Sell yours for a Gift Card
We'll buy it for up to $1.10
Learn More
Trade in now
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Guitar Virtuoso [4 CD]
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

Guitar Virtuoso [4 CD] Box set

1 customer review

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, Box set, November 21, 1997
"Please retry"
$599.90 $156.66

Editorial Reviews

Product Description

Just as Art Tatum could make a piano sound like an orchestra, Joe Pass could do the same with a guitar, and this four-CD distillation of his Pablo recordings features him in a variety of settings, both live and studio, solo and group, and acoustic and electric. And disc four features him as an oh-so-sympathetic accompanist for artists like Ella Fitzgerald and Sarah Vaughan. Benny Green's commentary in the booklet is a must-read, too. 63 tracks, highlighted by a frenetic Sweet Georgia Brown with Oscar Peterson and a live, 10-minute Stompin' at the Savoy !

Guitar Virtuoso distills the work Joe Pass did for Pablo records and producer Norman Granz between 1973 and 1992 into one terrific 4 CD package. Disc one culls some of his finest solo studio performances. Disc two places him in small group studio contexts, including duets with guitarist Herb Ellis, a trio with Oscar Peterson on piano and Ray Brown on bass, and a quartet with Duke Ellington on piano, Brown on bass, and Louis Bellson on drums. Disc three consists of live solo and group performances. Disc four features Pass accompanying vocalists Ella Fitzgerald and Sarah Vaughan, plus duet tracks with guitarist John Pisano, tenor saxophonist Zoot Sims, and bassist Niels-Henning Orsted Pederson. --John Swenson

Disc: 1
1. Cheek To Cheek
2. Blues For Fred/They All Laughed
3. Hight And Day
4. Here's That Rainy Day
5. Have You Met Miss Jones?
See all 17 tracks on this disc
Disc: 2
1. Relaxin' At Camarillo
2. Tenderly
3. Gee Baby, Ain't I Good To You?
4. Do Nothin' Till You Hear From Me
5. Samba De Orfeu
See all 16 tracks on this disc
Disc: 3
1. Eric's Smoozie Blues
2. Beautiful Love
3. A Time For Love
4. Tarde
5. Gentle Tears
See all 13 tracks on this disc
Disc: 4
1. You Took Advantage Of Me
2. All Too Soon
3. I Didn't Know About You
4. You Go To My Head
5. Easy Living
See all 17 tracks on this disc

Product Details

  • Audio CD (November 21, 1997)
  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Format: Box set
  • Note on Boxed Sets: During shipping, discs in boxed sets occasionally become dislodged without damage. Please examine and play these discs. If you are not completely satisfied, we'll refund or replace your purchase.
  • Label: Pablo
  • ASIN: B000000XHV
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #294,904 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful By Tweeedly Eeeedly on January 20, 2001
Format: Audio CD
Joe Pass is one of my favorite musicians and guitarists in any genre. This boxed set, while not cheap, is worth the pricetag. The sound quality and packaging are very good (a few of the cuts could have sounded better in my opinion. For example, the cuts from the "Virtuoso" album where Joe's plays an electric guitar acoustically (apparently because his amp died on the session, according to the accompanying booklet))- but the remastering makes the best of the situation). The 63 cuts in this collection are taken from 29 different albums (by my count), giving an excellent overview of Joe's talent. It should be noted that Joe played on many more albums than are represented in this set. I trust that this compilation (produced by Eric Miller; Norman Granz's partner and producer on most of Joe's original recordings) represents highlights from Joe's work. I was not familiar with most of the standards in the collection, so it is harder for me to appreciate the "melodic witticisms" that Joe brings out in them. However, I do find his sense of harmony and melody extrodinary. Joe's tone is different from most modern-day Jazz guitarists. I don't think there is a single cut where he uses an effect like Chorus. Most of the time, Joe plays the electric or nylon-string acoustic with his bare fingers. It is definitely different than say a Metheney or a Wes Montogomery sound - not better, not worse... just different. Also, he rarely seems to record with a muted tone - which seems to be in vogue these days. At first I was dissapointed that there was so much vocal music on disc four (mostly with Ella Fitzgerald), but now I admit that these are some of my favorites and they show a totally different side to Joe's playing (and Ella is fantastic... I'm now a fan of her work too!).Read more ›
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Look for Similar Items by Category

Want to discover more products? Check out this page to see more: vinyl pop