Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis STEM Segway miniPro Automotive Deals BOTYSFKT Shop Women's Clothing Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$19.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 3, 2006
Yes, indeed! The booklet included is nice and glossy. Thanks! And the two documentaries added this time around are nice too. Thanks again! But what about the film itself? Has that been given the deluxe treatment as well?

Sad answer: Definitely NOT! As a matter of fact, this new "re-master" looks much worse than the previous DVD. That one was a very fuzzy non-anamorphic mess, but this new anamorphic one is just as fuzzy. In fact, when I put the old one in the zoom mode, there is no difference in focus and contrast whatsoever. And the colors are somewhat more warm and pleasant on the old edition. But worst of all, is that the new DVD is cropped on all four sides! There is quite a lot of more picture information available on the old disc, especially on top of the frame! So much for a Deluxe Edition! Shame on you, Sony/MGM-UA! Fans of this film - myself included - will have to keep the old DVD, and get this new one for the extras and the booklet. (The 2 stars above are for those inclusions alone.) This is certainly no way to treat loyal film fans and costumers willing to pay for an upgrade version of a beloved film!
1717 comments| 149 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2008
For those uniformed potential buyers...note that the picture/aspect ratio for this specific release has been cropped (I've done identical scene comparisons with this deluxe release and the previous edition). In addition, the (2000) release is mislabeled (i.e. 2.35:1) and is actually presented in a 2.55:1 ratio (the original theatrical release format). Conversely, the deluxe edition (is labeled 2.55:1) and because of cropping, has been altered from the picture's original aspect ratio...in effect displaying a 2.35:1 image. The cropping issue has also been noted by other various reviewers, therefore confirming and/or lending credibility to this issue not being an isolated event.
In summmation...the product has been misrepresented. With this release, one does not get the complete picture...literally. I returned my deluxe edtion for a refund and will stay with my (2000) version, until the studio(s) or those responsible for a legitimate "deluxe" edtion will "do it right."
11 comment| 82 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 12, 2013
I recently watched the blu ray release on a 39 inch LED TV. I then compared the blu ray version with a standard DVD labelled "Widescreen version" on a 50 inch LED. If what you want to do is "watch the movie" both versions are satisfactory. However, the blu ray has much better formating and fills more of the screen then does the standard DVD. The images are brighter on the Blu ray compared to the standard DVD and there is more detail, but I am not sure that the images of the blu ray are so much better that it is worth the extra cost particularly if you already own an earlier release. Where I found a major difference was the sound. The sound on the standard DVD release appeared monophonic, minimal frequency range and "distant". The sound on the blu ray had a wider sound stage, a greater frequency range and it was more "present". In summary if you don't own this DVD consider the blu ray, if you own an earlier release I am not sure the blu ray adds that much unless you really love this movie and watch it with relative frequency.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2004
A film by Joseph Mankiewicz
The image I have in my head of Marlon Brando is that of Vito Corleone in "The Godfather" and Terry Malloy in "On the Waterfront". The opportunity to see Brando in a musical was just too good to pass up. "Guys and Dolls" is a musical about gamblers and women, but the story is much better than that.
Nathan Detroit (Frank Sinatra) runs a high stakes craps game. Normally he does not have any trouble finding a location for the game, but the police is putting on the heat and nobody is willing to take the chance...nobody but one person who wants $1000 up front to host the game. All of the big mobsters are in town and they are looking for Nathan's craps game. Nathan makes a bet with Sky Masterson (Marlon Brando), a high roller who will bet on absolutely anything. The bet is that Sky cannot convince Sarah Brown (Jean Simmons) to go with him to Havana for the night. This may not seem like that big of a bet, but Sarah Brown works downtown at the mission and is a very straight-laced, Christian woman. Sky Masterson is not the sort of man she would associate with. Sky takes the bet and starts trying to win over Sarah. While Sky is doing this, Nathan is setting up the craps game with the promise of the thousand dollars he believes he'll win from Sky. The only thing raining on Nathan's parade is his fiancee of 14 years, Miss Adelaide (Vivian Blaine). Miss Adelaide is a show girl, and she is getting tired of waiting for Nathan to marry her and she is also completely against the crap game.
The above description sets the stage for a wonderful musical where we get to see Brando singing "Luck Be a Lady". The other song that completely surprised me was "Sit Down You're Rocking the Boat", a song I only knew from the much slower Don Henley version. With Sinatra's crooning and Brando singing like I never knew he could, this is one good musical. I would definitely recommend this movie.
0Comment| 67 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 28, 2006
"Guys and Dolls" is a fairly faithful, good adaptation of the great Broadway stage musical. Unlike "West Side Story" or "My Fair Lady", it isn't a film that cries out "SPECIAL EDITION!" but it is fine to have one available.

MGM has given the film a fine special edition (or Deluxe Edition as they call it) treatment. The box is nice and reflects some of the original artwork with modern touches. The scrapbook (A collection of old advertising and photos) is fine as well.

As for the disc itself, the two documentaries are fine. No rare photographs from the Broadway or film archives are shown, but the interviews from the children of the creators (Loesser, Goldwyn and Mankiewicz) and the choreographer, Michael Kidd are quite nice and informative.

The film itself recieves a nice treatment although it is quite similar to the previous editions.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2000
I've seen the play twice and the movie umpteen times, but nobody does a better Nathan than Frank Sinatra. Marlon Brando, Jean Simmons, and Vivian Blaine all add to the movie's magic. Even though Stubby Kaye has a small role, he steals the show in his scenes. If you're feeling down in the dumps, this movie will make you chuckle, tap your feet, and burst out in song. You've read the twenty-four reviews above mine. It's unanimous--Guys and Dolls is a five-star film. Why doesn't amazon.com release it again? Don't they read our reviews? PLEASE RERELEASE THIS MOVIE!
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2005
"Guys & Dolls" is based on the classic musical and the stories of Damon Runyon. The music by Frank Loesser is excellent, the screenplay is funny and fast-paced, and the acting is very good as well.

The last person you would guess to be cast into a movie musical would be Marlon Brando. But in his musical debut, he is actually better than expected. He gets through his songs, including the classic "Luck Be a Lady," and his acting is wonderful.

In the show, Nathan Detroit has two songs: a small piece of "The Oldest Established" and a talk-singing version of "Sue Me." However, since this part is played by Frank Sinatra, the movie had to be completely "Sinatra-ized." Now, I love Frank Sinatra. But now Detroit participates in "Guys and Dolls," stealing this hilarious number from Stubby Kaye (Nicely-Nicely) and Johnny Silver (Benny Southstreet) and another song, "Adelaide," has been added just for him.

The two leading ladies work well. Vivian Blaine as Miss Adelaide is excellent, maybe better than she was in the original Broadway cast. Jean Simmons is also good as conservative Salvation Army worker Sarah Brown and belts out "If I Were a Bell," the number where she breaks out of her conservative self.

But the real show-stealer was, surprisingly, Stubby Kaye reprising his Broadway role of Nicely-Nicely Johnson. Although the "Guys and Dolls" number was stolen from him, he makes up for it with "Fugue For Tinhorns" and the jazzy show-stopper "Sit Down You're Rocking the Boat." His energy and comedic timing are excellent and he is... actually... the best character in the whole show.

The movie is good, corny at some times, but good. The cast is excellent and the screenplay is hilarious. If you're looking for a great old-fashioned movie musical, check it out.
11 comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 23, 2012
Superb musical with great picture and sound on the blu-ray....the songs are all very likeable and the story is excellent in the very stylized world of gamblers and chumps where everybody has an angle--and everyone sings too.... Brando is actually pretty good at the singing and dancing stuff--and Sinatra, of course, is fantastic.... Jean Simmons also sings very well, as does the rest of the cast....the blu-ray has a lot of extra documentary stuff.... well worth every cent you can fork over for this one--on blu-ray, of course....
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2013
Even so there is a great opportunity to see Sinatra singing the well orchestrated and well written musical segments.

"Woman in Love", "sung" by Brando is sheer poetry and "If I were a bell" may be easily regarded now as a pop music standard.

I had and replaced the two former DVD editions, the latter being quite good, actually. But it is no match for this Blu-Ray release, picture or sound wise.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2003
I am a huge Broadway musical fan, and I think Marlon Brando and Jean Simmons are wonderful in this movie. They have great chemistry, and their acting is first rate. As matter of fact, Broadway.com's review of the DVD states "casting of Marlon Brandon as Sky Masterston [is] a risk that pays off" and "Jean Simmons' Sarah is definitive".
Vivian Blaine is a riot as Adelaide, and you can't beat the Frank Loesser score.
And YES that is Jean Simmons voice. She was *not* dubbed. If you listen very carefully, you can tell it is her. As a matter of fact, four (4) songs from the movie are included on the digitally re-mastered 2000 re-release of the original Broadway cast recording. The re-release was in celebration of the 50th anniversay of the musical.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.