Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps The Best Season Of Gunsmoke
Season six was the best season of Gunsmoke, as the writing and characterizations had improved with each successive half hour season; the compression of stories into 26 minutes each guaranteed brilliance. CBS has digitally remastered all the half hour episodes, which hopefully they will continue doing for the hour seasons 7-20. CBS, please pick up the pace on Gunsmoke DVD...
Published on May 22, 2012 by Mulroon

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Happy, but to long of a wait.
I order the season's of Gunsmoke for my Grandpa all the time and he loves them, but they take forever to come out. The only problem with this is that the people that most likely want Gunsmoke on DVD are an aging population and with the 20 seasons that need to come out it will take way to long if you are an older person. I also feel that the season's should just be...
Published on August 20, 2012 by Jessica


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps The Best Season Of Gunsmoke, May 22, 2012
This review is from: Gunsmoke: Season 6 Vol. 1 (DVD)
Season six was the best season of Gunsmoke, as the writing and characterizations had improved with each successive half hour season; the compression of stories into 26 minutes each guaranteed brilliance. CBS has digitally remastered all the half hour episodes, which hopefully they will continue doing for the hour seasons 7-20. CBS, please pick up the pace on Gunsmoke DVD releases, as none of us are getting any younger!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Speed up the Gunsmoke releases CBS!, May 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gunsmoke: Season 6 Vol. 1 (DVD)
Glad to see season 6 is on the way for Gunsmoke. CBS has given us A-1 great quality in this series. Will buy more Gunsmoke as quick as you release them, keep them coming!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars KEEP IT UP AND RELEASE EM ALL!!, May 28, 2012
This review is from: Gunsmoke: Season 6 Vol. 1 (DVD)
Thank you Paramount for deciding to release season 6. I do believe that everybody and myself are unpatient when it comes to the release times but at least paramount is stepping up more than Warner bros releasing their products.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars consistently great, June 22, 2012
By 
Bloodrider "Lover of epics" (Rego Park, New York United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gunsmoke: Season 6 Vol. 1 (DVD)
Of all the releases of old shows the consistency of quality prints remain with Gunsmoke.The only problem is the expensiveness of the dvd.Should be priced in mid thirties for a full season is a feeling most of us fans agree is fair since the show ran for twenty years. As a matter of further agreement the releases should be excelerated since most of us baby boomers who watched the show back then won't be around for the availabilty of the last season.If memory serves this is the last season of the concise story telling represented by the 30 minute episodes. The show went to an hour in length in the 1962 season and Big Jim was rewarded with his own production company to partner with the CBS network as a means of greater financial incentive to do an hour. People in their reviews have remarked about the great character development of the stars, which began in season one and made the show the success it became instantly. When the show became an hour the beer timeouts in the Long Branch, a source of great comic relief with Doc and Chester, and later outright hilarity with Doc and Festus, became more numerous and longer duration.Guest stars got more air time, extra secondary characters were introduced..and grabbed more air time...and besides slowing the pace of the show with outright filler, the ultimate consequence was less of MATT DILLON!What the Duke was to movie westerns was what Jim Arness was to television westerns....yet the show lasted another 13 seasons until 1975. The last six or seven thanks to Mrs. Paley who loved the show and was the wife of the chairman of CBS network. They moved it to Monday nights and it rose again phoenix-like to the top 20 list....the rest is tv legend and " get out of Dodge " became part of the English language and lore.Bloodspiller: Book One: Warriors of Palahia Series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Season 6 Is Probably My Last, August 1, 2012
By 
Lorenzo (Heart of Texas) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gunsmoke: Season 6 Vol. 1 (DVD)
Season 6 is the last of the half hour Gunsmokes....which to me were the best. The 30 minute stories were excellent and to the point. The hourlong shows started to concentrate more on other characters while adding more fill and fluff to fill in that extra 30 minutes. To me the stories just weren't as good.

Season 6 will be my last purchase of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HURRY UP AND RELEASE FULL SEASONS!!!, August 1, 2012
This review is from: Gunsmoke: Season 6 Vol. 1 (DVD)
I love this show, and Paramount is doing an excellent job with quality and sound. But please speed things up and release the full seasons instead of one volume at a time. None of us are getting any younger. I have all the released seasons and am eagerly awaiting the rest of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of the West(erns), July 1, 2012
This review is from: Gunsmoke: Season 6 Vol. 1 (DVD)
This is a great series for serious fans of westerns. The episodes provide great insight to what life was about back then, and sometimes how strange "manhood" was viewed and the consequences that wrought. Couldn't agree more with another reviewer...with 20 seasons to produce, they do need to be stepped up in release so us older generation fans have a chance to see them all. What a collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PLEASE RELEASE FULL SEASONS OF GUNSMOKE, July 27, 2012
This review is from: Gunsmoke: Season 6 Vol. 1 (DVD)
I am terminally Ill, and the only thing that makes me not think of my debilitation is watching Gunsmoke . PLEASE release the rest of the seasons in full season packs before I pass away. Gunsmoke purchasers are getting old and you will SOON not have an audience for any future releases. Come to your business sense and do the right thing and release them all in complete series.SOON PLEASE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gunsmoke Season 6 Vol 1, October 2, 2012
By 
Vickie Sanchez (ORANGEVALE, CA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gunsmoke: Season 6 Vol. 1 (DVD)
Arrived early and in great condition. Would be happy to buy again from this seller. The seller can't controll this, but it would be nice if CBS would not split the seasons. I have noticed this comment in other reviews.

Gunsmoke Season 6 Vol 1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Happy, but to long of a wait., August 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gunsmoke: Season 6 Vol. 1 (DVD)
I order the season's of Gunsmoke for my Grandpa all the time and he loves them, but they take forever to come out. The only problem with this is that the people that most likely want Gunsmoke on DVD are an aging population and with the 20 seasons that need to come out it will take way to long if you are an older person. I also feel that the season's should just be released as a full season and not volumes because then then maybe 2 seasons could come out a year, not just one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Gunsmoke: Season 6 Vol. 1
Gunsmoke: Season 6 Vol. 1 by Gunsmoke (DVD - 2012)
$29.99 $18.09
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.