Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great View Into the World of Gypsy Jazz
Gypsy Jazz has gone from being an obscure, nearly forgotten form of music to being more popular than ever and most of this started with the story of Django Reinhardt that has long been known among guitar players. Michael Dregni has gone to great lengths to research the roots of Gypsy Jazz and to flesh out the story far beyond just Django Reinhardt's contribution to the...
Published on March 3, 2009 by Old Enough to Know Better

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great history... But I didn't like the Writer's style
I know some people are going to want to SHOOT ME! But, this book is supposed to be about gypsy jazz, NOT a deep narrative about the streets and lampposts! I know the writer wanted to "paint" a vivid picture but I just feel he went WAY OVERBOARD with the scenic descriptions. He also mixed in some french... Dude, this book is in english! I don't speak french! The french...
Published on February 7, 2011 by Ed G


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great View Into the World of Gypsy Jazz, March 3, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Gypsy Jazz has gone from being an obscure, nearly forgotten form of music to being more popular than ever and most of this started with the story of Django Reinhardt that has long been known among guitar players. Michael Dregni has gone to great lengths to research the roots of Gypsy Jazz and to flesh out the story far beyond just Django Reinhardt's contribution to the genre. He also shows that Gypsy Jazz did not cease to develop with Django's death in 1953. The music was carried forward by many people over the years and has evolved along the way. Dregni went to great lengths to research who these people were and to interview them. The crowning acheivement of all this was a guitar lesson he took from David Reinhardt, the grandson of Django himself.

Another high point was the account of attending the annual Gypsy pilgrimage to Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer. After the religious services the next activity is countless jam sessions in the Gypsy encampments. One can only wonder just what it would be like to be there and hear some of the finest, most spontaneous music known to man. Well, that's as much as I'm going to give you for free, if you want more you'll have to buy the book . . . something I recommend highly to anyone with an interest in Gypsy Jazz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best book you can get if you don't read french or live in France, September 3, 2009
By 
V. M. Pafundo "Criminel" (Buenos Aires, Argentina) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Being half french myself (son of a French family emigrated to Argentina in the 50's) , having lived in Paris for a while and knowing a good deal of gypsy jazz from seeing, playing and talking about it in it's original land, I can say that Dregni knows his subject.
Even if - for literary or other purposes - he seems at times to romanitize a little bit (Nobody these days fight in Rue Lepic, much less with knives ( I used to live just around Café des Deux Moulins before and after it was sold, due to the "Amélie Poulain fame") or take some tales as is (ALL french gypsies call themselves "cousins" no matter what relation they have) the book is indeed the best researched, best written, best all encompassing piece on the subject that I've had come across. The only exception being Alain Antonietto's works (who happens to be - It seems - a close friend to Dregni).

If you play this music, simply love it or even if you have just a small curiosity about it, get Dregni's book right away.

On the same note (and being a musician myself) I can add a tip: stay away from Paul Melhing Gypsy guitar DVD's and books. The guy doesn't have a clue of what he's talking about (see youtube vid's for a sample) and - ias a side effect - you'll get convinced of this once you've read Dregni's book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only history of Gypsy Jazz guitar with interviews, March 24, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book has been painstakingly assembled with loving care and enthusiasm.If you are interested in Django Rheinhardt's music,it is now possible to learn the history of where the Gypsies who play this music came from.You will learn how it is passed from generation to generation,often within the same families.It is a fascinating account of a style of music which has now spread across the planet.I was inspired and thrilled to learn details which were not available elsewhere.I hope other readers will be equally stimulated by the results of all the author's hard work and travels
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Indespensible., May 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A wonderful book for anyone with an interest in what is today called "Gypsy Jazz" or jazz manouche. A wealth of little known and well researched information on the earliest masters of this form of music through to the present day, (and everywhere in between).
Well written and immensely readable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars M. Dregni loves his topic and it shows, April 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gypsy Jazz: In Search of Django Reinhardt and the Soul of Gypsy Swing (Paperback)
Well written and researched by M.D.
A pleasure to read and a font of detail of every sort.
If you have an interest in the topic I can not think of a better source .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Joy to Read, Gypsy Jazz Fans Will Appreciate!, July 6, 2010
Very thorough and well researched! Michael gets the ins and outs of this musical style and is a Gypsy Jazz Authority for sure!

From the origins of the music, by the master of guitar Django Reinhardt, to the modern day players, he explains the evolution of Gypsy Jazz with clear understanding.

If you're a fan of Gypsy Jazz this book must be on your shelf!

Gypsy Daydream

The Journals of The Jacoby Odyssey: Magicante, Firemancer and Initiation (Volume 1)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great history... But I didn't like the Writer's style, February 7, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gypsy Jazz: In Search of Django Reinhardt and the Soul of Gypsy Swing (Paperback)
I know some people are going to want to SHOOT ME! But, this book is supposed to be about gypsy jazz, NOT a deep narrative about the streets and lampposts! I know the writer wanted to "paint" a vivid picture but I just feel he went WAY OVERBOARD with the scenic descriptions. He also mixed in some french... Dude, this book is in english! I don't speak french! The french little saying started to get annoying when the writer didn't explain what he meant by some random french expression that us "gadjos" don't understand.

If you can get past the illustrious, deep scenic descriptions and the random french phrases, the book does present a lot of the history of this genre, gypsy jazz. I love the music, I love Django, but I wasn't crazy about the book... Sorry, Mr. Dregni.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Gypsy Jazz: In Search of Django Reinhardt and the Soul of Gypsy Swing
Gypsy Jazz: In Search of Django Reinhardt and the Soul of Gypsy Swing by Michael Dregni (Paperback - August 20, 2010)
$21.95 $20.06
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.