Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


95 of 100 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Episodes List
According to the great site tvshowsondvd.com the following episodes are in this set.

Disc 1

Magnus - 12/24/55

Chester's Mail Order Bride - 7/14/56

How To Kill A Woman - 11/30/57

Buffalo Man - 1/11/58

The Constable - 5/30/59

Old Flame - 5/28/60

Love Thy Neighbor - 1/28/61...
Published on November 18, 2006 by Dave O.

versus
10 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars general overview
I was very glad to see Gumsmoke come to dvd. However I cannot give this set more than three stars! Why? Its not because these episodes are bad or that Gunsmoke is a so,so T.V. show. Quite the contrary. The reason why I only rate it three stars is there simply are not enough episodes of this fine show to satisfy me. I beleive it would have been better for Paramount...
Published on November 25, 2006 by Philly G.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

95 of 100 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Episodes List, November 18, 2006
This review is from: Gunsmoke - The Directors Collection (DVD)
According to the great site tvshowsondvd.com the following episodes are in this set.

Disc 1

Magnus - 12/24/55

Chester's Mail Order Bride - 7/14/56

How To Kill A Woman - 11/30/57

Buffalo Man - 1/11/58

The Constable - 5/30/59

Old Flame - 5/28/60

Love Thy Neighbor - 1/28/61

Disc 2

Cotter's Girl - 1/19/63

US Haggens - 12/8/62

Ten Little Indians - 10/9/65

Which Dr. - 3/19/66

Disc 3

Mannon - 1/20/69

Captain Sligo - 1/4/71

The Legend - 10/18/71

Brides And Grooms - 2/10/75

Special features will include:

CBS Radio broadcasts of "Magnus," "How To Kill A Woman," "Buffalo Man," and "The Constable"

Have Gun Will Travel clip from "The Naked Gun" with Ken Curtis

Mike Douglas Show with Amanda Blake

Soundtrack scoring session at CBS Studio Center
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GUNSMOKE THE DIRECTORS COLLECTION, January 13, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gunsmoke - The Directors Collection (DVD)
It was very difficult to not start viewing this set as soon as it arrived but alas as a Christmas present I held off until 25 DEC. As a hardcore Gunsmoke fanatic ,having seen the first Gunsmoke episode as a 8 year old boy in 1955, it is always great to see my favorite western uncut and restored. As with the original 50th Anniversary set there is an excellent balance of episodes.

There are not as many extras on this set. The theme of the Directors collection allowed me to hear for the first time Peter Graves (Jim Arness's brother) talk about their experiences. Other than Jim's book there is almost no info regarding them together. I was disappointed in the radio episodes, the quality was terrible. I am a collector and I know that many of the radio episodes exist in pristine condition. I'm afraid that some viewers will possibly think that all of the radio episodes only exist in the condition of those on the DVD.

I would really like to see the black and white hour long episodes featured more on the next set because they are the ones that get very little to no cable airtime.

This set is a must have for the serious Gunsmoke collector, the opening gives a goodbye to Dennis Weaver and it is sad that nearly everyone associated with the series is gone.

CJ WEST

Morrow, GA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gunsmoke - Directors Collection, June 21, 2010
By 
Karen Tycer (VANCOUVER, WA, US) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gunsmoke - The Directors Collection (DVD)
This is a great collection of 15 of some of the best Gunsmoke episodes spanning from season one to twenty. It was the perfect gift for my husband, an avid Gunsmoke fan. The quality of the recording is excellent, and you can't beat the well-written stories and excellent acting of each episode. The extras - interviews and back stories - are the icing on the cake. So far, I have the first two seasons of the Gunsmoke collection, and while it's interesting to watch how the characters developed over the years, some of the episodes are a bit rough. If you're wanting a true taste of the "Gunsmoke" experience, I think this collection is the best example of what the show was all about - heartfelt, touching stories that are both dramatic and a bit comical, and will leave you wanting more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gunsmoke the directors edition, December 11, 2007
By 
Clifford J. Hines (Gainesville Fl. USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gunsmoke - The Directors Collection (DVD)
This is a must see DVD if you are a big fan of Gunsmoke! I enjoy the black and white editions the most, however all of them are great!With this DVD set you get to see Matt, Kitty, Doc, Chester, and Festus evolve!! I highly recommend this to everyone, young or not so young who enjoy truly great westerns
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely want more, November 28, 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gunsmoke - The Directors Collection (DVD)
ANY Gunsmoke episodes are welcomed. The 50th anniversary DVDs had more features, but the Amanda Blake interview and the radio shows are great. Would like to see more of the episodes that we don't get to see on TVLAND (aka seasons 1-10). I'm amazed at how gritty and engaging the first few seasons were.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GUNSMOKE-The Directors Collection, January 9, 2007
By 
Timothy Lamb (Waynesville, Ohio) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gunsmoke - The Directors Collection (DVD)
Great memories. A true classic. Nice variety of shows. A MUST have for any GUNSMOKE fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Having fun and laughter with Gunsmoke, March 5, 2010
By 
DavidJohnStock (Western Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gunsmoke - The Directors Collection (DVD)
Having seen only two episodes so far makes me so happy that I purchased the {Directors Collection}
with episodes such as " Cotters Girl " from 1963.
Hearing the diector and the actress who played Cotters daughter speaking about their obvious
enjoyment with that episode is wonderful for the viewer , the lunch scene that took so long to
film because of the laughter - the scene was not completed until the following day.
And the quality is so well done , this will be a real stand out in my collection.
I have now ordered the 50th anniversery collection.
" Cotters Girl" had a female writer, the director of this episode spoke with admiration for this
writer and as he had directed 90 episodes of Gunsmoke over the years , he was aware when the
gold shone through. Other directors prefer a " shoot em up script" and would stay away from
one such as this, however it is good to see the actors having fun on the job.
My one wish is that some bloopers were saved from "Cotters Girl".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I will rate any gunsmoke release a 5stars, March 26, 2007
This review is from: Gunsmoke - The Directors Collection (DVD)
One of my favorite shows of all time, I recently heard from tvshowsondvd that since the first 2 releases 50th aniversery and the directors collection sold pretty well that paramount has decided to release season sets starting with season 1......cant wait, I hope it sells so they release 2,3,4,5 etc...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great quality of a great TV Western Series, January 19, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gunsmoke - The Directors Collection (DVD)
Watching this series of episodes from Gunsmoke, brought back many memories of growing up, sitting in front of our black and white (SD)television in the late 1950s every Saturday night at 9 pm. The quality of the DVDs is very good. This makes reliving the conflicts in Dodge as real as it did sixty years ago. This is a real treat of nostalgia TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gunsmoke: Directors Cut, July 27, 2007
This review is from: Gunsmoke - The Directors Collection (DVD)
Great overview of the Gunsmoke series from start to finish. Picture is perfect, better than when first aired on t.v. Bought it mainly for one episode with parnell roberts ('57) "To Kill A Woman". Will probably buy the first season later on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Gunsmoke - The Directors Collection
Gunsmoke - The Directors Collection by James Arness (DVD - 2006)
$24.99 $15.55
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.