& FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
Usually ships within 5 to 7 days.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Guitar Retrospective has been added to your Cart
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Like New | Details
Sold by booboomedia
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: Bar code indicates record club.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Guitar Retrospective
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

Guitar Retrospective

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, July 18, 1995
"Please retry"
$7.95 $5.98
Audio, Cassette, July 10, 1995
"Please retry"
$14.97 & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details Usually ships within 5 to 7 days. Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.

Product Details

  • Audio CD (July 18, 1995)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Cmh Records
  • ASIN: B0000010TB
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #322,413 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. White Heat
2. High Noon
3. Loansome Road Blues
4. Bye Bye Blues
5. Cannonball Rag
6. La Marcha De Los Mexicanos
7. After you've Gone
8. Love Letters In The Sand
9. Mack The Knife
10. I'll See You In My Dreams
11. Back In The Saddle Again
12. Liza
13. Swanee
14. El Rancho Grande
15. The World Is Waiting For The Sun Rise
16. I Saw The Light
17. Dance OF The Goldenrod
18. If I Had You
19. On The Jericho Road
20. Guitar Rag

Editorial Reviews

Product Description


These 20 instrumentals are plucked from Merle Travis's association with CMH in the late 1970s and early 1980s and present the master fingerpicker in a variety of settings and styles. Travis moves from hard-driving country rags to jazz to pop to Mexican to cowboy with a consistent reverence for the integrity of the melodies and hardly a flubbed note at any speed. Travis is joined on many of the cuts by Joe Maphis, whose flat-picking style contrasts nicely with Travis's sound. Though into his 60s, Travis hardly shows any loss of dexterity, command, or flair. --Marc Greilsamer

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on July 21, 1998
Format: Audio CD
This CD includes some of the sweetest music Merle ever recorded. Not from guitar complexity but from the stand point of excellent arrangements especially on Swannee and Liza. White Heat demonstates his technical excellence in terms of lightning speed and accuracy.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?