Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 150+hrs in...
And this has long since become one of the most engaging and intense multiplayer titles I've ever picked up.

But, this isn't for your usual CoD player. This is for the player who likes to focus on teamwork and coordination. The Battlefield series touches into this in some ways but not to the degree that Guns of Icarus Online takes it. In GoIO, you either work...
Published 16 months ago by NC

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok. Fans of Steampunk will maybe enjoy
The overwhelmingly positive reviews here feel a bit overwrought. The game IS developing, I will afford them that, but it's only just ok at his point.

Here is a review that might better extrapolate me sentiments:
[...]

Worth a try if it's your bag, but not all that the other reviewers might lead you to believe. Not quite yet.
Published 9 months ago by Keram


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 150+hrs in..., March 13, 2013
This review is from: Guns of Icarus Online [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
And this has long since become one of the most engaging and intense multiplayer titles I've ever picked up.

But, this isn't for your usual CoD player. This is for the player who likes to focus on teamwork and coordination. The Battlefield series touches into this in some ways but not to the degree that Guns of Icarus Online takes it. In GoIO, you either work together or you die together.

For starters you are given three classes to choose from. Pilot, engineer, or gunner. All three roles can be interchanged mid battle should the need arise but they won't be as specialized in the role due to extra tools each class gets over the other. It doesn't take long to get good at one or the other, but it will take experience. The best pilots in the game only get there by learning from others and by learning the limits of each ship (there are six by the way). The best engineers likewise only get there by learning what tools to use and when to use them. Gunners are perhaps the only class in game which requires mostly the skills you bring to the game (a good aim), but it is more than that. A good gunner knows what ammo to use and when to use it. They transition between guns and along the way help repair when needed.

It is a punishing game if you think within the box of your class. Gunners and pilots do not come with the tools to do heavy repairs but need to be able to help if a ship is under heavy fire. Engineers need to not only keep an eye on the repairs but also on ships approaching. Giving call outs and in a moment, hopping on a gun to deal critical damage to an enemy ship. Pilots are very much the orchestrators of everything.

So hopefully that is an idea of the intensity matches can get. Each ship has a crew of four players. If one person is not working together, but sitting on a turret or does not understand what they need to repair...that ship can be easily obliterated by opposing ships.

Matches can be very one sided because of this, and then they can be very tense and tough battles other times. I've been in fights where we were down by 3 or 4 kills and came back and won because our ships regrouped and changed our attack plan. The other team couldn't adjust and we went one after another picking their ships off.

The community is one of the friendliest and will help new players grasp the concepts. So if all of that just terrified you, don't. Come on in and fly with us!

But despite how grand that all seems, do not forget that this game is an indie title. It is not a big budget dev putting it out. With that comes advantages as well as disadvantages. The developers are very friendly and responsive but the game has it's bugs. Some are annoying, some aren't. However, when you consider the bugs with the level of gameplay it makes the bugs seem so small that they stop mattering as much.

The game is beautiful and the immersion is fantastic. It is clear this title is a labor of love and what is fantastic is...it stemmed from a simple idea. The devs who played Battlefield saw the vehicle concept there and saw how one could create an entire game around just that. Which is why I note earlier, BF comes close but not to the degree of this. In BF vehicles are fun but there is not always an emphasis on working together to crew a tank or helicopter. It often times comes down to people just using vehicles as a means of quick travel.

In the end, I regret not buying this title sooner. I waited on it, didn't give it much of a look other than a glance. Then finally on a Steam sale I jumped. Now I'm over 150hrs into the game and can't put it down. I really urge new people checking this out to give Guns a shot. It isn't a perfect game, but the gameplay is beyond what you'll ever get from the big studios who only make things for money. The potential for it in the future is wonderful and it keeps getting better.

See you in the skies!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most socially intensive game out there., July 10, 2013
This review is from: Guns of Icarus Online [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Guns of Icarus Online was a risky venture for Muse Games. Tired of the control investors took over their products, they shed the political shackles and got down to making the game of their dreams. It turned out incredibly well for the rest of us.

You are a gunner, and engineer or a pilot onboard the airship of your choosing. You will do battle against other airships for control of points, or for total destruction of the opposing team. This job is best done with a crew of four human players, and because of this, the in-game community is very interesting. Veteran players spin up new players on the job, barking commands over their headsets and showing them the ropes. Veteran teams work together like a well oiled machine, producing some of the most exciting player versus player matches out there.

The competitive scene is very intense, with multiple clans fighting it out for bragging rights in various tournaments set up by the community. The developers of the game are known to join in on these matches, as well as casual matches throughout the week. This is one of the few games in which you can actually count on meeting the entire development staff in game at some point, flying with, and even befriending them as you go.

The Devs are extremely well integrated into the community and will not only shoot the breeze with you on the forums, but will actually listen and implement change on occasion if a good idea is tossed their way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very addictive team-based combat, April 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Guns of Icarus Online [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
I'm in love with this game, so, sadly, my only review of it would be biased. If you are interested in playing, look up some gameplay footage to see if it strikes your fancy.

A team of four crewmembers all get on the same ship: one person pilots, and the other three can either be a gunner or engineer. While all three roles- pilot, gunner, engineer- have specific jobs, they are not barred from pulling double duty. All players get one special tool per role, and an extra tool for their specialization; the pilot gets two extra tools that influence the ship's movement, the gunner gets two extra ammo types when using guns, and the engineer can get two extra repair items. However, this also means that the pilot gets one engineer tool and one ammo type, etc. etc. This sort of relationship between members keeps the game fresh, because many different strategies can be put into play. For example, an engineer could shoot a gun, and repair everything he needs in the area, or a pilot can start repairing while his ship flies on cruise control.

The community is very nice, as well. There are several 'Community Ambassadors' that were picked as volunteers to act as mediators to problems and moderators of the forums. Most, if not all, questions relating to game problems or aspects of the game will be answered very quickly if asked.

The game's lobby has three different chat types: One to your crew, one to your team, and one to the entire community. If any question is asked in this 'Regional' chat, there are many people who are willing to jump in and help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guns of Icarus is Awesome, July 9, 2013
This review is from: Guns of Icarus Online [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
So I suppose I should start off this review with a confession. I have played nearly 800 hours of guns of Icarus online and I have no plans to stop playing anytime soon.

This is simply the best co-op multiplayer experience I have ever found. Think L4D but with more cooperation. Working as a team is necessary to accomplish anything, thankfully the game naturally encourages teamwork.

The best part is you get to do it all while flying through the air in steampunk airships, coordinating complex tactics and formations with at times over a dozen crew members and teammates at once. It is just so incredibly rewarding when you get everyone working together just right and the beautiful enemy airships disintegrate in front of your eyes (the game really is gorgeous).

As great as all of that is and sounds it's only half the reason I've played this game more than any other game I've ever owned. The community is simply fantastic and the devs really care. I'll be honest and admit I used to play a lot of big name games made by the giant corporations of the gaming world and I enjoyed them. But it was really awful having to deal with all the trolls and punks and bigots and everything else that is prevalent on the internet. Furthermore you often felt like the developers would just make the game and dump it on you without ever touching it again or fixing problems that existed when they made it.

GOI is different. The community is friendly and welcoming and anyone that tries to ruin the game for anyone are taken seriously and handled by the community and the devs. Even better than that though is that it's made by a small group of people that really care about the game. The game is constantly updated tweaked added onto and really nurtured and cared for. You can actually email the devs directly and get a response in less than 24 hours and they not only listen to the community they are actively involved. They play in tournaments, post on the forum, play matches with the community and lurk in the lobby chat to talk to the player base.

This game may not be for everyone; but if you're the type of person, that likes people, and playing games co-operatively with said people to vanquish your foes you really should check this out; just be prepared to get hooked, because if you're anything like me, you might never stop playing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun, July 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Guns of Icarus Online [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Fun little game easy to just pick up and play a few matches! I have not encountered and issues so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best game I've ever played, June 20, 2013
This review is from: Guns of Icarus Online [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Look, it's just the best online experience there is, it's the perfect blend of action and teamwork. If you like the steampunk setting, fast paced combat or just online cooperative play in general, this is a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best 4 player coop games ever!, June 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Guns of Icarus Online [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Buy this game and then immediately get 3 of your closest friends to do the same. Your friendships will be tested as you yell at one another mercifully while insanity ensues and your airship begins to crumble all around you. Only the strongest survive when you fly this close to the sun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quite Charming!, May 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Guns of Icarus Online [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
I picked up this game based off the recommendation of a friend and it was such a great purchase. Guns of Icarus is such a charming and unique game. The gameplay encourages (and requires) teamwork. Each player has a role and they are all unique (pilot, gunner, engineers). Grab 3 friends and take to the skies!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome game!, April 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Guns of Icarus Online [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
This game is loads of fun, just make sure you have a reliable crew. I got this game with a group of my friends and it provides hours of entertaining cooperative play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great for a group, February 5, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Guns of Icarus Online [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Some friends and I from a regular gaming group got this on sale and we spent several weeks having a grand time blowing other airships out of the sky. The weapons and controls may seem clunky, but considering the technology it is based on, I'd say it's pretty accurate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.