Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost better on DVD than on TV
If I'm not mistaken H2O first came to TeenNick in 2008, I've watched every episode and collected the Australian DVD sets for each season. It must've done very well in the ratings game despite a sometimes hit & miss broadcast schedule because I'm pretty sure nothing else by Jonathan Shiff has ever made it to NTSC format DVD, not even Ocean Girl. The individual episodes are...
Published on November 22, 2012 by A. Burchfield

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad DVD's...unwatchable.
The entire set of discs skip and pause throughout the serries. I havent found 1 disk that plays without an issue...and we paid more to get a "new" set of DVD's rather than by used just to avoid this problem. So yeah, basically we paid $60 for something we cant watch.
Published 14 months ago by Aaron DeGroat


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost better on DVD than on TV, November 22, 2012
By 
A. Burchfield (Conway, Missouri USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: H2O: Just Add Water - The Complete Series (DVD)
If I'm not mistaken H2O first came to TeenNick in 2008, I've watched every episode and collected the Australian DVD sets for each season. It must've done very well in the ratings game despite a sometimes hit & miss broadcast schedule because I'm pretty sure nothing else by Jonathan Shiff has ever made it to NTSC format DVD, not even Ocean Girl. The individual episodes are well written and fun to watch, generally better than American "teen" television.

I've just made a quick run through for picture quality and DVD content and was pretty well satisfied. The picture is very clear with good color- actually better than my satellite TV reception ever was. If you need/want captioning (Nick's broadcast had it), you're out of luck, the set doesn't have it

The DVD menu may be better than on the Australian DVDs but I'm just a little bit unhappy with the selection of extras with this package. Also, while nothing is missing as to content, the Australian editions divided each episode into more chapters-if you've got them and made some notes about what chapter to find the best "bit" in you're out of luck with episodes apparently divided into just 5 chapters.
Every Australian H2O set came out with a few extras such as a photo gallery, character profiles or behind the scenes bits. Here we get only the Season 3 "Behind the Scenes" special, better than the one Season 2 has (a version of that one was shown in the U.S.) and "telemovies" of each season. The season 1 movie ( these are heavily edited TV movies made of key episode bits from each season) is placed here with the "Behind the scenes" specials, (which was apparently shown in Australia just prior to the 3rd season), on one of the 1st season DVDs and seems to be exactly as shown on the Season 2 Australian DVD set. Apparently newly made "telemovies", no other set than Australian #2 had one, are the only extras the other Seasons have in this collection.

I'd like more chapter divisions in each episode and all of the Australian edition extras, otherwise I find nothing wrong with this DVD set.

I've read on Australiantelevision.net that a sequel series, with Lucy Fry of "Alien Surf Girls" is in production, maybe we'll get to see that too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, December 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: H2O: Just Add Water - The Complete Series (DVD)
I found H2O while hunting through hulu plus and enjoyed the first two episodes enough that I bought the whole set. I watched it once and then immediately had to rewatch the whole series. Yes it's about teen-age girls who, at the touch of water turn into mermaids. Their problems are normal to their age, friendships, relationships especially with parents and siblings, with the added complication of hiding their secret. But the girls are so charming that I was hooked. The water scenes, especially with the mermaids, are amazingly beautiful and the tale is arced with a solid ending at the end of each season. I would love to revisit these girls at their present ages, mid-twenties. If the government got a hold of their secret, I could imagine a mermaid detachment of the Australian Navy. Human complications such as marriage, pregnancy complications from growing a tail, and the possibility of a mer child would provide enchanting story possibilities
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great choice for family viewing, April 1, 2013
By 
DVD reviewer (Bloomington, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: H2O: Just Add Water - The Complete Series (DVD)
This Australian-made TV series aimed at teens and `tweens has turned into a worldwide phenomenon, and I can see why. The plots may be as straightforward as you'd expect from a 30-minute comedy-drama, character development is basically a composite profile gained from spending time with these people week after week, and crises tend to be resolved fairly quickly. But there's an addictive quality to H2O: Just Add Water that's hard to pinpoint. When one episode ends, everyone wants to watch another right away. Partly it's because you want to spend time with the characters, but partly it's the narrative arc.

These are not stand-alone episodes, but rather a continuing storyline about three Gold Coast teens who end up transformed by an event at Mako Island, so that every time water touches any part of their skin they change into mermaids. It sounds gimmicky, but the mermaid angle really adds a fun level to an otherwise typical teen and family comedy-drama. In this series, as in Lost, there's a mysterious island that holds a secret, and like Bewitched those with powers use them secretly and try to conceal them from others. That leads to both comic situations and also tension over whether they'll be discovered. And of course there's also a bit of "The Little Mermaid" and "Splash." One mermaid leaves and another replaces her in Season 3, but because the focus shifts and different characters are spotlighted from season to season, it hardly makes a difference. You'd think this show would appeal only to girls, but our son enjoyed it, and so did the adults. A word of warning, though. The show's theme song--"No Ordinary Girl"--is so catchy it's tough to get it out of your head.

James Plath
Family Home Theater
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this show!!!!, April 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: H2O: Just Add Water - The Complete Series (DVD)
love this show since i saw it on teen nick i am really happy to be able to watch all the episodes finally. i would recommend this show to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars advide movie watcher, April 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: H2O: Just Add Water - The Complete Series (DVD)
Basically I love this series because its about mermaids, I just love the myth and the tails are so realistic. Good series for the family. Recommended viewing for the young and young at heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars H2O --a big hit fun series, April 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: H2O: Just Add Water - The Complete Series (DVD)
This is a fun gentle series about the trials and tribulations of three beautiful girls from different backgrounds that deal with life in unusual ways after accidentally being turned into mermaids. The plot twists are funny and hilarious as they try to keep their secret and maintain a low profile trying to live their lives with the usual things life throws at teenage girls. The shows are well written and absolutely beautifully choreographed beneath the ocean when they are swimming. The underwater scenes alone are well worth the price of this blue-ray set. The series has progressively intricate plot lines through out the series. This should be a treat to anyone who like a funny well written teenage adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Safe for any age, March 16, 2013
By 
P David (Salt Lake City, Utah) - See all my reviews
This review is from: H2O: Just Add Water - The Complete Series (DVD)
I caught this on Amazon Prime during some late evening surfing. It is a thoroughly enjoyable show, and makes one wish to live in Australia, where 'while' is replaced by 'whilst'. Get this for your kids and know that they will be entertained by a superior show without the violence and objectionable language. By the way, don't assume that I have a problem with violence and language; one of my favorite films is 'Reservoir Dogs'. I do, however, appreciate that a film like that is not acceptable for younger viewers. H2O is just what I would choose for my 12 year old daughter (if she was still 12). Buy it without worry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars H2O Just Add Water - The Complete Series (12-Discs), April 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: H2O: Just Add Water - The Complete Series (DVD)
REGION 1

H2O Just Add Water - Season 1 (26 Episodes 2006, 639 min.)
H2O Just Add Water - Season 2 (26 Episodes 2007, 639 min.)
H2O Just Add Water - Season 3 (26 Episodes 2009, 637 min.)

Video: 16:9 Widescreen 1.78:1
Audio: Dolby Digital 2.0 English
No Subtitles
Extras: Behind-The-Scenes (25 min.)
H2O Just Add Water: The Metamorphosis (2006, 91 min. Telemovie Season 1)
H2O Just Add Water: Sea Change (2008, 93 min. Telemovie Season 2)
H2O Just Add Water: Mermaid Magic (2009, 90 min. Telemovie Season 3)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Series, March 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: H2O: Just Add Water - The Complete Series (DVD)
This is a great series, I am 50 and I enjoy watching this series very much, my daughter got me into it :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great show, April 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: H2O: Just Add Water - The Complete Series (DVD)
This is a great show for kids and preteens. My sister loves it and I find myself wondering what it would be like and how they keep it from their families all that time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

H2O: Just Add Water - The Complete Series
H2O: Just Add Water - The Complete Series by Colin Budds (DVD - 2012)
$99.95 $71.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.