Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Coffee-Table Material
"Guinness World Records 2008" doesn't have every record, by far. But we do learn how tall the tallest living man is (8' 5.5" - in the Ukraine), the most phone books torn in half within 3 minutes - 55, each 1,044 pages, the location of the largest void in deep space (700 million light years away, though the direction was not given), the most power particle accelerator...
Published on September 9, 2007 by Loyd E. Eskildson

versus
26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I miss...
I miss the old Guiness record books. The big, thick paperbacks from the 1970s and 1980s filled with words AND pictures. These new books are produced for a generation of page-flippers, not readers. And that is so disappointing.

Sure, it's a nice coffee-table book if you like those kinds of books. Many of us like books for the content, not the presentation...
Published on October 13, 2007 by Reading Junkie


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I miss..., October 13, 2007
By 
This review is from: Guinness World Records 2008 (Hardcover)
I miss the old Guiness record books. The big, thick paperbacks from the 1970s and 1980s filled with words AND pictures. These new books are produced for a generation of page-flippers, not readers. And that is so disappointing.

Sure, it's a nice coffee-table book if you like those kinds of books. Many of us like books for the content, not the presentation. Substance more than style.

I wish Guiness would offer two versions: this version for the page flippers, and a more complete, thorough book for true fans of reading about world records.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Coffee-Table Material, September 9, 2007
This review is from: Guinness World Records 2008 (Hardcover)
"Guinness World Records 2008" doesn't have every record, by far. But we do learn how tall the tallest living man is (8' 5.5" - in the Ukraine), the most phone books torn in half within 3 minutes - 55, each 1,044 pages, the location of the largest void in deep space (700 million light years away, though the direction was not given), the most power particle accelerator (located in Switzerland, 16.7 miles long and requiring 120 MW of power and 91 tons of helium cooling), the largest HDTV screen (located at a Japanese race track (37'X218'), and of course the usual largest horse, chair, chopsticks, bed, etc., etc., etc.

Those wanting to start an argument can also find out which nation has the highest proportion of prisoners (the U.S. - about 7.4X the rate of most Western nations), while those setting career goals can determine eg. how long the longest-working accountant has been on the job - 78 years. And then there's no end of sports and strength records.

So, get your copy, display it proudly on the coffee-table (it's shiny), and read it whenever you get tired of watching TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good if You're New to Gaming, April 7, 2008
Guinness World Records Gamers Edition marks Guinness's first romp into the gaming culture. The gaming culture is bigger than it's ever been before. For the casual gamer, this book is like a starter kit to getting you into the gaming scene. There's a lot of good information scattered throughout the book. However, for gaming aficionados, there's not a lot of stuff here that you probably don't know. Just the same, it's not a bad book.

By the looks of the Guinness World Records, you'd probably think right out that this was a book for the younger gamers. The page layout and design is similar to those World Almanac for Kids books that became popular among the youth. While this may bother a few other gamers, it does show that the book is very inviting.

It begins with a lengthy introduction chapter. This will show some of the highlights of 2007, including talking about some of the heavy hitting games like Halo 3, Super Mario Galaxy and Pokemon Diamond and Pearl. Again, though, if you're big on the gaming scene and you keep up with the news, this is nothing new to you. Even a lot of what they mention is stuff that has been hammered into most gamers head time and time again.

After the introduction, there is a history of gaming. This showcases everything from the Magnavox Odyssey all the way up to the current generation involving the XBOX360, Playstation 3 and Wii. Afterwards, it goes into talking about some of the more mainstream consoles on an individual basis starting with the Nintendo 64 and Gamcube and ending with PC gaming. This section may have better had the consoles been talked about in the chronological order they were released. It is, after all, a history section. At least for all the hardware it gives you all the specs and a few factoids and some trivia concerning each console. These sections are also accompanied by crystal clear screenshots. At the end of the hardware history section there is a list of the top 5 bestselling games on each console. After all this is over with, we finally get into some of the records and trivia on some of the biggest selling gaming franchises in some of the industries most popular genres.

In the Record Breaking Games section is where the book can quickly become redundant for long time gamers, but a treat for newcomers to the gaming scene. It talks of some of the most popular games in the industry such as Halo, The Legend of Zelda, Grand Theft Auto, Super Mario Bros and Sonic as well as several other franchises that have made a huge impact in the gaming industry. Each section presents a few factoids to the series. Telling you things like whether or not it was the fastest selling in the series, the number of copies the bestselling in the series, etc. Perhaps the most interesting is when it shows you speed record completions for certain games. And despite all that, it isn't quite enough for some of these franchises. They only get two pages a piece. However, there are some interesting facts presented for many of them. This portion of the book spans through out several genres. From the Action/Adventure to the Puzzle genre.

As this section progresses there are also interviews, timelines and historical dates noted. It's also is decorated to the brim with pictures and screen shots.

After all this information, you get to see them count down the 100 best arcade games and then you see charts of high scores. The book ends with an index that'll help you find anything you need.

The biggest problem with the guide is, as I said earlier, that a lot of this information is not new to the experienced gamer. Much of the sales records and trivia has become common knowledge amongst most gamers. However, for many, I'm sure there's still a lot of information that's new to them.

You couldn't possibly expect the book to cover everything. There are many books with more comprehensive history and more trivia. But for what you get with this, it's detailed. It's not the Ultimate Gamer's Manual, but it serves as a great introduction and start for anyone curious to the video gaming culture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Big,Awkward,Not Nearly The Detailed Info As The Paperbacks!, February 17, 2008
By 
This review is from: Guinness World Records 2008 (Hardcover)
I got this from my library,and was so dissapointed! The book is so big and awkward to hold,and the info is no where near as detailed as I remember the paperback editions being. They can keep their 'Glow In The Dark' issue,I'm not the least bit interested in this direction,these formerly great books are now headed.

I wouldn't want this book if it was given to me free,let alone consider buying it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The gamers bible?, March 18, 2008
No, it's not a book of biblical proportions. The Guiness Gamers Edition is actually a very slick and easy to dip into book on gaming records. However it's not all sunshine. Many of the records featured really seem to be clutching at straws and seem more like tibits of trivia than genuine world records. The whole affair seems more aimed at kids and casual gamers than longterm gamers and really if you read it cover to cover you'd be done in no time at all. I don't think its in the same league as the current heavyweights Kent's The Ultimate History of Video Games and Fox's The Video Games Guide, but I give it 3 stars for the quality of the presentation and the interesting facts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guinness has done it AGAIN says my 9 year-old son!, January 2, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Guinness World Records 2008 (Hardcover)
My nine year old son ASKED Santa for this book for Christmas and was VERY excited to get it on Christmas morning. He loves the bright red sparkly cover and immediately placed his hands around his eyes and tried to squish them to the cover to see if it "glowed in the dark."

The facts for the world records continue to be amazing and outrageous, just what any super energetic little boy wants to read and dream about in his youth. Perhaps on day I will see my son's name on one of those pages. The book is captivating, holds his rapt attention for long periods, which is difficult for almost anything to do, considering he is so impulsive, and rarely sits still for any length of time.

My son and I recommend this book for any one who has a fascination for the facts of world records that people have personally managed to accomplish over the years past and present. The ideas people have come up with to decide to do to make a world record is also fascinating and amazing, and kind of like the wild frivolous law suits of the current era most of the world records are ones I would NEVER, COULD never imagine on my own, lol!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guinness World Records 2008, January 2, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Guinness World Records 2008 (Hardcover)
At 8 and a half, my daughter is obsessed for whatever reason about this book and about 99 percent of the things in it. She keeps checking it out of her school's library so to see it wrapped up (thanks Amazon) under our tree was just exciting for her to say the least. Again, I don't know why, but this book I just have to give rave reviews because the light of my life can't get enough of it. The great colorful photos and large print adds to it all I'm pretty sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A little over the top, but still fun, November 21, 2007
By 
Steven A. Peterson (Hershey, PA (Born in Kewanee, IL)) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Guinness World Records 2008 (Hardcover)
I've been checking out "Guinness World Records" for quite awhile. Over time, the records included seem to get more and more over the top. Also, this year's version has the feature of pages that glow in the dark (although not a lot). I'm not sure what that adds? Similar question with the fancy cover. The notes say that it took over a year to develop.

On the other hand, just idly and randomly picking pages, there is a lot of fun to be had in this most recent volume. Pages 52-53: Most rattlesnakes held in mouth (you'll never guess how many!); most people kissing simultaneously (a lot); fastest accordion player. Page 93: Longest swim under ice with breath held. Pages 136-137: fastest robot jockey; oldest penguin in captivity; longest jump riding a lion.

Pages 190-191: Largest advertising billboard (in Russia, by the way); shortest radio advertisement; longest running ad campaign. Sports? A sampling from pages 244-245: Highest golf course in the world; longest putt ever recorded; most miniature golf played in 24 hours.

If you're familiar with this work, you pretty much know what to expect. If not, enjoy the experience! While one can grumble about the relevance or merit of some of the "records," overall this is another fun publication in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Flashy., January 25, 2008
By 
This review is from: Guinness World Records 2008 (Hardcover)
This is NOT the Guinness Book of World Records you bought in 1973, folks. It's awash in garish pictures and a bit short on information. Flip through it before you buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting., January 1, 2008
This review is from: Guinness World Records 2008 (Hardcover)
This book is incredibly interesting. I could read it from cover to cover if I had time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Guinness World Records 2008
Guinness World Records 2008 by Guinness World Records (Hardcover - August 7, 2007)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.