Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars T-1 networking explained
Have you ever been told that T-1 was the way to go for your telecom needs but have no idea how to go from there? Or are you sure what your telecom consultant is telling with regards to T-1 networking? This book is for you.
After reading the other reviewers, I needed to put my 2 cents in. First of all, this book will not tell you in what cases T-1 is best versus the...
Published on April 3, 2000

versus
10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Interesting material, but not practical
For somebody trying to actually use T1 in their network, this book is not helpful. Most of the book is given over to theoretical explanations of the engineering details that led to the development of T1. While interesting, these details are often presented in a disjointed way without the necessary context of how everything fits together to move bits. The lack of...
Published on December 26, 2000


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars T-1 networking explained, April 3, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Guide to T-1 Networking: How to Buy, Install & Use T-1 From Desktop to Ds-3 (Paperback)
Have you ever been told that T-1 was the way to go for your telecom needs but have no idea how to go from there? Or are you sure what your telecom consultant is telling with regards to T-1 networking? This book is for you.
After reading the other reviewers, I needed to put my 2 cents in. First of all, this book will not tell you in what cases T-1 is best versus the other transport medium. This book is not a networking design book. However it is indeed and good book with regards once you have a design and want to impliment it.
The book is in 2 parts, the first being technical details on T-1 circuits. This goes from a very good basic overview to T-1 and what it can do to the bits and bytes of the circuitry. This book is excellent in that aspect. The next is some examples on implimenting T-1 circuits. It is not 100% comprehensive, but does convey implimentation of T-1 in a wide variety of scenarios.
I am very happy with this book and would recommend it to students, engineers, tech support, telecom managers and consultants. This is also a good book if you understand other transport medium (frame relay, pots, etc) but want to know what it takes to establish T-1 circuitry. I do not recommend this to people who want to design networks not knowing the advantages and disadvantages among the different transport mediums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book, January 22, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Guide to T-1 Networking: How to Buy, Install & Use T-1 From Desktop to Ds-3 (Paperback)
I can't imagine where the other reviewer is coming from with a 1 star review. This book has been revised numerous times since the 1980's and is the bible for nearly everyone involved in T1 networking. The writing is clear and complete. The hidden secrets you can't find answered elsewhere are answered authoritatively here. Note that the previous review says something along the lines of 'he wishes he could return the book'. Amazon has a 30 day return policy, so you might question the accuracy of the rest of his review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Title States Exactly What The Book Is About, July 20, 2000
By 
Jason Lee (Grosse Ile, MI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Guide to T-1 Networking: How to Buy, Install & Use T-1 From Desktop to Ds-3 (Paperback)
If I would change the supposedly misleading title of the book, as one reviewer recommends, I'd have to call it THE T1 BIBLE!
This book is a great book for a beginner to the telcommunications or networking industry where you would be supporting T1 networking. It requires some basic knowledge of telecommunications and networking, so if you don't have any knowledge of those subjects (or if this book was too advanced for you), I'd recommend starting with Networking for Dummies first(no offense intended).
This book is better than most books on the same subject because it extensively covers T1s, not just one aspect. It has very few spelling errors and technical mistakes and this book does not throw out acronyms and concepts randomly without fully explaining them first. This updated edition also has info on xDSL as well as ISDN without loosing focus.
If you are looking for a more advanced book or if you would like to learn in more detail about T1s after reading this, I recommend Sonet and T1 by Ulysses Black.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A little dated, but the best general T-1 book available, August 21, 2001
By 
Marie E. Povey (Clearwater, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Guide to T-1 Networking: How to Buy, Install & Use T-1 From Desktop to Ds-3 (Paperback)
I teach a college course called T-1 Network Design for which this is the textbook. I have been a practicing professional with T-1 circuits for more than 15 years, and IMHO, this is the best general T-1 textbook on the market. It's getting a little dated, but still not bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Interesting material, but not practical, December 26, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Guide to T-1 Networking: How to Buy, Install & Use T-1 From Desktop to Ds-3 (Paperback)
For somebody trying to actually use T1 in their network, this book is not helpful. Most of the book is given over to theoretical explanations of the engineering details that led to the development of T1. While interesting, these details are often presented in a disjointed way without the necessary context of how everything fits together to move bits. The lack of context makes it much less helpful as a reference for network engineers who must support T1 links in their networks.
Flanagan is out of touch with how T1 is actually used by data network managers today. Most new T1s are used for data transmission and Internet access. Leased-line networks are dying from the competition from frame relay and VPNs over the Internet, but private leased-line networks are a big focus in this book.
A word of warning about the title: this is really only a T-1 book. The subtitle (which may be the publisher's idea) suggests that there is coverage of DS-3 and DSL. The DSL/T-3 material is so sparse that it only serves to put "xDSL" and "T-3" on the cover. The title also implies a wealth of practical information, but the text did not help me become a better consumer. Engineers looking for answers on failed T1s should not use this book as a guide to repairing them.
If you want to know about voice over T1 or building private leased-line networks, then this book might be for you. If you need practical information, such as how to bring up a T1, what tends to go wrong (and how to fix it), then do not buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Title is VERY, very misleading..., December 21, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Guide to T-1 Networking: How to Buy, Install & Use T-1 From Desktop to Ds-3 (Paperback)
If the title of this book was called "Introdution to Understanding T-1" than I would give it 3 stars. Instead, the title promises to show you how to install, buy, and use T-1, but no where were these promises materialized. Well, I really got sucked in buying this one.
The content of this book has two distinctive parts. The first is extremely technical. This part has very little to do with what the cover's said, and it is only good for those who needs a quick introduction to T-1's technologies and specifications from an ENGINEERING PERSPECTIVE. As for the second part of this book where it suppose to show you how to network and install T-1, it constantly avoiding any subject regarding on how to implement T-1. As this is carried throughout the book, anything that starts to get interesting is suddenly dropped. This is very annoying at most.
As a regular computer books reader who relies on these on-line book reviews for protection from BAD PURCHASES, I feel that it is my duty to return the favour (wish I can return the book too) with this review. If you new to T-1 and your company wish to incorporate T-1 in its network, don't waste your time with this book, looks elsewhere. The book is full of technical babbles but EXTREMELY VAGUE in detail. Reading this book is like following a compase that has no direction that is, in relating to the book's cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Put me way ahead!!, August 29, 2011
By 
Fizzle "theerave" (Houston, TX United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Guide to T-1 Networking: How to Buy, Install & Use T-1 From Desktop to Ds-3 (Paperback)
This is a late review because I was looking to see if the authors had rewritten updated editions. This book when very deep into explaining the engineering and design of T1 networks to where you could troubleshoot the HW more effectively and visualize the problem that were occuring on the WAN. What a shame this author has not updated this because now the telecom world is putting IP Layer 3 right on top of Layer 1 for reroutability. Many things have changed but there is still alot that a beginner could learn here. This was a great book for anyone who had to deal with T1s every day. It is still a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No DSL in the subtitle--good book!, June 13, 2001
By 
This review is from: Guide to T-1 Networking: How to Buy, Install & Use T-1 From Desktop to Ds-3 (Paperback)
This book was an excellent reference for learning about the T-1's we began working with at my job. Another reviewer stated that the subtitle promised DSL, but NOWHERE in the title does it mention DSL. He is probably confusing DSL with DS3 which are vastly different circuit types. I recommend this book, you can't go wrong with it if you really want to learn how T-1's work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Guide to T-1 Networking: How to Buy, Install & Use T-1 From Desktop to Ds-3
Guide to T-1 Networking: How to Buy, Install & Use T-1 From Desktop to Ds-3 by William A. Flanagan (Paperback - July 15, 1998)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.