Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


105 of 114 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Focused and persuasive
The best praise that I could give to Gunning for God: A Critique of the New Atheism, is that it would be difficult even for its staunchest critic not to admit that it lands some pretty accurate blows.

Lennox confines his focus in the book to a few central distortions of the science and religion debate, not attempting in this book alone to provide either a...
Published on October 8, 2011 by Mr. Stephen N. Driscoll

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars I would love to see conclusive evidence for God
You cannot create a theory based on a belief. Evidence is necessary. There is no compelling evidence for God. We can believe in God, which I do (although my belief would surely anger a Christian or Hindu or Islamic fundamentalist); but we cannot prove that God exists.

Science is not "gunning" for God. As a scientist, I would love to see conclusive...
Published 16 hours ago by Lee H. Larue


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

105 of 114 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Focused and persuasive, October 8, 2011
This review is from: Gunning for God: Why the New Atheists are Missing the Target (Paperback)
The best praise that I could give to Gunning for God: A Critique of the New Atheism, is that it would be difficult even for its staunchest critic not to admit that it lands some pretty accurate blows.

Lennox confines his focus in the book to a few central distortions of the science and religion debate, not attempting in this book alone to provide either a comprehensive defence of theism or a comprehensive refutation of New Atheism.

Lennox begins by arguing that science is compatible with faith, and indeed that science provides evidence for theistic belief.

He then addresses several popular misconceptions of the history of the relationship between science and faith, and between faith and violence. Lennox considers possible links between atheism and violence, before concluding that both worldviews are sufficient soil, capable of sowing the seeds of hatred.

The author next presents Hume's `is-ought' problem, applied to materialistic morality. If the universe is only composed of matter, as the popular argument goes, then all we can say about anything, is that it `is.' We cannot derive morality, which relies on `oughts' out of what simply `is.' If the universe just `is,' morality needs redefining.

Lennox then defends the biblical God against two charges, 1. that His behaviour in the Old Testament is tyrannical, and, 2. that the biblical picture of Jesus dying for our sins as a substitute, is immoral.

He argues that miracles are not ruled out by the laws of nature, and that belief in such events is not necessarily evidence of insanity.

Finally, the author presents the classic historical arguments for the resurrection of Jesus.

In two-hundred and thirty pages, he covers a lot, and he does it with clear prose and good humour. I've now read all but one of John's books. He is one of the most well considered voices in this debate, and I appreciate his opinions immensely.

After reading both Richard Dawkins' The God Delusion and this response recently, I have to conclude that Lennox is winning this fascinating discussion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best; "peer reviewed" and "anti-peer reviewed" for accuracy!, November 14, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gunning for God: Why the New Atheists are Missing the Target (Paperback)
After reading and enjoying Prof. Lennox' book "7 Days that Changed the World" I was moved to purchase his other books including "Gunning for God." When someone has been teaching and touring colleges around the world for so many years as he has, giving this information as discourses to so many college youth that typically asked him questions afterwards, Prof Lennox' thoughts are better than "peer reviewed", they are "anti-peer reviewed"! Prof Lennox debated many including Dawkins, Hitchens and many big name scientists, his thinking has been refined with the strongest opposition and holds up all the better for it. His research and what he writes in his book can be read with utmost confidence as far as accuracy is concerned.

He finds most youth doesn't give true scientific unbiased consideration toward the reality of God, especially looking at both sides of the scientific coin. He notes that there are many most-educated scientists that do believe in God and even the Bible. He explains how God and science are most certainly compatible. He delves into distinguishing between Christendom and true followers of the peace-promoting Messiah; Is God really as bad as some portray him, and how miracles don't break scientific laws but can actually utilize them. He presents an abundance of surprising and historical evidence to endorse the historicity of the Bible, Jesus and even his resurrection, many things I've not been aware of myself!

Prof Lennox is always polite, pointed and has something of interest in nearly every paragraph. The brief 240 page book is packed with a most clear, intellectual and scientific point of view. An excellent read for atheists and believers alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helpful book, September 1, 2012
By 
Jason Harris (Cairns, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gunning for God: Why the New Atheists are Missing the Target (Paperback)
This book addresses a particular subset of Atheists--the self-styled New Atheists such as Dawkins, Harris, Hitchens, and Hawking. Lennon, an Oxford Mathematician, is generally quite methodical in his critique of the New Atheism, though it would be a mistake to conclude that he does not play to win. He points out that what makes the New Atheists new is not their arguments, but rather their aggression which he points out in Hitchens' statement "Religion poisons everything." In other words, the New Atheists are not content to deny the existence of God; rather, they intend to demonstrate that religion is not only a force for evil, but is the primary source of evil in the world.

Lennox sets a foundation for the discussion by shooting down some popular--and childish--misconceptions about how theists approach science and reason. He then goes on to address the idea that religion is poisonous, demonstrating that this generalisation steps well beyond the limits of the reasonable. He then turns the tables by asking the question "Is Atheism poisonous?" A brief discussion of Hitler, Stalin, and Lenin is followed by an attempt to demonstrate the dogmatic fundamentalism of the New Atheism, for instance quoting Sam Harris: "Some propositions are so dangerous that it may even be ethical to kill people for believing them." He goes on to address the issue of morality, the nature of God, and miracles. Lennox closes the book with a chapter on the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead asking questions about history that no reasonable person can ignore and that the New Atheists can't answer.

THE UPS

First, this book is well written, logically sound, and profoundly credible. Lennox speaks from an academic standing that cannot be laughed off, and with a simple clarity that cannot be brushed aside. Indeed, Lennox has publicly debated both Dawkins and Hitchens with gratifying results.

Second, Lennox approaches this topic with an admirable moderation. There are times when his sarcasm is a bit too much, and he certainly isn't afraid to go for the jugular when the argument requires, but in general his style is level and reasonable, not raucous or shrill.

Third, being a Mathematician, Lennox's use of logic is forceful often leaving one embarrassed for his opponents. While there are certainly credible Atheists making reasonable arguments, Lennox exposes the New Atheists for the intellectually infantile muckrakers they are.

Fourth, Lennox handles the gospel well, even leading me through tears and laughter in that chapter--no small feat for a book on apologetics! The reader is confronted with the historical person of Jesus Christ and the response he demands is pressed.

THE DOWNS

First, Lennox is no theologian. That is no slight on him per se, but it does mean that his handling of theological issues is not as strong as it could be in some places.

Second, the above comment is reflected in how Lennox handles this topic. His arguments are rarely primarily theological. There is not even an emphasis on philosophy (both key arenas for this discussion traditionally). His emphasis on science and reason, while somewhat unfortunate from some perspectives, perhaps makes the book more accessible to the average reader.

Third, epistemologically, Lennox seems to lean toward a fideistic evidentialism, but without the presuppositional approach to apologetics that I would argue for. This, perhaps, reflects his lack of emphasis on theology and philosophy.

CONCLUSION

Gunning for God is a good book. It should be helpful to believers either wanting to refute the New Atheism or to settle doubts. It is also suited for New Atheists who honestly want to understand the arguments against their position.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John Lennox dissecting the arguments of the New Atheists, October 7, 2011
By 
rossuk (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gunning for God: Why the New Atheists are Missing the Target (Paperback)
I first met John Lennox through his two debates with Dawkins; he was OK but not brilliant, but I was surprised just how bad Dawkins arguments were. Then I got his book God's Undertaker which was excellent, in that book he deals with the science issues in the current debate with the New Atheists.

Then he published a short but stinging critique of Stephen Hawking's book (The Grand Design), who has now thrown his hat in with the New Atheists.

In this book Lennox also deals with the arguments of the New Atheists. It is based on his lectures/debates in the past few years. This book will be hated by the New Atheists and loved by Theists. The New Atheists have very loud mouths; but very poor arguments. Lennox continues to dissect their arguments in this book. Chapter headings are:

1. Are God and faith enemies of reason and science?
2. Is religion poisonous?
3. Is Atheism poisonous?
4. Can we be good without God?
5. Is the God of the bible a despot?
6. Is the atonement morally repellent?
7. Are miracles pure fantasy?
8. Did Jesus rise from the dead?
9. Final reflections.

The book is also endorsed by Alvin Plantinga, a leading Christian philosopher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I think Lennox has something to add to the discussion, August 18, 2012
By 
John (New Orleans, LA, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gunning for God: Why the New Atheists are Missing the Target (Paperback)
I love the good humor and intellectual vigor of Lennox. Sections of this book are well written, documented and based on good reasoning. Most note worthy to me was his section on faith and reason, his balanced historical reflections and his response to Stephen Hawkin's book Grand Design. Towards the end of the book, he showed several problems with David Hume's argument against miracles. I do think Lennox has something to add to the discussion. Atheist I think really are missing the mark in some regards, so it would be beneficial for them to consider some of Lennox's thoughts and then refine their argument in order to make it stronger. Its been good for me to recognize the straw-men arguments I've created, due to my ignorance and not understanding the other-side, I know I've miss the target plenty and I am in the process of adjusting as I gradually get a better grasp of what atheist truly believe.

I was disappointed with Lennox' dealings with theological and biblical problems concerning Christianity and thus I gave it a 4 star rating rather then a 5. I am afraid that the atheist's gripe over Old Testament morality, the doctrine of original sin and the atonement do carry some weight. Lennox response didn't satisfy me in the least, Christians have more work to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, February 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gunning for God: Why the New Atheists are Missing the Target (Paperback)
I watched John Lennox debate Richard Dawkins on youtube. I decided it was worth taking a look at what the man has written. I really enjoyed the book and his humble style. It's a great starting point when looking at the issues of the so-called "new" atheism. It is very informative and helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Accurate, Concise, and Penetrating, August 18, 2012
This review is from: Gunning for God: Why the New Atheists are Missing the Target (Paperback)
This book by Dr. Lennox is directed right at the New Atheists and their bold claims about the non-existence of God. Dr. Lennox does a great job of utilizing quotes from both the atheists and theists without taking either out of context. I own many of Dr. Lennox's books and highly recommend him for any serious apologist. As a medical student nothing intrigues me more than science,reason, and faith; Dr. Lennox is amongst the best in all 3 categories. Dr. Lennox is persuasive and deliberate in all his arguments, and his status as an elite intellectual helps his cause even more. Buy this book and many others from Dr. Lennox...you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John Lennox is my new favorite apologist., March 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gunning for God: Why the New Atheists are Missing the Target (Paperback)
Being a mathematician in a secular university, John Lennox brings a different perspective than someone only trained in theology in his response to the new atheists. His book is very readable. He does not build a straw man that he tears down. He is thoughtful and thought provoking. He has become my new favorite apologist. I have purchased some of his other books also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John Lennox, Gunning for God, March 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gunning for God (Kindle Edition)
Lennox is a breath of fresh air! He's one of an increasing number of well-educated believers in God who can articulately state the case for rational belief. I like everything I've read by him. His debates with Richard Dawkins are worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful - a must read, October 15, 2012
By 
Taylor (United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gunning for God: Why the New Atheists are Missing the Target (Paperback)
John Lennox outlines the positions fairly so the reader can truly understand the issues; a courtesy not offered in many books on the subject. This is the best and most complete rebuke of the new atheists' arguments that I have read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Gunning for God: Why the New Atheists are Missing the Target
Gunning for God: Why the New Atheists are Missing the Target by John C. Lennox (Paperback - October 1, 2011)
$14.95 $12.53
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.