Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's Time For Full Gunsmoke Season Releases, CBS.
There are 14 seasons of Gunsmoke still unreleased on DVD (28 volumes). Bonanza and Rawhide are out in full seasons on the same day, by CBS, so please crank up the Gunsmoke output, too, as none of us are getting any younger!
Published on September 19, 2012 by GranO

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shakespearean Tragedy meets the Old West
First off I agree ... these Split Seasons are dreadful... While some people state its done in order to make more money for the studio , My main gripe is when it is all said Ill have 40 DVD cases when 20 would have sufficed Not to mention 40 seperate shipments , orders etc... and it seems to take alot longer to get things released. I dont mind paying more for Gunsmoke...
Published on December 17, 2012 by Bob Landers


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's Time For Full Gunsmoke Season Releases, CBS., September 19, 2012
This review is from: Gunsmoke: Season 7, Vol. 1 (DVD)
There are 14 seasons of Gunsmoke still unreleased on DVD (28 volumes). Bonanza and Rawhide are out in full seasons on the same day, by CBS, so please crank up the Gunsmoke output, too, as none of us are getting any younger!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One-Hour Episodes Begin!!, October 7, 2012
By 
Freethinker (East Tennessee) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gunsmoke: Season 7, Vol. 1 (DVD)
Can't review a product not yet released but can talk about the quality of the shows. Although it took a few episodes for the writers to adjust to the one-hour format & decide how to fill twice as much time, these are still classic shows...and soon the longer format allowed for more characterization and complex plots. The best news is that (so far) the studio is charging the same amount for the longer shows as for the 1/2-hour episodes. Also, they seem to be releasing them at a much faster pace. Hope they maintain both practices (doesn't seem that we'll see complete-season sets anytime soon).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still a great series after over six years., December 18, 2012
By 
Tammy (Grand Rapids, MI) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gunsmoke: Season 7, Vol. 1 (DVD)
I actually preferred the half hour format,
which was 27 minutes, as opposed to today's
18 minutes. Probably because of the single
sponsor. CBS provided the entire season in
one box for the first year, and then apparently
discovered it could get more money by selling
two half seasons. I like the old Gunsmoke well
enough to put up with this, as CBS probably
expected. I will keep buying the series until
Chester leaves, which is in the 9th season I
believe. After that, Arness is seldom there for
full hour, if at all, and the series is carried by
Doc, Kitty, and whoever else is put on board.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hope I live long enough to see all of them, October 2, 2012
This review is from: Gunsmoke: Season 7, Vol. 1 (DVD)
Love the series, grew up with it. Hope I live another 15 years to be able to watch them all again. Please put them out quarterly to accommodate us old folks.

Sincerely,

Cookie Grandma
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gunsmoke DVD, January 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gunsmoke: Season 7, Vol. 1 (DVD)
Very pleased with the product, am so happy they are finally allowing these episodes to be
put on the market. All the Gunsmoke fans have been hoping for this for years. I hope they
continue to keep on releasing all 20 years of episodes.

Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST OF THEM ALL, April 13, 2014
By 
Anthony McGill (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gunsmoke: Season 7, Vol. 1 (DVD)
Season seven of Gunsmoke brought about the biggest change in the program. Episodes were extended to one hour and whilst many fans may have preferred the shorter version, I think the longer ones were better, allowing plot lines and characterizations to be more developed. This batch of episodes includes wonderful guests like John Dehner, Lois Nettleton, John Larch, Buddy Ebsen, Peter Whitney and R.G. Armstrong. Dennis Weaver who directed three programs in the previous season gets to helm one of the best "Marry Me", but most of the directing chores are handled by the accomplished Harry Harris Jr. and Andrew McLaglen and the quality scripts are mainly by the brilliant John Meston and Kathleen Hite.
They may not have existed in real life but Matt, Chester, Kitty and Doc, as played by James Arness, Dennis Weaver, Amanda Blake and Milburn Stone made these characters so imprinted in our conscience that most of us are convinced that they really did inhabit Dodge City. The image of Dodge will always revolve around this superb series which is a credit to all the fine crafts people associated with it during twenty meritorious years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Series, December 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gunsmoke: Season 7, Vol. 1 (DVD)
Gunsmoke is a great series. Season 7 is where they went to the hour format. When I started watching the first episode, I couldn't figure out why it seemed like I had seen it recently. Same thing with the second episode. Then I read about the rest of the episodes - these were the episodes shown on Encore Western, so they were rerun many times on Encore. I agree with everyone else...the fact they "split" the seasons ends up making Gunsmoke a little pricey in the long run, but it's easier for me (personally) to come up with $25 a hit than $50. But then we have to wait twice as long for the rest of the season to come out too. It's a trade off. At any rate, Gunsmoke was a great show. Personally, I will only "probably" buy up to (and including) season 10, as they were in B/W. I feel the stories were better. By season 10, it seemed like Matt Dillon wasn't in the episodes as much either. Just wasn't the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!!! Finally the 1 hour shows!, January 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gunsmoke: Season 7, Vol. 1 (DVD)
Okay, I will admit it, Gunsmoke is the best show ever and I didn't grow up with it. It has been just a delight watching the show and this season is excellent!! PLEASE, CBS speed up your release of Gunsmoke on DVD's. It will be another 10 years before it is all out at the rate you're going.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gunsmoke, December 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gunsmoke: Season 7, Vol. 1 (DVD)
Can't wait to own all the seasons, best darn show ever! We watch Gunsmoke every night before going to bed. Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GUNSMOKE VOL 1, January 11, 2013
This review is from: Gunsmoke: Season 7, Vol. 1 (DVD)
I can only say one thing about this series.It is one of the best TV western series ever made if not THE best.It has the greatest cast ever put together.Everyone plays so well together.It is just GREAT ENTERTAINMENT.The quality of mine was just great.Anyone young and old alike would enjoy this series.TRY IT i think you will agree
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Gunsmoke: Season 7, Vol. 1
Gunsmoke: Season 7, Vol. 1 by Tay Garnett (DVD - 2012)
$29.99 $19.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.