Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Kevin Rau delivers what he promises -- a fun, evolving story of super powered humans
Kevin Rau delivers what he promises -- a fun, evolving story of super powered humans, aliens and the future worlds he sees them building. I particularly enjoy what some of his characters are doing on Mars and look forward to seeing that develop further.

With great power comes great responsibility -- or hideous villainy. Rau does not pull his punches. People...
Published 20 days ago by Colin Keizer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars New Market
I have just finished H.E.R.O. New Market. It was better than the first book I must say. I have grown to like the characters but there are just way too many questions that are not answered. Answers to questions that fill in details which would allow one to identify with the characters. These guys become "Supers" and receive no Tactical nor fundamental...
Published 6 months ago by Reginald McMillian


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Kevin Rau delivers what he promises -- a fun, evolving story of super powered humans, December 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: H.E.R.O. - New Markets (Kindle Edition)
Kevin Rau delivers what he promises -- a fun, evolving story of super powered humans, aliens and the future worlds he sees them building. I particularly enjoy what some of his characters are doing on Mars and look forward to seeing that develop further.

With great power comes great responsibility -- or hideous villainy. Rau does not pull his punches. People die heroically stopping banal evil. Monsters gleefully slaughter innocent bystanders. Criminals with deliberate, murderous intent, ambush heroes. Heroes accidentally break things. Villains accidentally fix things. Mistakes and confusion divide people. Caring and planning bring people together. It's what we might rationally expect from a world where random 'gifts' of super powers can happen to anyone.

Be prepared for a jet sled ride through world-shaking events crammed into a tiny slice of time, snap decisions on incomplete information, nasty wounds, horribly inadequate hydration and 'good enough' solutions for a crazy enjoyable universe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars H.E.R.O. - New Markets is another great superhero novel by Kevin Rau. A criminal mastermind is capturing heroes to reprogram th, June 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: H.E.R.O. - New Markets (Kindle Edition)
The entire H.E.R.O series available on Amazon
Free ebook version on Amazon- First book in series - H.E.R.O. - Metamorphosis

H.E.R.O. - New Markets is the second book in the series by Kevin Rau with the first book, H.E.R.O. - Metamorphosis available as an ebook for free on Amazon. New Markets starts off just a few days after the adventures in the first book. The young heroes are still learning about their powers and adjusting to their new lifestyles as superheroes.
In this book Lance and Rael find themselves captured by highly trained soldiers working for an unknown mastermind who plans to wipe their minds and sell them as bodyguards to the highest bidder. I won't spoil the whole story of what happens to them but can tell you their is plenty of action in this book.
One of the things I really enjoy about Kevin Rau's super hero series is the time he spends on what does and doesn't change in the young heroes lives. In this second book Stephanie goes back to college but finds it hard to attend classes since her mindreading powers are always on and can overwhelm her. She quickly finds it impossible to keep her new alter ego and secret with her friends and classmates. There are other fun scenes in this book such as Firebane, who doesn't want to be a superhero full-time and keeps needing to leave to get to her normal job in time. I found this additional character development refreshing because you don't get to see the "normal" part of a superheroes life in many comics books. Of course superheroes are not always flying around saving people or fighting super villains. They have normal lives also.
I rate this book 5 out of 5 because I love the characters and want to continue to see them develop as bot people and superheroes. These stories are highly recommended to anyone who likes superheroes from the comic books and movies. I also think that fans of urban fantasy or fantasy in general will find this series enjoyable and fast paced.
At $2.99 as an ebook the price is excellent and you can get the first book in the series entirely for free so what do you have to lose? Try them, you will like them!

More about this book directly from the author's website:
Following immediately after the events in H.E.R.O. - Metamorphosis, Lance, Stephanie and Rael continue learning and developing their powers. A kidnapping leads them to become involved in the discovery of a new black market involving the capture and sale of supers. Other heroes become involved as some are kidnapped, others attempt to find and free them, and yet others stop crimes and a fire that occur along the way.

A failed attempt to rescue some of the victims leads the group to bring in more established heroes in the form ofGatecrasher and Hellshock, and new hero Firebane joins the team in a final bid to save the victims before they can be auctioned off.

H.E.R.O. - New Markets is a novel set in the H.E.R.O. universe. It explores the powers, life and interpersonal relationships in a way rarely seen in comic books or movies. It is a full-length novel of approximately 125,800 words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars New Market, June 1, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: H.E.R.O. - New Markets (Kindle Edition)
I have just finished H.E.R.O. New Market. It was better than the first book I must say. I have grown to like the characters but there are just way too many questions that are not answered. Answers to questions that fill in details which would allow one to identify with the characters. These guys become "Supers" and receive no Tactical nor fundamental training... are just out there making it up as they go?! Even a City Dog catcher is trained before allowed to go out into the public. And who Mentors these guys?! I am not an Artist but I know how to color between the lines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bubblegum for the brain, May 10, 2014
By 
J. C. Edwards (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: H.E.R.O. - New Markets (Kindle Edition)
Second book about new superheros.
Just goes to show that IQ is not related to power with these guys. Boy, are they dumb.
Having said that, it is an ok read as long as all you want to do is escape into another world for a little while.
I dislike the way in which the POV jumps from person to person. It gets so confusing the author actually puts a title at the top of every chapter to let you know who's POV it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An OK series, April 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: H.E.R.O. - New Markets (Kindle Edition)
Some of the way the characters react to having suddenly acquired super powers is interesting. Overall, the character development seems superficial to me. Things are just a little too 'good'. I think this is an improvement over the first - but unlike the 'Wearing the Cape' series this does not really get me interested in the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars But For....., March 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: H.E.R.O. - New Markets (Kindle Edition)
Characters; concept and stories are great. I HOPE I do as well and when I am published. Grammatical errors are what denied the fifth star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Engaging book, April 19, 2013
By 
Barbara "darmorev" (Sedro Woolley, WA, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: H.E.R.O. - New Markets (Kindle Edition)
I was sort of surprised to like this book as much as I did. It was recomended to me by someone who said pretty much the same thing to me and she had already gone on to read the rest of the books <G>. The characters are engaging and the plot is well thought out and full of interesting ideas. I have to admit I'd like the parents to have at least dropped in on their semi adult kids to flesh out the history more. But only just finished the 3rd book so maybe that will happen later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad characterization--a little too much day to day description, April 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: H.E.R.O. - New Markets (Kindle Edition)
This is a good effort for a beginning writer. The characters are appealing and the action moves along pretty well. Could do without all the extremely detailed costume description and day to day activities--kind of reads like a student diary in places. But still fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars H.E.R.O, February 15, 2013
This review is from: H.E.R.O. - New Markets (Paperback)
i loved the story line,the characters are magnificent,the plot sometimes i wonder wher he gets all these ideas, its a fun book to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, February 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: H.E.R.O. - New Markets (Kindle Edition)
A fun read with interesting characters. Rau has a very easy style to read. The books are fast paced and have a good story line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

H.E.R.O. - New Markets
$2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.