Customer Reviews


324 Reviews
5 star:
 (215)
4 star:
 (63)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


62 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brando in a musical? You bet!
A film by Joseph Mankiewicz
The image I have in my head of Marlon Brando is that of Vito Corleone in "The Godfather" and Terry Malloy in "On the Waterfront". The opportunity to see Brando in a musical was just too good to pass up. "Guys and Dolls" is a musical about gamblers and women, but the story is much better than that.
Nathan Detroit (Frank Sinatra) runs...
Published on February 11, 2004 by Joe Sherry

versus
137 of 143 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This new Deluxe Edition is a disgrace to Sony Home Ent.
Yes, indeed! The booklet included is nice and glossy. Thanks! And the two documentaries added this time around are nice too. Thanks again! But what about the film itself? Has that been given the deluxe treatment as well?

Sad answer: Definitely NOT! As a matter of fact, this new "re-master" looks much worse than the previous DVD. That one was a very fuzzy...
Published on May 3, 2006 by Lars Sandell


‹ Previous | 1 2 333 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best musicals to ever hit video!, September 22, 1998
By 
This review is from: Guys & Dolls [VHS] (VHS Tape)
The first time I sat down to see this movie I was expecting to be bored senseless! It took about five minutes for me to find myself focused on each character. I found it to be one of my favorite movies of all time, and know many others who feel the same. Don't be scared by the typical uninteresting musical numbers and silly dance numbers. this film has a great story as well as a great cast to drive it home. If you have yet to watch Guys & Dolls in your life, I fear that you have sheltered yourself from real cinema. Plus Sinatra sings songs that are forever burned into your mind as you eat in any italian restaurant or drink a martini in a nice lounge (luck be a lady tonight). Buy It, Rent It, Just watch it! I assure you it will be a prized member of your video library. If I am wrong you can write me a nasty email note, but you wont need to. END
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's good, old & reliable., April 25, 2000
By 
Neville Blender (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Guys and Dolls (DVD)
Like it or not, it's up there with the classic film musicals of all time. Who would want to miss a singing Brando? He does a good job as Sky Masterson but one wonders how it would have been if Sinatra had played Sky & Brando, Nathan Detroit. Apparently in reality, Sinatra wanted the part of Sky but he lucked-out to Marlon. Brando said later that when they recorded his voice, it was so bad that he literally had to sing it line by line. I personaly think he does a fine job, as does Old Blue Eyes. One of those great looking hollywood movies. Like candy for the eyes. How lucky we are to be able to see it in it's cinematic DVD glory in our own lounge rooms. Need popcorn in your lap for this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YOU GOTTA SEE IT MORE THAN ONCE!!!!!!!!!, July 17, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Guys and Dolls [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is the best musical (not to mention movie) in the whole entire world!!!!!!! Frank Sinatra is a wonderful Nathan Detroit and Marlon Brando is perfect in the role as Sky Masterson. You'll fall in love with all the characters.!!!! The songs are catchy and light-hearted! You'll find yourself singing and humming them all the time. PLEASE RE-RELEASE THIS MOVIE!!!!!!!I WANT TO OWN IT SOOOOOOOOOO BAD!!!!!!!!! YOU HAVE TO SEE THIS WONDERFUL MUSICAL AT LEAST 10 TIMES!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BRANDO SINGS!, February 20, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Guys and Dolls (DVD)
What can you say? Brando sings, Sinatra at his most charming versatility, and a show stopper song from Stubby Kaye. GUYS AND DOLLS is a classic musical all the way. No need for analyzing because it's just pure entertainment fun. The musical has great songs and dance numbers, great characters and a unique use of some Broadway/Stage-type backdrops for the New York City locations from the streets to the gambler's sewers. Great supporting cast with Jean Simmons (no..not Gene Simmons from KISS) and Vivian Blaine. And again...Brando sings!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy this if you have a wide screen tv!!!!, March 29, 2009
By 
This review is from: Guys and Dolls (DVD)
The ratio seems to be right for widescreen (about 16:9) but it is surrounded by large black bands so the film only takes up about half of the the actual screen, maybe even less. Which makes for a very unpleasant viewing experience to say the least.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guys & Dolls is a TRUE masterpiece of a musical!, October 4, 2001
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Guys and Dolls [VHS] (VHS Tape)
All I can say is... WOW. I think this has to be probably my second favorite movie musical (and one of my FAVORITE musicals) of all times... tying with "Singin' In The Rain", being preceeded only by "Damn Yankees" and followed by "Sweet Charity." So what makes Guys & Dolls so great? Michael Kidd's choreography for one thing... the guy is a genius!!!! He's introduced some of the best dancing stars to the stage (ie, Gwen Verdon in "Can-Can") and this showcases his talents as a choreographer. Another thing are the wonderful tunes. Can you imagine a world without tunes like "Adelaide's Lament" and "I'll Know"? I sure can't. Of course, the actors have a lot to do with it.
Case in point number 1... Marlon Brando. Okay, so Marlon Brando's NOT a singer... big deal. But it's not like he's absolutely so horrendous you want to THROW things at the screen. In fact, I found him marvelous! He's VERY talented. He and Jean Simmons have such charisma together! Case in point 2, Jean Simmons! Who better to play adorable little mission doll Sarah Brown than this lovely lady? And her singing pipes aren't terrible either. Her acting skills are most exquisite! Case in point 3... Frank Sinatra. GORGEOUS MAN. GORGEOUS VOICE. And whatta actor! He is so loveable as Nathan Detroit... and he and Vivian Blaine have SUCH A GREAT CHEMISTRY!!!! Which brings me to case in point 4... VIVIAN BLAINE. I adore her. I don't think there will ever be another Adelaide who comes even CLOSE to her (except for, perhaps, the wonderful Miss Faith Prince...). I mean, Vivian just OWNS this part! That voice... that electricity... to me, she just steals the show! So in short, if you love 50s movie musicals, or you're just a fan of the Broadway show... buy it! (But there are a few songs cut... such as "A Bushel and a Peck" and "Marry The Man Today"... but don't let that discourage you!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Musical flim-flam galore...., November 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Guys and Dolls [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Superb musical with great picture and sound on the blu-ray....the songs are all very likeable and the story is excellent in the very stylized world of gamblers and chumps where everybody has an angle--and everyone sings too.... Brando is actually pretty good at the singing and dancing stuff--and Sinatra, of course, is fantastic.... Jean Simmons also sings very well, as does the rest of the cast....the blu-ray has a lot of extra documentary stuff.... well worth every cent you can fork over for this one--on blu-ray, of course....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic movie, May 22, 2010
By 
Aaron Burgemeister "AB" (American Falls, Idaho USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Guys and Dolls (DVD)
Having finally seen Guys and Dolls a few weeks ago at a friend's home we had to get it for ourselves so we could see it whenever we wanted to. This really is a great musical with fantastic acting, several songs that you know but you may know know where from, and a cast of some of the all-time greats. From start to finish this is a musical that will have you enthralled with the plot and singing along as you hope for the "good" guys to overcome their adversaries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, great blu ray, September 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Guys and Dolls [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I will keep it short and sweet.

The quality of picture is fantastic. It looks exactly like a film of this vintage shoot. The colours and the textures are amazing.

If you love great musicals from the golden age then this is a no brainer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not exactly an M-G-M musical, but ..., February 1, 2013
By 
Paulo Roberto Elias (Rio de Janeiro, RJ, Brazil) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Guys and Dolls [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Even so there is a great opportunity to see Sinatra singing the well orchestrated and well written musical segments.

"Woman in Love", "sung" by Brando is sheer poetry and "If I were a bell" may be easily regarded now as a pop music standard.

I had and replaced the two former DVD editions, the latter being quite good, actually. But it is no match for this Blu-Ray release, picture or sound wise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 333 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Guys and Dolls [Blu-ray]
Guys and Dolls [Blu-ray] by Joseph L. Mankiewicz (Blu-ray - 2013)
$24.98 $18.23
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.