Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grand theft auto: spaghetti western
That basically sums up this unrequited gem from the dawn of the 360. After picking this up for just over ten dollars, I was pleasantly surprised to find its incredibly fun. Granted, I played this on easy, for when I see a listing of easy, normal, hard, and insane, I read rather no frustration, some frustration, frustration, and homicidal rage primer. Even on easy this...
Published on April 17, 2009 by Brian Long

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good deal at bargain bin prices
Picked this up at a big box electronic retailer for 16 bucks. At that price, it is worth it. I'm glad I didn't pay 50 or 60 bucks for it when it was new, as full priced games like Gears of War and Forza 2 really put the quality of this work to shame.

However: at this price it's a fun, mindless little distraction from your better, more expensive games. Bored...
Published on July 16, 2007 by gram parsons


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grand theft auto: spaghetti western, April 17, 2009
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Gun - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
That basically sums up this unrequited gem from the dawn of the 360. After picking this up for just over ten dollars, I was pleasantly surprised to find its incredibly fun. Granted, I played this on easy, for when I see a listing of easy, normal, hard, and insane, I read rather no frustration, some frustration, frustration, and homicidal rage primer. Even on easy this managed to be challenging at points.

You play Cole, a hunter by trade. After your father and you drop off your latest chops to a steamboat, the boat is ambushed by a fake preacher and a detachment of confederate holdouts. After your father is killed, you run to Dodge City at his instruction, carrying a silver token that earns you a deathmark. The story follows like a fairly decent western as you try to unravel your fathers history and the plot of a rogue confederate general.

Along the way, you play cards, hunt wild game, scalp bandits(or innocents), chase down outlaws, and serve as a dodge city deputy. All of these serve to increase stats and supply you with cash for gun upgrades and other improvements. Combat is incredibly fast, and while you can easily be overwhelmed by the materialization of a dozen brigands, your matrix like quick draw powers can easily even the score, and the mechanic is theatrical enough to not ever lose its charm. Sneaking and other non-combat mechanics are rather lame and overly useless, but you'll not really notice. Voices and characters are detailed and engaging, and several voices are perfect for there parts, and despite the main character failing to impersonate Roland Deschain or Clint Eastwood, you'll find yourself rooting for him all the same.

Not much replay value, unless you're a diehard gamerpointer and enjoy frustration, but its a fun experience, an easy 900-ish gamer points, and a story that'll make you smile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game , so many different elements are done masterfully., September 4, 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Gun - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Loved this game, people say its short but thats because there is no filler. Th story moves along at a good pace. Alot of really good gaming moments in this. Also not that it is a big deal, but the voice acting is superb. It helps the story so much. I love this game and I can see me playing it again. I can play good games over and over, with maybe a small break. Ths is one of my favorite games on the 360. Such great style. Musc = very good, voice acting = never seen better in a game, Gunplay = entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Gem!, January 8, 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Gun - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I played Gun years ago on ps2 and it was one of my favorite titles on that console. A lot has changed in the gaming world since Gun was released in 2005, however this game is still on my personal top 5 list of Xbox 360 games out there. Gun is very deep and has a great story line. It also offers a lot of extra features like side missions, etc. I still have just as much fun playing Gun as I do playing Red Dead Redemption. You will not be disappointed with this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A welcome addition to my xbox360 collection., July 16, 2006
By 
Peter (Vestal, NY USA) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Gun - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Gun for Xbox 360, while not outstanding, is a solid game that delivers a well-written story, memorable characters, and addictive gameplay.

The story, which is full of betrayal, revenge, and Wild West panache and style, will motivate you to play through to the end. In it, you are Colton White, son of Ned White, a hunter and trapper with a secret he needs to tell you. But before he can, he is mortally wounded in a ferryboat massacre; as he dies, he bequeaths to you a mysterious token and instructions to present it to a person he knows in another town. The ferryboat is about to explode, and with his last ounce of strength he pushes you off the side into the river. As you call out to your father right before you lose consciousness, his last words to you are, "Damn it, I'm not your father."

The voice-acting is top notch, featuring Thomas Jane, Kris Kristofferson, Ron Perlman, and Lance Hendricksen. The in-game cutscenes show off this talent well with excellent motion capture, and you really feel emotion from the characters, who at times seem uncanny.

The game is set up as a GTA-style open sandbox world with story missions that move you through the game, and side missions you can take to improve your stats and have fun. The only problem with this is the size of the world, which is commensurate with the short length of the main story(maybe seven or eight hours). There aren't as many things to do in the world as it seems there should be.

The gameplay is third-person shooting with a nice variety of weapons, very similar to that in Red Dead Revolver by Rockstar, and quite fun. The horse riding mechanic is easy and fun, as well.

Neversoft has the basics down really well, but missed a few details here and there (for example, poor animation of the wild animals in the game world). And the graphics, while superior to other console versions, do not fully utilize the resources the 360 makes available. Overall, this is a good game that, given more development time to polish things up more and a larger scope, could have been truly great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good deal at bargain bin prices, July 16, 2007
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Gun - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Picked this up at a big box electronic retailer for 16 bucks. At that price, it is worth it. I'm glad I didn't pay 50 or 60 bucks for it when it was new, as full priced games like Gears of War and Forza 2 really put the quality of this work to shame.

However: at this price it's a fun, mindless little distraction from your better, more expensive games. Bored with Gears? Tired of racing? Gun's a nice, inexpensive way to get some shooting action in. Not as complicated as some of the other shooters out there.

I'm just sorry for the folks who bought it full price at launch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game, January 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gun - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Classic shooter set in the wild west. You will see better games but for its day it is the top.
complexity 3/5
graphics 4/5
bots 2/5
gameplay 4/5
story 3/5
overall 4.5/5
age: 10+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mediocre run 'n' gun shooter in need of improvement, June 5, 2007
By 
Pa4d (Jacksonville, FL USA) - See all my reviews
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Gun - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Western games, it's one of the genres we rarely see in video games, and it's one of my personal favorites. Anyway, when I finally got my 360, about 5 months after it came out, GUN was #1 on my rental list, because I wasn't sure about it. The game was practically no where to be found in Blockbuster or Hollywood Video. So I ended up buying it. GUN was a great game...before I beat it the following day.
Basically, you play as Montana hunter Colton White who he and his father Ned hut game, until one day the steam boat they were traveling was ambushed by renegades. Before Ned was killed in the attack, he told Colt that "He ain't his father", and then threw him off the boat. Now Colt is on a quest for vengeful justice. That's basically the whole story in a nut shell. And now Pros & Cons

-THE GOOD-Free roaming old west: good graphics: horse back riding and combat: loads of different, interesting side missions: realistic western age weapons: perfect voice overs: "QUICKDRAW"-a feature that allows you to slow down time and accurately take out multiple enemies at once: virtually no learning curve: save anywhere

-THE BAD-Enemies can almost kill you in a couple shots: Just how unoriginal and stereotypical is this story?: The graphics look good, only from a last-gen perspective: A bit short: overly gory and messy for a game of this genre: boss battles are basically the same, shoot them full of lead until they die

-THE UGLY-Worst free-roaming game ever, the area is like a small, free roaming path: What? No classic western Standoffs like in Red Dead Revolver? Music is cheap: A casual gamer can beat this game 100% in about 3 to 4 days: Story is seriously derived: Why is that my pistols have infinite ammo, but my rifle, sharp shooter, shotgun, and bow do not? Absolutely, positively no multiplayer what so ever

I really wish I rented this game when I had the chance. Now I'm just playing it to unlock the achievements, then after that, trade it or sell it. If you have a PS2/PS3, Xbox, or a 360 that can play Xbox games, try out Red Dead Revolver. I found that game a lot more satisfying than GUN (plus it has mulitplayer, Standoffs, and a cooler name for the slow-motion feature, Dead Eye). GUN is a definite rent.

NOTE TO PARENTS: This game is seriously not for children, it's more bloody than a SAW film, there are many sexual references, some gambling is involved, and the characters curse and swear constantly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gun - Worth the Money, December 6, 2005
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Gun - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I just spent about an hour watching a friend play Gun for the XBOX 360. Then i got to play for a few hours. While it is disappointing for the graphics not to be better on the new system, i think we all need to remember that this game was not designed or built specificly for the 360. As with all new systems, it takes a few games before designers are even beginning to tap the potential of new hardware.

This game is downright FUN! While it is indeed too short (only about 5 hours or so) if you just play through the story mode, but if you do the side missions and actually care about completeing a game, then GUN is a great buy. You can spen hours alone playing in the card games to earn money for upgrades and such. Also, while the first few bounty missions are extremely simple, they do get harder, and if you try to "subdue" rather than just kill to get extra money it can indeed be challenging at times. The graphics, while not designed for 360, are still very good. The attention to detail is great, when you shoot a guy in the head a piece of his skull will fly off from the side you shoot him on, meaning there are numerous different death or wounding patterns to see and make happen. My favorite from a few minutes ago was shooting a guy in the side of his head and having his eye fly from the socket. Overall I would buy this game, because i am willing to spend the time completeing the game and exploring it for all it is. In fact, i'm going to go out and get it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One most awsome Western games out!, November 17, 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Gun - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I'm really into history with the wild west and all so When i first played this game i was hooked, it has a great story line,one of the best parts about this game is, in order to keep your health meter up you have to drink whiskey, most of the time when i was playing this game my dad was watching me, he thought it was a great game and was very exciting, i mean come on if your dad enjoys watching you play this game you know it's good right. but like most games it does have it's flaws, there's only 2 towns you go through, i wish there could have been more western towns and duel combats with outlaws, and the free roaming areas are small so that was a big down fall for the game, and also the most upsetting thing was how short the game was, i was playing it for like 8-10 hours straight then i was done all of a sudden, and when you finish the game 100% you get a cannon rifle gun, i mean come on whats the use of having a badass cannon gun when you can't use them against the enemies that you already have beaten.
other than that GREAT GREAT game. an easy 4.5 out of 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Things I like about Gun!, September 22, 2009
By 
C. Coco "stikbowyer" (Moscow Mills, MO USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gun - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I am into action shooter games and Westerns, and this is a good mix of both of those things. It has some of the best voice acting I have ever heard in a game. To me the game play is solid as a rock. I have never played a game where the horse was an intrigal part of the game, the sheer amount of ways you can maneuver the horse. You can use it in combat, and it beats walking from town to town. I was impressed with the different types of weapons I could use, and the fact that they had some historic accuracy to them. Aside from the main storyline, you can participate in lots of activities, like playing poker, being a bounty hunter, or even riding for the pony express. It keeps the game interesting and more fun. I am glad I purchased it and it is still high on my list of favorite games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Gun - Xbox 360
Gun - Xbox 360 by Activision Inc. (Xbox 360)
$49.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.