Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Qty:1
  • List Price: $24.95
  • Save: $4.12 (17%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
Gun Dealers' Daughter has been added to your Cart
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: This item is gently used in good or better condition. If it is a textbook it may not have supplements. It may have some moderate wear and possibly include previous owner's name, some markings and/or is a former library book. We ship within 1 business day and offer no hassle returns. Big Hearted Books shares its profits with schools, churches and non-profit groups throughout New England. Thank you for your support!
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Gun Dealers' Daughter Hardcover – July 9, 2012

4.4 out of 5 stars 7 customer reviews

See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$20.83
$4.00 $0.01

Best Books of the Month
See the Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.
$20.83 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Only 1 left in stock (more on the way). Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.


Editorial Reviews

Review

“In her brilliant new novel…Gina Apostol creates one of the most compelling characters in recent fiction….Soledad herself pieces the story together for us―of how bad turned to worse―and whatever one makes of it finally, she holds our attention to the last word with what is almost, yes, a writer’s sensibility and style....Apostol has given us a tour de force tale about late 20th century Manila, but Gun Dealers’ Daughter is also a book for our times.” (Brian Collins - LA Review of Books)

“A stunning and lyrical word-portrait of a 'martial-law baby' whose story of teenage romance and rebellion allows Apostol to braid together a wider set of issues: memory, history, language, nationalism, exile, and revolution.” (Paul Nadal - Public Books)

“Rich with emotion, reflection, and fervor, the story takes on an added element of revealing the struggles of Filipinos and women. While the narrative is strong, Apostol’s writing style―simple, poetic, and captivating at every point of Soledad’s journey―is the real draw….Reminiscent of Toni Morrison’s Paradise and Melissa P.’s The Scent of Your Breath, this book will appeal to readers of literary fiction.” (Ashanti L. White - Library Journal)

“Philippine National Book Award–winner Apostol chronicles a country in political turmoil in her vertiginous American debut. ...Poetically told...Apostol offers an intriguing and significant view of Marcos-era Philippines in this complex and feverish novel.” (Publishers Weekly)

“In Gun Dealers’ Daughter, Gina Apostol probes the hard truths of love, nationhood, and exile with crisp intelligence and subtle humor. Apostol is a fearless, stylish writer of substance and her American debut is long overdue.” (Jessica Hagedorn, author of Toxicology)

“A daring, fever dream of a novel. Gina Apostol’s writing is a substance we couldn’t once get here. Savor it, reader, now that you can.” (Alex Gilvarry, author of From the Memoirs of a Non-Enemy Combatant)

“There is Didion in the female protagonist with the fractured consciousness and there is Naipaul in the sharp portrait of a third world where revolution battles privilege, but Ms. Apostol performs her own unique alchemy: she fuses poetic language with a thriller story to create a mesmerizing slow-burn of a book.” (Han Ong)

“Gina Apostol's novel is just what literature needed. Fresh, funny, irreverent, it won me over immediately.” (Gary Shteyngart, author of Super Sad True Love Story)

About the Author

Gina Apostol won the Philippine National Book Award for her first two novels, Bibliolepsy and The Revolution According to Raymundo Mata. She lives in New York City and western Massachusetts.
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE


Product Details

  • Hardcover: 304 pages
  • Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company (July 9, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0393062945
  • ISBN-13: 978-0393062946
  • Product Dimensions: 5.9 x 0.9 x 8.6 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 2.5 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (7 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,545,010 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Hardcover
This book is so many things. On the one hand the story itself is something of a puzzle. Part of the tension is in figuring out what exactly is going on. But it's also an historical story of US-Philippine relations, and thus a political one that has relevance when looking at the US's current foreign policy. At heart though, it's a young woman's coming of age but a devastating one in the end. Though a challenging, thought provoking story the prose itself is so fluid that I found myself quickly into the first quarter of the book. Highly recommended, particularly for fans of Curtis Sittenfeld, Nabokov, and Banville.
Comment 5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
While I previously knew next to nothing about Filipino history, Apostol's novel was enlightening and engrossing. The parallels of political unrest with the age-old unrest of teenage girlhood meshed perfectly to create a richly complex drama. Themes of memory and history (both stories we tell ourselves and each other) were particularly resonant, and it made me think of these in relation to ourselves, and what roles we are cast in those stories.
Comment 2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
This slow-searing thriller is lyrical, inspired, and absorbing. Gun Dealers' Daughter is fairly representative of Gina Apostol's poetic, extremely well-crafted style. Her other works - particularly Bibliolepsy: A novel (Philippine writers series)(a book that is a lot harder to find but a great read) - have similar qualities, but read this one first for a sense of her top-notch writing. I started reading this book one morning and I could barely put it down.
Comment 1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
The rare book that is many things at once, Gun Dealer's Daughter is an engaging portrait of a fabulous character, a fascinating look inside another culture, and a linguistic tour-de-force. It's personal, political, fast, and terrific.
Comment 1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
Gun Dealers' Daughter
This item: Gun Dealers' Daughter
Price: $20.83
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com
Want to discover more products? Check out this page to see more: kids trench coat