Customer Reviews
H2O


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wet and wild
For all its variety, this collection has one underlying theme: water. The most dramatic photos in the collection are like the cover shot, dancers floating underwater. The amazing results shown here come from an equally amazing adventure in developing the techniques for taking these pictures.

In most of the photos, the artist and model both release their breath...
Published on January 12, 2008 by wiredweird

versus
7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Picture is good, but book quality is..
...personally, I really like artworks in this book, from posing of models to color using is all beautiful. But I found out the paper quality and book binding is not perfect. From my local bookstore, this book has 10% discount, but I still think it's too much coz' the publisher printed it in middle grade paper and glue. Overall, this is still a good book if quality is not...
Published on November 17, 2007 by A. Ho


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wet and wild, January 12, 2008
This review is from: H2O (Hardcover)
For all its variety, this collection has one underlying theme: water. The most dramatic photos in the collection are like the cover shot, dancers floating underwater. The amazing results shown here come from an equally amazing adventure in developing the techniques for taking these pictures.

In most of the photos, the artist and model both release their breath underwater until the air in their lungs no longer floats them to the surface. Then, the model is free to pose in ways that would be impossible in air. The model need not worry about balance or support against gravity, true. The water has subtler effects on the figure, too - for example, breasts float, giving them higher, rounder forms than gravity normally allows. Schatz's one zoftig model, Alexandra Beller, has the curves to show that effect in the most striking way. And, as the cover shows, hair and gauzy drapes can reach a flowing lightness that just isn't possible elsewhere.

Schatz found that dancers, and very few others, could work as his models. For one thing, they had the muscle knowledge and physical skill to use weightlessness effectively - after all, hadn't so many dancers been trying for that all along? For another, most women naturally bob to the top of pool. Dancers and other athletes typically have more lean mass, so can reach netural buoyancy much more easily.

Although the free-floating forms caught my attention most firmly, Schatz uses water on other ways, too. Its reflective surface, whether seen from above or below, creates baffling mirror-pairs of arms or legs that pierce that surface. Underwater bubbles or above-water droplets adorn the models, and bubble-trails create unearthly auras. Then to push his imagery even farther from the world of gravity, Schatz somtimes rotates or inverts his photos. In a few, the model faces her rippled reflection in the water's surface - but the image is turned so the surface of the pool appears to be a vertical plane.

It's a stunning collection, and not just because of the gorgeous figure studies. Schatz has done something truly new: he has freed the figure from gravity, and in doing so he has changed the shape of the figure itself.

-- wiredweird
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent and unique photography, November 5, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: H2O (Hardcover)
Howard Schatz' creation is indeed a work of art. If you appreciate creative photography and the human form you will marvel at the detail in creating this masterful collection of underwater ballerinas and professional performers. Nuances of color, shape, shadow in conjunction with the dynamics of fluid motion are brought to life in this unusual and breathtaking book. The images are large and the models are credible artists in themselves. Each page is breathtaking and speaks volumes for the painstaking skills of the authors.I have not seen any of his other photographic compendiums but this is one book I will savor and review again and again. Add this to your collection right away.
Amateur photographer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A DreamWorld!, November 29, 2007
This review is from: H2O (Hardcover)
H2O exemplifies a master artisan working at the height of his powers. Howard Schatz showcases once again his unparalleled genius in capturing the elegance of the human form. And short of attending Cirque du Soleil tripping on peyote, this work is unlike anything you'll ever experience again. It's one of those rare publications that literally transport the viewer into another realm; a dreamworld where beautiful, swanlike models float like angels in a surreal water ballet. Where reality is twisted into some sort of magical, impressionistic state of being. Refracted light, color, even the airy magnificence of water bubbles all go into engineering each impossibly delicate image.

It's no secret nor a coincidence that Schatz uses professional dancers, ballerinas, and athletes to populate his underwater stage - few others could so gracefully perform the unimaginably beautiful feats that construct this work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What more can be said?, May 5, 2011
This review is from: H2O (Hardcover)
The superlatives heaped upon this title are well deserved.

Page after page of fascinating, beautiful imagery ranging from visions of aquatic heaven to Alice in Wonderland surrealism.

Much of this art seems to touch the deep human instinct to both love and fear water, as well as our fascination with the human form.

I did not notice any inferior production mentioned in the only 3 star "review", but then although I've spent my life around books, worked in bookstores, and have quite a library, I'm no glue expert...nor inclined to become one. I disagree the paper used was mid-grade however, judging it to be up to presentation of this amazing collection.

In fact, I recommend purchasing a Jasmine Book Stand (Bookstand / Bookstands / Holder / Cookbook / Music), you will want to display your favorite pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Stunning!!, January 1, 2010
This review is from: H2O (Hardcover)
I have long been a Schatz fan and actually had the pleasure of meeting him once in his studio in NY and I have to say - he is an incredibly kind soul. H20, his latest work, continues to showcase his talent and how it grows and swells with beauty. Worth every penny.... each of Schatz's books that have been of human subjects have gone on (when out of print) to be VERY high in value. This is a fantastic gift for any photography fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Stunning, July 2, 2008
By 
S. DeMent (Austin, TX USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: H2O (Hardcover)
This book is amazing. The pictures are absolutely breathtaking. Schatz's pictures are unique and varied - switching from elegant and erotic to surreal and abstract and back again. The book is really large, so the pictures get a chance to really stand out and allow the viewer to examine them in detail. I think a smaller format would have taken away from the impact of the photos, so I'm glad the publisher chose this size. Each page could be its own print. The price of the book is absolutely worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding underwater photography, December 30, 2007
By 
This review is from: H2O (Hardcover)
Howard Schatz has created another beautiful underwater photography compilation of female models. The subject matter is similar to his two prior underwater books, Pool Light and Water Dance. Some photographs were taken from Cirque du Soleil performers in the show "O". The picture composition is excellent as the models appear weightless in the water and the lighting is perfect. This book is great for the coffee table and for serious collectors of color photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Picture is good, but book quality is.., November 17, 2007
This review is from: H2O (Hardcover)
...personally, I really like artworks in this book, from posing of models to color using is all beautiful. But I found out the paper quality and book binding is not perfect. From my local bookstore, this book has 10% discount, but I still think it's too much coz' the publisher printed it in middle grade paper and glue. Overall, this is still a good book if quality is not your primary concern.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Underwater fotography is fun, January 13, 2010
By 
David Jimenez "DJ" (College Station, TX) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: H2O (Hardcover)
This is indeed a work of art. I have my problems imagining how complicated some of these shots should have been to take. The collection is variated, what I enjoyed. Although some of the pictures are very sexy, I do not think this is the right book for those looking for a "sexy" collection of nude photography.

One of the traits I enjoyed more are those where the photographer plays with the reflexivity of the water surface from under the water. Really interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful, creative beatiful photograhy book, February 22, 2014
By 
Richard Miller (ALBUQUERQUE, NEW MEXICO, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: H2O (Hardcover)
Photographer Howard Schatz extends to an enormous range of creativity photography beautiful women underwater. Each photograph is a unique, gorgeous vision. What is there not to like?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

H2O
H2O by Howard Schatz (Hardcover - November 12, 2007)
$60.00
Usually ships in 2 to 4 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.