Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for any database developer
With so many different DBMS products on the market it is very important to be able to write database applications easily portable from one to another. The key to this portability is writing in compliance to the ISO/ANSI SQL standard. This book has been able to answer almost every my question! I can hardly say that for any other computer book.
Published on August 22, 1998 by Branimir Dolicki (bdolicki@tel.hr)

versus
21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This is not a "How to...." book
For beginners, this book can be a complete nightmare. It reminded me of the dreary, theory laden texts of my college days more than anything. If you want to know not just how but why SQL works like it does, then this is the book for you, and you will be very happy with it. If you're looking for a reference book to support your existing SQL knowledge, then this book...
Published on March 2, 2000 by Joseph E. Swanson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This is not a "How to...." book, March 2, 2000
This review is from: A Guide to SQL Standard (4th Edition) (Paperback)
For beginners, this book can be a complete nightmare. It reminded me of the dreary, theory laden texts of my college days more than anything. If you want to know not just how but why SQL works like it does, then this is the book for you, and you will be very happy with it. If you're looking for a reference book to support your existing SQL knowledge, then this book can serve that purpose also. However, if you're looking for something to learn SQL from at the beginner's level, this book is not for you. It is not specific to any database, lacks examples or tutorials, and speaks at the level of someone who has SQL experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for any database developer, August 22, 1998
This review is from: A Guide to SQL Standard (4th Edition) (Paperback)
With so many different DBMS products on the market it is very important to be able to write database applications easily portable from one to another. The key to this portability is writing in compliance to the ISO/ANSI SQL standard. This book has been able to answer almost every my question! I can hardly say that for any other computer book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Rather narrow in scope, and for experts only, December 30, 2000
This review is from: A Guide to SQL Standard (4th Edition) (Paperback)
If you are looking for a book that will take you through the SQL standard, explaining what each part means and how to use each feature, then you need to look elsewhere. If you are an expert SQL user, and interested in some of the intimate detail of the standard, for example the way time and dates work, and why they work the way they do, this may well be the book for you, but it?s still expensive for the number of pages. If you known the basics well already, and want to become a power SQL user, then I?d recommend Joe Celko's SQL for Smarties
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SQL For Real Programmers, September 28, 2003
This review is from: A Guide to SQL Standard (4th Edition) (Paperback)
If you are a newbie looking how to make a Select statement work, this probably isn't for you. On the other hand, if you are experienced and want a book to help you understand how and why many DB's function like they do...buy this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Beginners Beware ! (And more ...), November 25, 1999
This review is from: A Guide to SQL Standard (4th Edition) (Paperback)
Maybe experienced database developers and administrators might find this book useful, however, in my opinion, for someone looking for an introduction to the SQL world, this is one confusing collection of printed pages with all beginning pages referencing the final ones, and vice-versa. The author does not hide his dissatisfaction with the official standard and claims that the confused nature of the book simply reflects the inconsistencies and unsettled issues in the standard itself. Well, in that case, with all due respect to standard-setter and author - I am beginning to wonder why talk about a standard at all !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SQL pure, May 14, 2000
This review is from: A Guide to SQL Standard (4th Edition) (Paperback)
Not a beginners book, I choose it never the less. It helped me not to use nonstandard SQL features, so that my code runs with different databases. Still there seems to be no standard of how to get data about the database engine or the table configuration, so some code seems to remain individual. The book is from a standards thinking author, which means very formalistic. One nees to like this to like this book. But anyhow, the book is very profesionally written and to recommend. One needs serveral books about the same topic anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good but dated....only covers sql92, August 5, 2011
This review is from: A Guide to SQL Standard (4th Edition) (Paperback)
This book contains both formal syntax and good examples, and is reasonably concise. It is comparable to Melton's book "Understanding the New SQL", though the graphics are better in Melton's book. It was published in 1996, so does not cover more recent standards. It covers SQL92, which was the major revision, but there have been three smaller revisions since then. Thus it does not cover SQL analytical functions, triggers and a few other things that have come into popular use.

It is strictly about the standard and does not refer to products. If you are using a particular DBMS, you might prefer a product specific book since there are so many extensions to and variants from the standard in actual database products.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best reference, March 27, 2011
This review is from: A Guide to SQL Standard (4th Edition) (Paperback)
I have found this to be without question the best SQL reference book available.
In comparison, the actual standards document is so poorly written as to be
well nigh incomprehensible, assuming you can find a draft of it on the internet
-- otherwise it will cost you a fortune to buy. The implication is that whenever
I want to get a comprehensive and intelligible account of the syntax and semantics
of SQL, I turn with confidence to this Date and Darwen book. My only regret is that
this book is so old that it does not address the many new SQL features introduced
since its first printing. This book is for those who want to know the rules, the details,
the rationale behind SQL; I can see that its depth, organization, and sophistication
would not make it particularly suited for those just starting out (who would probably
be better off with their vendor's documentation for starters). In other words,
the book lives up to its title "A Guide To The SQL Standard".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beginners go away, April 19, 2000
By 
This review is from: A Guide to SQL Standard (4th Edition) (Paperback)
If you're a beginner, get a ["...For Dummies"] book. Ifhowever, you're looking to understand the internals of SQL and what iscommon to all relational databases, this is the book (if you wanttheory, I suggest 'Foundations of Databases' - Abiteboul, Hull, and Vianu, which is THE definitive book on the foundations and theory of database systems). This is after all what developers refer to when implementing a database that understands SQL(okay, I mean good developers, not the 'cut and paste' guys who make their living on other people's code without understanding how it works).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This book is incomplete, February 12, 2003
This review is from: A Guide to SQL Standard (4th Edition) (Paperback)
The word index at the end of the book is a poor joke, for example words like "TRIGGER" and "PROCEDURE" are missing, but you can find completely useless references to expressions used as identifiers.
Examples given are most trivial, for example I didn't manage to find how to return a recordset from a stored procedure.
Save your money, download free stuff floating around in the net.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A Guide to SQL Standard (4th Edition)
A Guide to SQL Standard (4th Edition) by C. J. Date (Paperback - November 18, 1996)
$47.95 $44.86
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.