Gun Dealers' Daughter: A Novel and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
  • List Price: $24.95
  • Save: $6.84 (27%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Gun Dealers' Daughter: A ... has been added to your Cart
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Book does not appear to have been read. Cover has stickers on it. May have shelf wear and corner bumps. Eligible for FREE Super Saving Shipping! Fast Amazon shipping plus a hassle free return policy mean your satisfaction is guaranteed! Tracking number provided with every order.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Gun Dealers' Daughter: A Novel Hardcover – July 9, 2012


See all 5 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$18.11
$1.98 $0.56

"Tidewater" by Libbie Hawker
The captivating story of Pocahontas like you've never experienced it before. Learn more | See related books
$18.11 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Only 1 left in stock (more on the way). Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.


Editorial Reviews

Review

“In her brilliant new novel…Gina Apostol creates one of the most compelling characters in recent fiction….Soledad herself pieces the story together for us—of how bad turned to worse—and whatever one makes of it finally, she holds our attention to the last word with what is almost, yes, a writer’s sensibility and style....Apostol has given us a tour de force tale about late 20th century Manila, but Gun Dealers’ Daughter is also a book for our times.” (Brian Collins - LA Review of Books)

“A stunning and lyrical word-portrait of a 'martial-law baby' whose story of teenage romance and rebellion allows Apostol to braid together a wider set of issues: memory, history, language, nationalism, exile, and revolution.” (Paul Nadal - Public Books)

“Rich with emotion, reflection, and fervor, the story takes on an added element of revealing the struggles of Filipinos and women. While the narrative is strong, Apostol’s writing style—simple, poetic, and captivating at every point of Soledad’s journey—is the real draw….Reminiscent of Toni Morrison’s Paradise and Melissa P.’s The Scent of Your Breath, this book will appeal to readers of literary fiction.” (Ashanti L. White - Library Journal)

“Philippine National Book Award–winner Apostol chronicles a country in political turmoil in her vertiginous American debut. ...Poetically told...Apostol offers an intriguing and significant view of Marcos-era Philippines in this complex and feverish novel.” (Publishers Weekly)

“In Gun Dealers’ Daughter, Gina Apostol probes the hard truths of love, nationhood, and exile with crisp intelligence and subtle humor. Apostol is a fearless, stylish writer of substance and her American debut is long overdue.” (Jessica Hagedorn, author of Toxicology)

“A daring, fever dream of a novel. Gina Apostol’s writing is a substance we couldn’t once get here. Savor it, reader, now that you can.” (Alex Gilvarry, author of From the Memoirs of a Non-Enemy Combatant)

“There is Didion in the female protagonist with the fractured consciousness and there is Naipaul in the sharp portrait of a third world where revolution battles privilege, but Ms. Apostol performs her own unique alchemy: she fuses poetic language with a thriller story to create a mesmerizing slow-burn of a book.” (Han Ong)

“Gina Apostol's novel is just what literature needed. Fresh, funny, irreverent, it won me over immediately.” (Gary Shteyngart, author of Super Sad True Love Story)

About the Author

Gina Apostol won the Philippine National Book Award for her first two novels, Bibliolepsy and The Revolution According to Raymundo Mata. She lives in New York City and western Massachusetts.
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 304 pages
  • Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company (July 9, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0393062945
  • ISBN-13: 978-0393062946
  • Product Dimensions: 5.9 x 0.9 x 8.6 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 2.5 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (7 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,368,967 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By Bookbin on July 9, 2012
Format: Hardcover
This book is so many things. On the one hand the story itself is something of a puzzle. Part of the tension is in figuring out what exactly is going on. But it's also an historical story of US-Philippine relations, and thus a political one that has relevance when looking at the US's current foreign policy. At heart though, it's a young woman's coming of age but a devastating one in the end. Though a challenging, thought provoking story the prose itself is so fluid that I found myself quickly into the first quarter of the book. Highly recommended, particularly for fans of Curtis Sittenfeld, Nabokov, and Banville.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Bookworm on July 10, 2012
Format: Hardcover
While I previously knew next to nothing about Filipino history, Apostol's novel was enlightening and engrossing. The parallels of political unrest with the age-old unrest of teenage girlhood meshed perfectly to create a richly complex drama. Themes of memory and history (both stories we tell ourselves and each other) were particularly resonant, and it made me think of these in relation to ourselves, and what roles we are cast in those stories.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Henry David Clarke on October 15, 2013
Format: Hardcover
The rare book that is many things at once, Gun Dealer's Daughter is an engaging portrait of a fabulous character, a fascinating look inside another culture, and a linguistic tour-de-force. It's personal, political, fast, and terrific.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Amazon Customer on June 27, 2013
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Enjoyed reading this. Insight into revolutionary movement in the Phillipines, gun trade, rich & poor. Took awhile to get into the book, but overall very satisfying.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
Gun Dealers' Daughter: A Novel
This item: Gun Dealers' Daughter: A Novel
Price: $18.11
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com