Start reading Guilty Wives - Free Preview: The First 23 Chapters on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Enter a promotion code
or gift card
 
 
 
Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player

 

Guilty Wives - Free Preview: The First 23 Chapters [Kindle Edition]

James Patterson , David Ellis
4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1,312 customer reviews)

Print List Price: $10.00
Kindle Price: $0.00
You Save: $10.00 (100%)
Sold by: Hachette Book Group

Big Spring Books
Editors' Picks in Spring Releases
Ready for some fresh reads? Browse our picks for Big Spring Books to please all kinds of readers.

Book Description

No husbands allowed

Only minutes after Abbie Elliot and her three best friends step off of a private helicopter, they enter the most luxurious, sumptuous, sensually pampering hotel they have ever been to. Their lavish presidential suite overlooks Monte Carlo, and they surrender: to the sun and pool, to the sashimi and sake, to the Bruno Paillard champagne. For four days they're free to live someone else's life. As the weekend moves into pulsating discos, high-stakes casinos, and beyond, Abbie is transported to the greatest pleasure and release she has ever known.

What happened last night?

In the morning's harsh light, Abbie awakens on a yacht, surrounded by police. Something awful has happened--something impossible, unthinkable. Abbie, Winnie, Serena, and Bryah are arrested and accused of the foulest crime imaginable. And now the vacation of a lifetime becomes the fight of a lifetime--for survival. GUILTY WIVES is the ultimate indulgence, the kind of nonstop joy-ride of excess, friendship, betrayal, and danger that only James Patterson can create.

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Editorial Reviews

Review

"Patterson's novels are sleek entertainment machines, the Porsches of commercial fiction, expertly engineered and lightning fast."-- Publishers Weekly

Review

PRAISE FOR JAMES PATTERSON

"The prolific Patterson seems unstoppable." (USA Today )

"James Patterson knows how to sell thrills and suspense in clean, unwavering prose." (People )

"Patterson's novels are sleek entertainment machines, the Porsches of commercial fiction, expertly engineered and lightning fast." (Publishers Weekly )

Product Details

  • File Size: 355 KB
  • Print Length: 448 pages
  • Publisher: Little, Brown and Company; 1 edition (February 15, 2012)
  • Sold by: Hachette Book Group
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B006T2KUG2
  • Text-to-Speech: Not enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #5,248 Free in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Free in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
195 of 208 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very Disappointed! March 31, 2012
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I wish I had read the other reviews before I purchased this book. It was painful to get through. I keep expecting it to get better and it never did. I am an avid reader purchasing a book at least every two weeks. This is the first review I have ever written as I am hoping this will save at least one person the money I wasted buying it. I felt the story was choppy and didn't flow at all. I found myself skipping pages speed reading them hoping that something would peek my interest, but it never happened. I forced myself to finish it and wasn't even rewarded with a clever ending. I will be very careful before purchasing another Patterson novel and will rely heavily on the reviews.
Was this review helpful to you?
214 of 229 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Guilty Wives - a short novel March 27, 2012
By A&D
Format:Hardcover
Despite being a short novel (shorter than Patterson's novels normally are...) this was another action packed thriller.
Abbie, Winnie, Serena, and Bryah plan to have a nice girls' weekend and celebrate together... however, their plans do not go so wellAbbie, Winnie, Serena, and Bryah are arrested and accused of a crime and they have to start fighting for their survival.

I do hope that the publishers will reconsider the ebook pricing because it just does not seem to be right to pay that much for a short ebook.. They would sell more if they lower the price!
Was this review helpful to you?
41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not worth the money March 30, 2012
By BW
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Very poor and not what I would expect from a book with Patterson's name on it. Don't waste your money or time on this ome.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
169 of 192 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The very worst!!! March 29, 2012
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
I have read bad Patterson novels before, but this is the absolute worst of all time. Boring, dreary, incredibly stupid, this novel should win a prize for bad writing. I just couldn't finish it and once again, feel ripped off. I guess the James Patterson of the past is gone.This book is undeserving of even one star.
Was this review helpful to you?
50 of 54 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Really bad book! April 12, 2012
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
This was in my top 10 worst books I have ever read. It was so boring I could not finish it. I also wish I had read the reviews before I purchased this book. I was generous giving this book a one rating. For those people that gave this a high rating and were raving about the book, don't believe them. I have read thousands of books and this is truly the number two worst book I have ever read.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars second worse book March 27, 2012
By Eileen
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
James Patterson should be ashamed of himself this is the most horrible book ever, can you please go back to writing less books but good one so boring. I will be more careful buying his books from now on.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Guilty Wives April 11, 2012
Format:Hardcover
I have never put down a Patterson book. I love his stories, particularly The Women's Mystery Murder Club series. Guilty Wives is way different. It starts with the outrageous situation with incredibly wealthy wives on vacation fornicating with strangers and drinking far more heavily than I've ever managed. (And I have had an hangover or two.) And then the women are in a French prison, accused of killing the French president, and subjected to all kinds of torments. It's clearly S&M based. I suspect the problem is the male co-author who has his own fantasies about women. They aren't mine! I'd truly encourage Mr. Patterson to get back on track with good, intriguing stories. Not Mr. Ellis's view of womanhood.

I look forward to Patterson's next book.
Char.....
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars catgirl April 10, 2012
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I would never have guessed James Patterson would put his name on such a predictable boring book.This story was not one of his page turning events.
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
4.0 out of 5 stars very enjoyable
Best James Patterson book I have read in a long time. Easy reading but keeps you wanting to keep going.
Published 1 day ago by Karla Elmes
5.0 out of 5 stars Great suspense just a little far fetched on her continued escape
It kept you wondering who the killer/killers were. Well written kept you reading to see what she would do next
Published 3 days ago by Joanne Buress
1.0 out of 5 stars not much ato comment about
T his book was just a partial read so i don't have much to comment about or on it. Sorry
Published 3 days ago by Amazon Customer
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read
I thought this was a good book. I thought that I didn't pay enough attention at the beginning and had to go back and reread the first few chapters after finishing. Read more
Published 3 days ago by K. COYLE
5.0 out of 5 stars So different for a James Patterson book
The book kept me on the edge of my seat. This was awesome! Just when you thought you knew what was gOing on, something else would get you
Published 5 days ago by Kiki
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book!!
A great read. I love anything James Patterson writes, I especially like that he does short chapters. Look forward to more great Kindle deals!!!
Published 5 days ago by Janet M. Ramage
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it
Awesome book! I really wasn't able to figure it out until the end. Because of short chapters, I really could not put the book down as it kept leaving me wondering what was going... Read more
Published 7 days ago by Christin
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put the book down!!!
This was my first book that I've ever read from James Patterson. I couldn't put the book down. I plan to read more of his work!!!
Published 10 days ago by Karena Knapp
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good with plot twists.
This book had a different feel than most of James Patterson's, good, fast read. I would recommend this as a good
first Patterson read to anyone.
Published 10 days ago by Sabrina Jones
4.0 out of 5 stars my first Patterson read was a good one
This was my first James Patterson book I've read. I thought it was very good. It kept me turning through pages and wanting to know what was going to happen next. Read more
Published 11 days ago by Tara
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Book Extras from the Shelfari Community

(What's this?)

To add, correct, or read more Book Extras for Guilty Wives , visit Shelfari, an Amazon.com company.


More About the Author

It is no surprise that in January, 2010, The New York Times Magazine featured James Patterson on its cover and hailed him as having "transformed book publishing," and that Time magazine hailed him as "The Man Who Can't Miss." Recently, NBC's Rock Center with Brian Williams profiled Patterson's prolific career, AARP named him one of the "50 Most Influential People Who Make Our Days a Little Brighter," and Variety featured him in a cover story highlighting his adventures in Hollywood.

In 2013, it was estimated that one-in-five of all hardcover suspense/thriller novels sold was written by James Patterson, his books have sold over 300 million copies worldwide, and he holds the Guinness record for the most #1 New York Times bestsellers of any author. And his success isn't based solely on thrillers like the perennially popular Alex Cross, Women's Murder Club and Michael Bennett series. Patterson is now also the current bestselling author in the young adult and middle grade categories.

He's been called the busiest man in publishing, and that's not just because of his own books. For the past decade, James has been devoting more and more of his time to championing books and reading. From the James Patterson Pageturner Awards, to his website ReadKiddoRead.com, to his College Book Bucks scholarships and his regular donations of hundreds of thousands of books to schools here in the states and troops overseas (see interviews on Fox & Friends, The Dennis Miller Radio Show and CNN.com), Patterson has passed on his passion of books and reading and supported those who do the same. Jim personally funded a major ad campaign re-printing a recent opinion piece on CNN.com about how it is our responsibility to get our kids reading. The ad has run in the New York Times, The New Yorker, and USA Today. Those ads are a call to action to parents to make their kids reading a top priority; and were featured by USA Today here. Patterson believes that we cannot rely on schools, teachers or the government to get our kids reading; only parents can make this crucial change in the reading habits of our kids. Here are links to some interviews on his first-ever dual lay down (two books, one for parents and one for kids, in one day): AOL's You've Got, NBC's "Today Show" with Hoda and Kathie Lee, USA Today and Family Circle, NBC's "Today Show" with Al Roker, as well as an interview with AARP.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?



Forums

Topic From this Discussion
Patterson's new book with free preview of first 23 Chapters
I wholeheartedly agree with you. I can't find the price for the remaining chapters anywhere and that seems very deceiving. I'll definately not get hooked on the first 23 without knowing the cost of the last however many chapters.
Mar 14, 2012 by R. A. heim |  See all 6 posts
Have something you'd like to share about this product?
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions

Customers Who Highlighted This Item Also Highlighted


Look for Similar Items by Category


ARRAY(0xa32075e8)