Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 232 reviews(5 star). Show all reviews
on January 22, 2009
Regardless of your political persuasion, or your opinion of Ann, you should read this book. It's a work that you will either love or hate. There's little in between.

This book's style is not unlike the style in her previous best sellers. But 'Guilty' seems in some places to have an even sharper point to the stick she taunts the liberal establishment, and more so the mainstream media with.

Her research is meticulously accurate, and she shows no mercy to anyone who stands in her path.

As one of my liberal friends who read the book put it "although I totally disagree with her, I must admit she has more stones than any guy I've met". If her style is confrontational, her points are backed up by well documented facts. She does her own research,so there's no one to blame for any factual errors, if you can find one. I've yet to see anyone document any misstatement of fact in her books, no matter what Media Matters claims. She makes no apology for the points she makes, or the way she makes them.

If you're of the conservative mindset, you'll probably love this book even more than her previous works. If you're more liberal, you'll be more enraged. She forces the reader to confront issues with her take no prisoners approach.

That frequently provokes strong reactions from both sides, but it also facilitates a dialog that many are too timid to confront. And it's a dialog that is long over due.

That's what good books do. You might not agree with some of it, or any of it. But if it makes you think, and it promotes the discussion of issues, it accomplishes a purpose beyond just being entertaining. Though it is a very entertaining work as well.
2222 comments| 122 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2009
This is a great book! I was simply amazed to learn of all the events revealed in this book that had taken place over the past two or three decades of which I had no knowledge. I love to read (particularly history) and stay pretty current with politics and economics: yet, I had no inkling of many of the things that have gone on in this country. It was a real eye-opener. It confirmed my belief that the media has a large liberal bias and suppresses any news that is embarrassing to or negative about liberals.
55 comments| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon March 23, 2014
Coulter takes aim at the liberal creation of endless VICTIMS of evils beyond their control. As usual she does a great job.

Her writing continues to be timely as we have the administration's most recent victim promotions including

Black children are overly disciplined in school with no discussion if their behavior is different. One might ask if a much more skewed percentage of these black children will be committing violent crime in 10-15 years if the discipline is inadequate.

Black voters discriminated by voter id laws

Black criminals discriminated by disqualification of felons from voting

Blacks are the "victims" of white violence - while the stats show exactly the opposite.

Colter keeps it light but deadly. A great read that will help you deal with your PAL's Perpetually Agitated Liberals
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2015
I ordered and read this and several other books by Ann Coulter while serving in Iraq during Operation Iraqi Freedom VI. I found this book, as all her writing, immensely entertaining. Unfortunately, some of my friends were less than amused when I shared her "jokes" with them. What makes her funny are the massive cables of truth that run through her work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon January 18, 2009
The truth hurts. Apparently it hurts quite a bit based upon some of the silly one star reviews on Amazon. I read through several of them and it is pretty clear that those spewing the most vitriol have not read the book.

On the other hand, I did read it. This is a solid and well researched treatment of Ann Coulter's subject: Liberals who claim to be victims while actually victimizing others. It is thoroughly footnoted.

Before reading this, I had heard some media commentary on it and most of that seemed to be focused on Coulter's thoughts on single mothers. She certainly has strong thoughts on the problems caused by this issue, but she also has lots of hard data to support her contentions. She talks about how they "are not only 'unsung heroines,' as the title of a recent book puts it, they are perennial victims - the unwitting victims of sex with men they're not married to."

Ms. Coulter calls them 'phony victims'. She strongly advocates that rather than raising children alone, women place them for adoption. She says that a failure to do so 'they consign their children to starting life with second-class status'. Her position is rather hard core, much more so than my own, but she makes a solid case for it.

Citing crimes and other societal problems, she asks the reader to 'imagine an America with 70 percent fewer juvenile delinquents, 70 percent fewer teenage births, 63 to 70 percent fewer teenage suicides, and 70 percent to 90 percent fewer runaways and you will appreciate what the sainted single mothers have accomplished.'

Although many readers will likely have a more moderate view of this issue, Coulter certainly provides lots to ponder. Her thoughts are certainly not just confined to single mothers. She explores many other areas. One of those that is particularly good is media bias. She paints a very clear picture of the huge difference in treatment of conservatives versus liberals in the media. Although liberals are almost always treated with kid gloves, they howl and loudly proclaim their victim status after even the most gentle questions given to them. Two of the cases that she looks at extensively are the mistreatment of Sarah Palin and the amazing differences in media treatment given to George W. Bush and Bill Clinton.

Another very important area that she reviews is the so-called 'Fairness Doctrine'. There is nothing fair about it as Ms. Coulter clearly proves. It is simply a violation of free speech, the First Amendment, and virtually every principle upon which America was founded. This insidious policy which Ronald Reagan killed has many supporters on the left who are trying to resurrect it. It is a way to control the speech of those who are in disagreement with the party in power and it only applies to radio. It does not apply to TV shows, magazines, newspapers, movies, etc. Rather than compete in the marketplace of ideas, the liberal elites want to silence the opposition.

This is a very good book and should be read by anyone who is concerned about problems in society and possible solutions.
0Comment| 248 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2009
I got the Audiobook so I could listen to it during my long commute. I liked it. While I'm not the biggest Coulter fan, I thought she hit the nail on the head when it comes to the liberal mentality and the biased in the news media. Some of these so called reporters and MSM outlets aren't even subtle about their biases anymore, they're that bold and brazen. She focuses a lot on how they propagate lies about Republican candidates even when they're deemed not true, yet ignore or barely report on the Democrat's misbehavior. She also does a good job of dissecting the liberals use of the "victim" status to further their agenda.

She does her research and everything she said can be looked up and verified.

I find it humorous people feel the need to give her a one start rating without actually reading the book or listening to the audiobook. Amazon needs to have a better rating system like you can't rate the piece unless you buy it from Amazon or something.
2525 comments| 88 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2009
Over the years, Ann Coulter has made a name for herself by pointing out the inconsistencies inherent in liberal "arguments". In her latest book, "Guilty", Coulter argues that the mainstream media has allowed the Democratic party to spin things in their best interest - and created victims where none really exist.

It seems that everyone these days has a story of hardship and hope. Politicians must come from humble origins to be taken seriously. But how true are these stories? And how much does the media create hardship where none has existed?

The Clintons got a taste of the power of the mainstream media when Hillary ran against Barack Obama in the Democratic primary. Previously, the couple had been the sweethearts of the American press. However, when Obama came along, the media jumped on his bandwagon and Hillary was left in the dust. Suddenly, the media bias toward specific candidates was working against a Democrat.

Not only do liberals claim to be victims when there has been no wrongdoing, they will stoop to anything to get their way. Barack Obama had his opponents thrown out of the Illinois senate race when he first ran for office over "scandals" that turned out to be a whole lot of nothing. They create fear over an invisible "Republican Hate Machine" that simply doesn't exist. And by doing this, they have created true victims, people who really have suffered from these things.

Ann Coulter can be brash and unapologetic, but she is usually right. This book is her best yet, a true reveal of the insanity that goes on behind the scenes of the Democratic party. And for those of you who don't like Coulter, don't read her books. You're not going to be happy with what you see.
55 comments| 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2009
Ms. Coulter has written a very interesting and informative book about the propaganda techniques and bias of the liberal establishment media. She notes that the media often portray their favorite polticians and groups as victims when in fact they are anything but.

Some of the meida outlets examined by Ms. Coulter are columnists, who can be expected to demonstrate bias and opinion. However, much more disturbing are the propaganda techniques of the regular news media. In particular the major liberal newspapers and networks have a tendency to spotlight, investigate, and repeat over and over again any scandal, pseudo scandal, or faux pas involving conservatives and Republicans, while for the most part ignoring or at most enunciating in limited detail with minimal coverage liberal and Democratic scandals and indiscretions. Thus liberal candidates can take the high road knowing the media will do their dirty work for them. Conservative candidates can not. Thus election campaigns are often not level playing fields. This propaganda and distortion by coverage often pervades the liberal news outlets in all news as the liberal elite choose what is newsworthy and what is not.

A good example of the media bias is the coverage of the military records of the Presidential candidates in the 2004 election. CBS news actively sought and bought faked documents to discredit the military record of George Bush. In the case of John Kerry the media knowingly covered up the medal grabbing, fake action reports, fake medals, lies and egregious backstabbing of their Boston Brahmin favorite.

The New York Times accused Larry Thurlow of earning a medal for bravery in a March 13 1968 gun battle Thurlow claimed Kerry concocted. In effect the New York Times lied. There was no gun battle. Mr. Thurlow thought his medal was for helping rescue a boat disabled by a mine. There was no actual enemy fire except in Kerry's false after action report. Kerry commanded the only boat not sailing to the mined boat to help rescue the crew members. The media even tried to dispute that Kerry did not write the after action report until it was impossible to do so.

The liberal media also tried to discredit the Swift Boat Veterans narration of the truth by attaching such adjectives as unsubstantiated and slanderous to any mention of this veterans group.

This is merely one example of liberal media distortion. Ms. Coulter has engaged in a noble work to identify, substantiate, and counteract the misreporting of the liberal media. The expose of Ms. Coulter should be read by every American voter. The work is a good effective antidote to the liberal media lies, perversion and distortion.
1414 comments| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2009
Anne Coulter is abrasive, no denying that but that doesnt take away from the truth of what she writes. This is a well written book, sharp and witty. I actually laughed a few times. The chapter on unwed mothers and what they are doing to our culture and society is one of the most truthful pieces I have read about this very serious and very true problem. She may not be politically correct but political correctness does not mean it's not true. If we continue to ignore this problem it will change our society. I am glad she had the guts to write it and defend it on the round of talk shows. I look forward to more books that speak the truth without fear.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2009
Ann Coulter is either hated or loved and most opinions follow party lines. One thing you may NOT argue with any success is her research..done personally without hired news readers and copiously annotated.

The right wing attack machine, as she says, is so insidious it tells the truth about the democrat party and those who hunker down within in, hoping that their latest positions will be heeded without some fool discovering another often opposing position that they may have uttered earlier which was tailored to another situation on another day. Lies tend not to travel in straight lines.

It's that damned conservate attack machine! The NeoDems have no abilty at all when it comes to discussing issues. All that stuff they said before has been printed, recorded, archived and made available for the asking and that makes a logical discussion a losing proposition for them. Being publicly caught in a lie tends to make the NeoDems nervous. I wonder what the comparative consumption rate of Xanax is between Neo Dems and conservatives? Far easier for the NeoDems mount a frontal political assault on conservatives exercising that blasted First Ammendment by simply eliminating conservative outlets.

They don't understand why their left wing radio stations don't succeed in spite of a dozen tries by dozens of would be hosts and in spite of huge cash infusions. The wiley conservative shows pay for themselves. What kind of unfair competion is that? Ban 'em.

GeoW
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse