Customer Reviews


154 Reviews
5 star:
 (107)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


141 of 142 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars informative, handy, with large scale recipes
This book teaches you how to safely---with large emphasis on safety and hygiene---prepare, and store meat using a wide variety of canning, freezing, and curing methods. The text is well-illustrated with diagrams of equipment (including sausage makers, and smokers) and methods. There are plenty of helpful tips, and handy charts indicating how long a product should be...
Published on February 23, 2005 by Amazon Customer

versus
22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Really outdated in some places (Saltpeter for Corned Beef? No!), good information in others.
This book does have a lot of good information, but some of the recipes haven't been updated from the original 1975 version. One in particular has a significant safety problem.

I love pastrami and to make it you need to corn the brisket first, which is essentially brining the beef in salty water for at least 5 days. One dangerous backteria that salt alone can't...
Published 10 months ago by K. Brown


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

141 of 142 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars informative, handy, with large scale recipes, February 23, 2005
By 
This review is from: A Guide to Canning, Freezing, Curing & Smoking Meat, Fish & Game (Paperback)
This book teaches you how to safely---with large emphasis on safety and hygiene---prepare, and store meat using a wide variety of canning, freezing, and curing methods. The text is well-illustrated with diagrams of equipment (including sausage makers, and smokers) and methods. There are plenty of helpful tips, and handy charts indicating how long a product should be heated per pound (with time adjustments when cooking at altitude). The recipes in the book are massive. Most require 100lb of meat, pounds of salt, and gallons of water; a few handful of recipes call for 3-10 pounds of meat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


75 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars for the carnivore in you!, September 20, 2002
By 
Rebecca Brown "rebeccasreads" (Clallam Bay, WA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Guide to Canning, Freezing, Curing & Smoking Meat, Fish & Game (Paperback)
Join the generations of hunters in the wild & in the aisles of local supermarkets who have learned to can, freeze, cure & smoke meat, fish & game with this simple, safety-conscious primer about making beef jerky, bologna, cured turkey, bacon, corned beef, pemmican, clam chowder, & much, much more.
It will also turn you on to other ways to prepare your meats, & fill you with satisfaction when you look in your freezer, on your shelves & in your cupboards.
Very glad it's been re-printed - my ancient copy was getting unreadable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Help out alot, March 3, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Guide to Canning, Freezing, Curing & Smoking Meat, Fish & Game (Paperback)
I ordered this book to find out how to cure bacon and smoke meat. I found it very helpfull. I was having a hard time in finding a cure, but the book sugested a cure by mortin. I will tell everyone I know. If you need a good meat book this is one of our favorites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Basic Info, September 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Guide to Canning, Freezing, Curing & Smoking Meat, Fish & Game (Paperback)
I have NEVER cured any meat before, I have canned meat,everyone has frozen meat, but never cured meat. This is a good basic book. It gives clear directions and suggestions for different products you can use to cure with. (Some of which you can get here a amazon.com). I also like that it gives you the health warnings, when dealing with food, there is no such thing as too clean or too careful. All in all, this book will get you started and keep you safe, but you MUST follow the directions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Really outdated in some places (Saltpeter for Corned Beef? No!), good information in others., January 7, 2014
By 
K. Brown (Denver, CO United States) - See all my reviews
This book does have a lot of good information, but some of the recipes haven't been updated from the original 1975 version. One in particular has a significant safety problem.

I love pastrami and to make it you need to corn the brisket first, which is essentially brining the beef in salty water for at least 5 days. One dangerous backteria that salt alone can't inhibit is Clostridium botulinum. C. botulinum produces a toxin that will give you botulism, which is very bad. The fix for this is to add a little sodium nitrite (not nitrate) in the form of Instacure #1 (93.75% salt, 6.25% sodium nitrite, red color so no one mistakes if for table salt) to your brine. My big concern with this book is that the recipe for corning beef calls for Saltpeter, which is potassium nitrate. The "ate" in the word nitrate tells you that this is an old recipe that's not as safe as it should be.

I'm sure this book at the top if its game in 1975 but now it seems a bit quaint. I have to ding the book 2 full stars just for the saftey shortfall. It's still full of good information though, just do your homework.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book of recipes, November 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Guide to Canning, Freezing, Curing & Smoking Meat, Fish & Game (Paperback)
The title lists Canning Freezing Curing and Smoking and all of those subjects are covered in detail for each category but what is really inside are recipes of all kinds. We are talking about food afterall. Includes 36 full pages of valuable safety related directions concerning pressure canning. Lists unconsidered questions IE what happens to my frozen venision if I lose power and it thaws. just a great deal of useful no nonsense information concerning the preservation of meat fish and game and then the various methods of cooking for ultimate consumption. A great source for considering the 'other' cuts of meat in a carcass. Tongue organs blood and gelatine from cooking the bones. Well worth the asking price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Handy Book, January 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Guide to Canning, Freezing, Curing & Smoking Meat, Fish & Game (Paperback)
This is a nice little book with a lot of really good information. Here's a list of chapter headings:
Introduction
Basic Information
Canning
Freezing
Curing and Jerky and Sausage Making
Smokehouses and Smokers: Built, Bought, or Improvised
Beef and Veal
Pork
Lamb
Poultry
Game
Fish
Metric Conversion Charts
Bibliography
Recipe Credits
Resources
Index

If you're making the move towards self-sustainability, this book has a ton of wisdom for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, August 15, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Guide to Canning, Freezing, Curing & Smoking Meat, Fish & Game (Paperback)
Before I read this book, I knew NOTHING about preserving meat. Now, if the power goes out, my cabinet will be full and my stomach will be happy. :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Has info on a lot of different methods to preserve meat & fish, January 30, 2013
By 
G E W Ward (Bluffton, S.C. United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Guide to Canning, Freezing, Curing & Smoking Meat, Fish & Game (Paperback)
Reminds me of some different ways my mother talked about her family kept meat fresh before refrigerators where common. We have forgotten alot of those skills so it is very nice to have good books to explain things in simple terms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of stuff to learn!, March 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Guide to Canning, Freezing, Curing & Smoking Meat, Fish & Game (Paperback)
If we can learn all of the things this book has to teach we will be so much better off. We are trying to be self suffiecient.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A Guide to Canning, Freezing, Curing & Smoking Meat, Fish & Game
A Guide to Canning, Freezing, Curing & Smoking Meat, Fish & Game by Wilbur F. Eastman (Paperback - August 15, 2002)
$17.00 $11.52
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.