Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for ANY collector
This book is a must have for any starter or experienced collector. It not only shows trends for every US coin produced, but info on hoards, private and territorial gold/coins, and detailed info on each coins production (weights, diameters, metal compositions) so one doesn't get "duped" by a fake coin. Love this book
Published on July 5, 2006 by Joseph M. Thompson

versus
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Prices not "written in blood"
As a beginner coin collector, of course this seemed to be the "gold-standard" book to buy to let me know the value of my coins. But, I have quickly learned that the "Red Book" tends to over-value coins. Don't expect a dealer, or even other hobby collectors to offer you the prices quoted in the Red Book. I recommend that beginning collectors ALSO buy "THE Offical Blue...
Published on February 11, 2007 by C. Hoffman


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Prices not "written in blood", February 11, 2007
By 
C. Hoffman (Lapeer MI USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Guide Book of United states Coins 2007 (60th Edition)(Spiral) (Spiral-bound)
As a beginner coin collector, of course this seemed to be the "gold-standard" book to buy to let me know the value of my coins. But, I have quickly learned that the "Red Book" tends to over-value coins. Don't expect a dealer, or even other hobby collectors to offer you the prices quoted in the Red Book. I recommend that beginning collectors ALSO buy "THE Offical Blue Book, Handbook of United States Coins". This book will not give you the "retail" prices that the "Red Book" will, it will be closer to what dealers will actually offer you !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for ANY collector, July 5, 2006
This review is from: A Guide Book of United states Coins 2007 (60th Edition)(Spiral) (Spiral-bound)
This book is a must have for any starter or experienced collector. It not only shows trends for every US coin produced, but info on hoards, private and territorial gold/coins, and detailed info on each coins production (weights, diameters, metal compositions) so one doesn't get "duped" by a fake coin. Love this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Latest coin information here!, August 22, 2006
This review is from: A Guide Book of United states Coins 2007 (60th Edition)(Spiral) (Spiral-bound)
This latest (2007)publication by expert authors gives up-to-date+ values of coins. The color representations of coins is also helpful. The spiral binding allows one to hold the book open while examining one's collection coins with a glass and comparing with photos in the book. The history included with descriptions enlightens and enhances reader's knowledge of the coin of the land. Great book, recommended highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone interested in coins should own this book!, September 4, 2006
By 
And here in 2006 we have the 60th anniversary of what is commonly referred to as "The Red Book", which is of course a guidebook of US coins which encompasses state coinage such as Massachussets, New Jersey and the other colonies, gold coins from the American wild west as well as the Southern mints, pattern and experimental coinage and essentialy a basic guide that every coin collector, coin dealer, hobbyist and even part time student of coins cannot be without. Edited by one of the greats, Kenneth Bressett, this book also makes a great gift for that budding YN !( young Numismatist) As a professional coin dealer I recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guide Book of Us coins 2007, August 20, 2006
By 
This review is from: A Guide Book of United states Coins 2007 (60th Edition)(Spiral) (Spiral-bound)
Great reference book. Easy to use. All of the coin dealers we have talked to use it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars U. S. Coin Guide Book for 2007., June 26, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Guide Book of United states Coins 2007 (60th Edition)(Spiral) (Spiral-bound)
For me this is the Bible for American coin collectors. The spiral bound version is so much better than the paperback.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Can't get by without the 2007 Redbook, April 6, 2007
This review is from: A Guide Book of United states Coins 2007 (60th Edition)(Spiral) (Spiral-bound)
Just like every other edition of the Red Book for US Coins this edition is well designed and bound (rings). I have had hard cover, paperback style, and the ring bound style redbooks in the past and prefer the ring bound for daily use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Red Book, February 9, 2007
By 
Chris Young (East Central Georgia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Guide Book of United states Coins 2007 (60th Edition)(Spiral) (Spiral-bound)
The book, A Guide Book of United States Coins, 2007 69th. Edition, also known as the "Red Book"(and previous and future editions) is the guide for all Coin Collectors, new and experienced. The Red Book details each coin then presents a listing of coins and the coins estimated value based on previous retail sales trends.

Another Whittman Publication, The Offical Blue Book "Handbook of Unites States Coins" is a good companion book that lists the prices that dealers are likely to pay for coins that you have for sale. Again this data is based on dealer purchase price history.

Both of these books give the reader/user a comprehensive understanding of the current coin price trends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guide book of U.S. Coins 2007 Red Book, August 21, 2006
By 
J. D. Asher "Nomemite" (Nome, Alaska United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As always very good could not ask for more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Guide Book of United States Coins 2007, January 16, 2007
This review is from: A Guide Book of United states Coins 2007 (60th Edition)(Spiral) (Spiral-bound)
I purchased for my husband. He already had the 2006 version. If you are a coin collector, this is a great must have book. Spiral bound so you don't loose your place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A Guide Book of United states Coins 2007 (60th Edition)(Spiral)
A Guide Book of United states Coins 2007 (60th Edition)(Spiral) by Kenneth Bressett (Editor) R. S. Yeoman (Spiral-bound - April 30, 2006)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.