint. With the help of this book, one could almost become an instant expert in the field. As for myself, however, I'm content to have learned enough to establish reasonable goals (in terms of condition, availability and cost) for date & mint selections when acquiring companion pieces for my 1884-CC Morgon Silver Dollar.

Roger S.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT for Beginners, November 20, 2007
By 
Joey B. (Charlottesville, VA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Guide Book Of Morgan Silver Dollars: A Complete History and Price Guide (The Official Red Book) (Paperback)
Just getting started collecting Morgan Dollars and I can't begin to tell you what a treasure this book has been. Every year and every variation is given it's own separate page with all the info you need to know...things to look for, variances, etc. A GREAT book if you're just getting started.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars review, June 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Guide Book Of Morgan Silver Dollars: A Complete History and Price Guide (The Official Red Book) (Paperback)
I was pleased with this book, I am a collector. Much of the information contained in this book was new to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoy the book very much, February 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Guide Book Of Morgan Silver Dollars: A Complete History and Price Guide (The Official Red Book) (Paperback)
It is informative, interesting and helpful in my efforts to collect Morgan silver dollars and rate them for their quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Outdated with the market, January 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Guide Book Of Morgan Silver Dollars: A Complete History and Price Guide (The Official Red Book) (Paperback)
The book has a lot of good background information about Morgan coins from a history point of view. The pricing is very out of date with the current market valuation. If you're looking for a history book, which I wasn't, it meets the test.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you love Morgan silver dollars like I do, you'll like this book., December 22, 2012
This review is from: A Guide Book Of Morgan Silver Dollars: A Complete History and Price Guide (The Official Red Book) (Paperback)
The author takes each year that Morgan dollars were made and gives two pages of history about Morgan dollars, rare coins, and what was happening in the world at that time. This is followed up by the population, grades and values for coins from each mint that year. This format is followed from 1878 to 1921. Prior to this section of the guide you'll find over 100 pages of fascinating history of silver dollars in general, the mints and minting processes, and how to grade the coins. Quite a wealth of information that will have you dreaming of those "lost" bags of CC mint coins lying undisturbed and forgotten in bank vaults years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Reference., February 16, 2010
By 
K. M. Scott (San Diego, Ca.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Guide Book Of Morgan Silver Dollars: A Complete History and Price Guide (The Official Red Book) (Paperback)
This is a must have if you collect Morgans or are interested in their history. I used it to put together and help organize my collection of Morgans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have, August 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Guide Book Of Morgan Silver Dollars: A Complete History and Price Guide (The Official Red Book) (Paperback)
Tons of info in this book, highly recommend for any morgan dollar fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Guide Book Of Morgan Silver Dollars: A Complete History and Price Guide (The Official Red Book) (Paperback)
great book on morgan silver dollars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A Guide Book Of Morgan Silver Dollars: A Complete History and Price Guide (The Official Red Book)
A Guide Book Of Morgan Silver Dollars: A Complete History and Price Guide (The Official Red Book) by Q. David Bowers Leroy C. Van Allen (Foreword) (Paperback - March 31, 2005)
Used & New from: $0.20
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.