Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not the traditional tale, but still worth a look.
It definatly isn't the traditional tale. It takes quite a few little liberties some of the characters and their relations (nothing a non-obssesed Arthur fan would notice). It's a beginning story (tells about the establishment of his kingdom, not his reign and end). Unfortunatly Arthur's wonderfuly simple wisdom, royal knowledge and extreme goodness of character are...
Published on December 25, 1999 by Hank Lawson

versus
12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful Made For TV Garbage
I'm a sucker for retellings of the King Arthur legend; I've read or watched as many of them as I could, from The Mists of Avalon (great book, lousy movie) to the film Excalibur to the musical Camelot to real oddities like John Steinbeck's abortive attempt to modernize the tale and Monty Python's zany parody of it. Guinevere is thus far the most horrible, uninteresting,...
Published on September 4, 2004 by Dr. Christopher Coleman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not the traditional tale, but still worth a look., December 25, 1999
This review is from: Guinevere (DVD)
It definatly isn't the traditional tale. It takes quite a few little liberties some of the characters and their relations (nothing a non-obssesed Arthur fan would notice). It's a beginning story (tells about the establishment of his kingdom, not his reign and end). Unfortunatly Arthur's wonderfuly simple wisdom, royal knowledge and extreme goodness of character are sacraficed to give Guinevere more of the spotlight (and the credit for the kingdom). Another thing that was lost was the beautiful chemistry, tension and thrill of the incredible Lancelot-Guinevere-Arthur love triangle. That would probalbly be my greatest chritism. But it is Arthur story (and therefore practically impossible to ruin). And it's also nice to get a good look at Guinevere. I always enjoy hearing the story from her persepective. Lee's acting was rather weak, but Flannery and Whyle were superb. Take a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCEPT FOR THE STORYLINE, IT'S SO ENCHANTING, SPELLBOUND, January 3, 2000
By 
This review is from: Guinevere (DVD)
As an Asian, I have to admit that I knew barely nothing about Arthurian legend. And this " Guinevere " story could be way off traditional. The whole story puzzles me. It's the major flaw. How come Morgan LeFay adopted Lancelot and be the mentor of Guin? Later she commit incest with her half brother, Arthur. In great torment Guin gave birth to a baby, then send her away, to keep her from Morgan's witch power. ( And revenge Arthur, maybe? ). Where's the baby girl? Certainly Merlin has mention of her, once. And all the people seems to forget such a tragedy had ever happened? Arthur is a coward, even not qualify to be a man. Morgan can never dominate Lancelot's will, he's a freeman of his own. Guin was never a feminist as she claimed herself to be. She should follow her heart, never ranaway from Lancelot at first place. ( She's pretty young, not ready for accept a man, yet? ). Nobility heart is more important than nobility birth. Lancelot watch over her through an unhappily marriage. Neglect the fact that she has gave birth of another man's child. Always waiting for her to turn back. Arthur sent Lancelot to fight a unwinning battle, wish him never return, so menacing evil. When two lovers finally meet again, Guin ask Lancelot to rescue Arthur from tyrant. Gave up the great opportunity to runaway with him. Always give, ask for no reward. What a Valentine! He answers her plea, to save Arthur and disappear from her life, forever. A sentimental lament. She never deserves a noble-minded man like Lancelot. Somehow Sheryl Lee wasn't quite right as the heroine. ( I can't tell where went wrong? ). At least she's not a good match for Noah Wyle. That's how I felt.
I rate it 5 stars though actually it's not perfect, compare with those thought-provoking, life-inspiring films. Quite magnificent as a TV-Movie. A beautiful castle above in the middle of a lake. Morning fog in the woods. The grand scenery of Lithuania. Make you really crave for go back to medieval age, to live through that time. And the romantic ancient Celtic music, so breathtaking, enthralling chanting. How come Johnny Harris never release a soundtrack? You can also see cute Noah Wyle, while he was a newcomer, in his early twenties. Though he's only a supporting role, shining gem of the whole film. ( I wasn't his fan, till I watch this). All in all, It's charming and irresistible, a dream worth to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful Made For TV Garbage, September 4, 2004
This review is from: Guinevere (DVD)
I'm a sucker for retellings of the King Arthur legend; I've read or watched as many of them as I could, from The Mists of Avalon (great book, lousy movie) to the film Excalibur to the musical Camelot to real oddities like John Steinbeck's abortive attempt to modernize the tale and Monty Python's zany parody of it. Guinevere is thus far the most horrible, uninteresting, slow-paced, poorly acted, poorly scripted, ill-conceived and pointless version I've come across. I liked Sheryl Lee in Twin Peaks and Noah Wylie in ER, but here they are as wooden as Merlin's staff. In their defense the writing is appalling and plotting inane, but they and the entire supporting cast take this gorgeous, emotionally complex myth and turn it to frozen muck. It's hard to have a romantic triangle when one of the characters hardly appears--Arthur is little more than a bit part in this film. Almost nothing of the original is retained--none of Arthur's knights appear as characters and the quest for the Holy Grail is completely omitted. The climax of the film is not the ferocious battle in which Arthur is killed by his illegitimate son; that never occurs in this travesty--Guinevere and Arthur live happily ever after and Lancelot simply goes away. No, the climax occurs when Guinevere tells the 5 rebel kings that they ought to give up Arthur and be part of Britian because it's the way to insure the future of the country, and shucks, they all agree and drop their weapons--I'm not kidding. I'd like to say SOMETHING good about this movie, but I can't even complement the hair-styles! Avoid this at all costs, no matter how devout an Arthurian you may be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Should've Been Better, August 23, 2005
This review is from: Guinevere (DVD)
I watched this movie having read that it was based on Persia Woolley's Guinevere trilogy. The books were entertaining--not my favorite Arthurian story, but decent. I have no idea what happened between the writing of the screen adaptation and actual filming, but the book is unrecognizable except for the basic facts: Guinevere marries Arthur, loves Lancelot, etc. I've seen all of the main actors in other things so I know they can act, but this movie gave them so little to work with I'm not surprised by the wooden faces they have in most scenes. The costumes were terrible--a previous reviewer was right, I've seen better at a RenFaire. Cheryl Lee's short hair WAS distracting.

It's a shame that one of the few (maybe only) movies centered around Guinevere had to be so bad. Watch it if you're curious to see how bad for yourself, but remember you'll be giving up ninety-three minutes of your life to do it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cheesey but great fun!, April 20, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Guinevere [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This movie was shown once on the Lifetime channel in 1992 and has finally been released. It is the story of Camelot through Guinevere's eyes. Somewhat distorted - Lancelot and Guinevere meet at a Dark Ages "New Age" camp run by Morgan LeFay and become betrothed, Arthur "saves" Guinevere by marrying her and gets to take her virginity to boot, Guinevere has a baby girl. It's fun to see Noah Wyle before the ER rage swept the U.S. If anything, it's a bargain at $10. Buy it, you'll like it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie for the One Cent Price, October 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Guinevere (DVD)
I got this movie for one penny plus shipping. So I can't complain, but, I can critique. The script and dialogue are "stodgy". Although it took the chaaracter Guinevere in a new direction. The writers and director fell way short of anything that might be considered as clever. Filmed in the early 90's and released a decade or so later. Noah Wyle actually looked like the teen character he was playing in the opening scenes.
If you appreciate this genra and don't mind the author taking liberties with the story line.. Then it well worth the cost of shipping. If you are looking for entertainment ...I would recommend against spending much beyond what I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, December 13, 2014
By 
M. Fuller (College Grove, Tennessee United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Guinevere (DVD)
A nice movie to watch, to get the King Arthur story from a woman's view point, Guinevere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Take it or leave it, March 2, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Guinevere (DVD)
Noah Wyle is about the only one in this movie that can act. The movie itself is so-so as the story plods along on the predictable trail of the constantly retold. Watch it for Wyle's acting - his great sense of facial drama. The guy knows how to act for the camera. Then donate the DVD to the library. Once is enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Guinevere well worth seeing!, October 12, 2012
By 
Mark Dalton (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Guinevere (DVD)
Sheryl Lee is a shamefully under-appreciated actor - her work in "Twin Peaks; Fire Walk With Me" was absolutely stunning. Her work here, in this witchy retelling of the Arthurian Legend, is quite wonderful as well; powerful, Shakespearean in its approach. The Irish actress, Brid Brennan, is very scary as Morgan, high priestess of the Britons, Arthur's half-sister and sworn enemy. This is a well-made movie, quite absorbing. Fans of the legend, or of historical drama in general, should find this film enjoyable. Me, I'm a stone Sheryl Lee fan, and this is excellent work. There's so little of Sheryl available that I was delighted to find "Guinevere."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Simply Awful, May 22, 2012
This review is from: Guinevere (DVD)
The acting is very bad. The characters are completely unbelievable. The battle scene choreography is grade school theater-level and the story is uninspiring. Overall, I couldn't wait to finish it and turn it off. I didn't care what happend to the characters, they were that poorly portrayed. Don't buy this - it is a total waste of time. My copy is going into the yard sale bin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Guinevere
Guinevere by Jud Taylor (DVD - 1999)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.