Customer Reviews


273 Reviews
5 star:
 (178)
4 star:
 (54)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brando in a musical? You bet!
A film by Joseph Mankiewicz
The image I have in my head of Marlon Brando is that of Vito Corleone in "The Godfather" and Terry Malloy in "On the Waterfront". The opportunity to see Brando in a musical was just too good to pass up. "Guys and Dolls" is a musical about gamblers and women, but the story is much better than that.
Nathan Detroit (Frank Sinatra) runs...
Published on February 11, 2004 by Joe Sherry

versus
123 of 129 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This new Deluxe Edition is a disgrace to Sony Home Ent.
Yes, indeed! The booklet included is nice and glossy. Thanks! And the two documentaries added this time around are nice too. Thanks again! But what about the film itself? Has that been given the deluxe treatment as well?

Sad answer: Definitely NOT! As a matter of fact, this new "re-master" looks much worse than the previous DVD. That one was a very fuzzy...
Published on May 3, 2006 by Lars Sandell


‹ Previous | 115 16 1728 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very poor!!!, June 8, 2006
By 
M1uffy (12057 Berlin, Germany) - See all my reviews
I was looking forward to a Special Edition of this wonderful film, but this new release is all a disappointment to me. I have just bought the German release of it. The picture is not as clear and sharp, as it could or should be, but mainly, the image is extremely cropped! Parts of the heads and legs (and that with a dancing movie!!!) are cut off all the time. It's a shame!!! :-(

Only 1 star for the DVD, the film would deserve at least 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Guys and Dolls, November 4, 2006
This review is from: Guys and Dolls (DVD)
Fun to see Brando slim, singing and dancing. Sinatra entertaining as always. Vivian Blaine hysterical as Sinatra's doll. Stubby Kaye excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guys and Dolls is great!, July 9, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Guys & Dolls [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Guys and Dolls is a great movie. I think the play is better than the movie (because of what they changed in the movie, and the fact that Marlon Brando can't really sing), but they did a good job on the movie, too. The highlight of the movie is Stubby Kaye's AWESOME performance of "Sit Down, You're Rockin' The Boat" (and the rest of his acting, in general). Stubby Kaye was THE original Nicely on Broadway, and I think it was a good casting decision to put him in the film, too. There are also a few more Broadway carry-overs in the movie, too. Overall, Guys and Dolls is a great story with a lot of memorable songs and a great storyline. I loved it (but I liked the play much better)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious combination of singing, acting, direction makes for ..., August 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Delicious combination of singing, acting, direction makes for a couple of hours of viewing pleasure. Who can beat Sinatra, Brando, and Simmons?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Movie. Good Transfer., June 16, 2003
This review is from: Guys and Dolls (DVD)
Despite the sets that are so surreal they seem almost Daliesque, this is a very entertaining movie.
Frank Sinatra is perfect in his role as gamble and hood Nathan Detroit (perhaps because the character so perfectly parallels the image most have of Sinatra). Marlon Brando is dashing as hihg-roller Sky Masterson and his voice is even passable in his singing parts.
The lead female characters are the best, however. Jean Simmons plays the prim, proper mission operator with a rumbling volcano of sensuality underneath.
Vivian Blaine steals the show with her hysterical portrayal of Nathan's perennially put off fiance.
With the exception of the sets that are occasionally distracting, it's a wonderful film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, November 20, 2003
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Guys and Dolls (DVD)
this movie couldn't have been more well made.It's even tied with West Side Story!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brando and Sinatra shine, July 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great movie! Love Marlon Brando in this role and Sinatra as always is spectacular. Very happy with this buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good. It is one of my husbands favorite movies ..., August 11, 2014
By 
Linda J. Risso (Warwick, RI, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Guys & Dolls (DVD)
Very good. It is one of my husbands favorite movies and having just seen the play he thoroughly enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Beware of Counterfeits, July 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love the musical, but the disc I received must have been a counterfeit because there was nothing on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guys and Dolls, June 26, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
n Joseph L. Mankiewicz's buoyant adaptation of Frank Loesser's immortal "Guys and Dolls," Frank Sinatra shines as Nathan Detroit, purveyor of the "oldest established permanent floating crap game in New York." Marlon Brando (in his prime) is better than you'd expect as Sky Masterson, even with some reedy vocals, but you keep waiting for Nathan to show up again. His dealings with fiancée Adelaide (Vivian Blaine) are a particular highlight, while the portly Stubby Kaye steals every scene he's in playing Nicely Nicely Johnson. Vibrant, rousing entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 115 16 1728 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Guys and Dolls [Blu-ray]
Guys and Dolls [Blu-ray] by Joseph L. Mankiewicz (Blu-ray - 2012)
$24.98 $19.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.