Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 57 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Advantages and disadvantages.
Many people wonder: Should I get the HP 12c Platinum or the old standby, the HP 12c gold. Personally, I'd recommend getting both. Like most things, each model has advantages and disadvantages, but both are still among the finest feats in engineering in terms of a calculator. Keep in mind there are two versions of the Platinum -- the original and the 2.0 version. The 2.0...
Published on March 10, 2006

versus
194 of 201 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A half-hearted upgrade is BADDER than no upgrade at all
I have been using both the 12c Platinum (call it 12cP) and 12C for study and at work. I use the 12C gold more often than the 12cP.

My biggest disappointment with the 12cP is its relatively slow processing SPEED vis-a-vis the predecessor 12C and its competition (the HP10B, TIBA2plus).

The 12cP is notably slower than the 12C especially when performing...
Published on July 12, 2004 by Let it Be


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

194 of 201 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A half-hearted upgrade is BADDER than no upgrade at all, July 12, 2004
This review is from: HP 12C Platinum Calculator (Office Product)
I have been using both the 12c Platinum (call it 12cP) and 12C for study and at work. I use the 12C gold more often than the 12cP.

My biggest disappointment with the 12cP is its relatively slow processing SPEED vis-a-vis the predecessor 12C and its competition (the HP10B, TIBA2plus).

The 12cP is notably slower than the 12C especially when performing Time Value of Money (TVM) calculations.

Running both HP12s side-by-side with the same data input, my 12cP has been consistently slower by 50% as compared to my 12C.

If possible, I would suggest that potential users and buyers try this data set on both the 12C and 12cP before buying. Clear register. Find [i] after input [PMT]=-1458;[FV]=0,[n]=84,[PV]=103600. The HP12C would take 20 seconds "running" while the HP12cP would take about 30 seconds to give the same answer [i]=0.4059!

This apparent lack of speed is difficult to accept for a supposedly latest financial calculator upgrade from any manufacturer! It is a bad joke, considering that my 12 years old HP10B could perform the same TVM calculation in just 2 to 3 seconds!

However,both HP12Cs are great value for money if the user consider the TOTAL solutions and free website support and training which is available from HP. In addition, there are lots of literature and solutions written by third party users over the still ongoing 20+ years production run of the 12C. IMHO,in addition to excellent user support, the PROGRAMMING capability of the HP12c is the other major face saving advantage which put both the 12Cs over its TI challengers for now.

The good people @ HP may like to know that 96% of my fellow students are now using their competitor's Texas Instrument TI-BAIIplus! The BAII-plus is chosen for its 50% lower price and much faster processing speed. The relative slower speed of the HP12c/12cP does not pull the crowds from TI, especially when speed is much needed during stressful exams condition. A slower processing speed would also cancels off the advantage of learning RPN.

After using the misnomer of a sucessor HP12cP, I personally feel that the 12C is still very much the industry standard. However, it would be better if HP would consider incorporating some useful improvements like a [BACKSPACE] key if it is technically feasible. Also, seasoned 12C users of the RPN would not miss the ALG mode on the 12cP especially when it HP doesn't have ( ) included. The HP12cP is an odd ball ALG calculator from this viewpoint. A suggestion to the dear good people at HP, please let future HP12C GOLD upgrades remain as an exclusively RPN machine.

I would also be very glad if somebody from HP could highlight to me on which are the 10+ more (130+ total)improved functions on the 12cP as compared to the 12C (120+ functions) to help me justify the additional price of 28%+ paid for the 12cP in Singapore.

Both my 12C/cP sets were "Made in China" by probably the same HP OEM to reasonably high HP quality. At a glance, the HP12C gold apparently has better cosmetic finishing than the 12cP. In addition, the keys on the 12C does feel very much better than those on the 12cP.

In a nutshell, the 12cP is more of "an alternative to 12C with ALG mode" than an upgrade or a sucessor of the 12C GOLD. When choosing between the 12C or 12cP, it is wiser to go for the 12C the "good old" 12C or 12C GOLD!

Smart consumers who do not need extra memory for programming and the ALG mode, should go for GOLD, buy the 12C GOLD standard until HP could produce a real and wholehearted improvement of the 12C line.

Thank you for reading my personal user experience with the HP12c PLATINUM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 57 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Advantages and disadvantages., March 10, 2006
A Kid's Review
This review is from: HP 12C Platinum Calculator (Office Product)
Many people wonder: Should I get the HP 12c Platinum or the old standby, the HP 12c gold. Personally, I'd recommend getting both. Like most things, each model has advantages and disadvantages, but both are still among the finest feats in engineering in terms of a calculator. Keep in mind there are two versions of the Platinum -- the original and the 2.0 version. The 2.0 version is much better, and you'll know you have it if it has backspace and undo [g] functions. It's finally a respectible "upgrade" to one of the best calculators ever made.

What about the 12c Platinum?

Advantages:

- Much, much faster than the gold. It crunches IRR calculations in a fraction of the time. You might even find yourself missing the "running" message that's so common with the gold HP 12c. You cannot overestimate the advantage of the increase in speed, especially with test taking.

- Backspace and undo key. Having a backspace key really is nice, especially if you work with many long numbers.

- More program memory. Unlike the gold, the Platinum can hold something like 999 lines of memory. The gold only holds 100 or so, which fills up pretty quickly. Some options pricing models, for instance, will consume all 100 lines.

- Color. Many younger people think the silver color looks "cooler" or more current. Personally, I like the gold -- looks retro or something. It's personal taste, though.

Disadvantages:

- Slightly slower "wake up" period. You have to hold the 'on' button about a half of a second longer for the Platinum calculator to turn on versus the gold. Not a big deal, but a little frustrating for gold users who have years of habit.

- Display font not quite as nice. The gold's display is really nice. The characters are well formed and the screen has a nice contrast to it. The Platinum's screen is a bit different, some might say more updated and similar to other modern HP calculators. It's still very clear, though.

- Harder to see the orange functions. Maybe it's the silver screen plate, but for whatever reason, the orange functions just don't stand out as well as they do on the black faceplate of the gold.

- Buttons feel a little cheaper. I'm not talking about the responsiveness of the keys -- that's actually pretty good on the Platinum (maybe even better than the gold). It's just that the plastic the keys are formed out of plastic that feels a little less dense.

- Button font slightly less bold. Unlike the definitive, almost bold type on the gold's keys, the keys on the Platinum don't stand out as well. The type might be smaller, but I'm not sure. It's not a big deal, but noticeable.

- Lack of key-entry "flash." When you press [PV] or [i] or any of the financial keys on the Platinum, the screen doesn't flash like the gold does. That flash is nice because it really lets you know the data has been punched it. Again, it's not a big deal, since you can [RCL] the data to make sure it's in there. Also, if you have the calculator set on three or more decimal points --and enter a number with less decimal points -- the conversion will make it clear the entry has been made.

Which is best for you? Tough call. If speed is No. 1 to you, Platinum 2.0 for sure. The gold, however, is really close to perfect. What not get one of each?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


97 of 103 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Stick with the 12c, August 6, 2003
By 
Mike (Kensington, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: HP 12C Platinum Calculator (Office Product)
HP really dropped the ball on this one. The 12cp is poorly made and not worth the money. As was mentioned before, the TVM functions are slower than the 12c. One would think that one of the design benchmarks would be to at least out perform the 12c! There is also a bug in the programming side of the calculator, which if you want more detail, is defined at some calculator websites. I was duped into buying the 12cp and, upon opening the package, immediately noticed the poorer design. The numbers and functions on the keys are painted on instead of being molded into the plastic of the key. I already have a key that is scratched from accidentally dropping the calculator. Also, the "Enter" key has a bounce to it that gives a double click every time I use it. This may be particular to my 12cp, but it is incredibly annoying and the 12c, which I have had for years, works flawlessly. It may be slower, but stick with the "gold" standard and maybe buy an extra one in case HP discontinues it. I gave it one star because they require that something be selected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HP 12C PLATINUM calculagator SIX TIMES FASTER than the Gold Standard, February 28, 2006
By 
nick g (brooklyn, ny) - See all my reviews
This review is from: HP 12C Platinum Calculator (Office Product)
guys - if you are still planning on taking the CFA (or even if you're not) using an HP 12C calculator, i emphatically recommend popping down to J&R (price match to wal-mart.com will save you $5) and buying the new HP 12C Platinum for $79.99. It is a zillion times faster (well, 6X) than the regular one but otherwise works almost exactly the samely. for example: i ran the following calculation simultaneously on the both and used identical button pushes to achieve them, but the platinum was incredibly faster:

time in seconds

enter cmd Gold Platinum

360 n instant instant

6.625 g i instant instant

740000 PV instant instant

0 FV instant instant

running PMT 1.8 0.5

0 i

running i 16.8 2.7

other differences:

pros:

faster (holy cow is it faster!!!!)

has backspace key (works okay, not super useful tho)

has undo command (this is real easy to use and comes in handy once in a while)

has algebraic entry mode (not just RPN) and parenthesis (both useless if you ask me)

has spot to scratch in your name on the back (cute)

comes with a nice hard leather protective holster (cheap quality though)

cons:

display doesn't blink with each key press to acknowledge entry - this stinks and is actually a very big deal!

screen doesn't look as nice (they used a standard calculator LCD instead of the awesome stylish one they used to use - actually the new one's screen looks terrible when you put it right next to the gold one - the gold had a GREAT screen and great font that was really easy to read and looked super classy. i will miss it very much.)

feels & looks a little more cheaply made

keys labels are painted on rather than moulded into the plastic - looks like they won't last through years of use

keys don't click as solidly. they're fine and you know when they've been pressed (which is tthe most important thing) but they don't feel as wonderful to push.

so, all in all, the new one is crappier quality but so so much faster it is unquestionably worth it to get it.

I only wish it came in green so i could call it a calculigator.

BE WARNED - THERE ARE TWO VERSIONS OF THIS CALCULATOR AVAILABLE! one stinks and one is awesome. make sure you don't get the stinky one - make sure it has the blue backspace key on the minus sign - and the blue undo key on the divide sign (it is a low swoopy n-shaped arrow pointing down-left) there is no different model number! mine has a sticker on the back that says CNA 51800093, but google tells me nothing about this code.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Seems Pretty Good to Me - But Watchout for the "OLD" Platinum Version, October 12, 2005
By 
This review is from: HP 12C Platinum Calculator (Office Product)
I agree that the build quality on the Platinum is slightly lower than the original 10c series I remember from the 80s (keys and case seem more "plasticy"). However, everything else that matters about this new version is positive. As far as speed goes, I can't really see any difference. I tried the interest rate calculation suggested by another reviewer, and my 12cP returned the answer in about 1 second. How much faster do you want? It's a CALCULATOR, not a PC!

===
Update: Because of the many contradictory comments here, I decided to do some further research on the Platinum. For example, my 12cP does the TVM calculation specified by another reviewer in about 1 second, whereas that reviewer was experiencing upwards of 30 seconds for the same calculation. Well, it turns out there is a FIXED version of the 12cP out there that addresses this speed issue, as well as keyboard problems, lack of parenthesis, and other issues. Unfortunately, there's really no way to tell what you're going to get if you order on-line. The model number is the same and the only visible difference that I know of is open/close parenthesis symbols on the STO/RCL keys. This should be visible without opening the retail package. I'm guessing the poor reviews here are by unfortunate folks that have the OLD version, while the positive reviews are being put in by us lucky ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars slower than a "gold" 12c, July 29, 2003
By 
This review is from: HP 12C Platinum Calculator (Office Product)
for the record, i have the 19, the 17BII, and an older "gold" 12c. i was thrilled to find hp finally upgraded the venerable 12c. about time they spruced up their cash cow and made it more powerful than the average digital watch, right? i was absolutely stunned to discover that the platinum 12c is actually SLOWER than the gold 12c on time value of money (TVM) calcs. trust me, i have been the subject of much derision at the office for my re-dubbed "silver" 12c. i imagine for most of wall street, getting algebraic notation and losing what sluggish performance it had is a BAD trade. certain TVM calcs that are instant on the 17BII (a calculator over a decade old) takes 30+ seconds on the new 12c. shame on hp for continuing to abuse its captive audience of finance professionals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Say it ain't so, HP..., May 21, 2004
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: HP 12C Platinum Calculator (Office Product)
I bought my first HP 12C back in 85 as a finance student and I haven't been able to use a different calculator since. Over the years I've actually amassed a few more 12C's which I've kept at the office, home, etc.
When this new version came out I was really excited to try it out even if I had absolutely no reason to do so by virtue of my half a dozen or so 12C's. I had to try it, however and I ordered it last week. For some reason I didn't read any of the reviews (bad call) and boy did I pay for it!
The Platinum 12C is truly a piece of junk. More reminiscent of old Texas instrument calculators than of real 12Cs. Starting with the keys, you immediately get the sense of holding a much more cheaply made calculator. The keys jiggle and they actually make a cheap plastic noise when you press them (whereas the old 12C keys were solid and the way they pressed into the body of the computer made any HP calculator a pleasure to work with), the feet are uneven so when you press the keys the machine actually moves from side to side even on a flat surface. The display is a disaster - when you press lightly on it you get a ghost image that lasts for a few seconds.
I must admit that I like the new look - sharp, modern, up to date. But the much cheaper manufacturing of this calculator make the decision easy. Stick with the old 12C. You'll be sadly disappointed if you buy this calculator.
I'm truly amazed that HP would actually launch this piece of junk knowing that this calculator has probably enjoyed a more loyal following than any other product in their line. Why would they sacrifice years of loyalty to save a few pennies. I don't know - maybe Carly is reading these reviews and will let us all know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One more gripe, January 10, 2005
By 
Bruce Baker (Falls Church, VA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: HP 12C Platinum Calculator (Office Product)
Other reviewers have pointed out ways in which the 12cp falls short of the original 12c, so I won't repeat those. My gripe is that the case for the 12cp is complete crap. It's stiff and horrible. It takes considerable force to stuff the calculator into the case, whereas the old 12c case fits like a custom glove.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HP responds to early critics of 12cp?, November 8, 2005
This review is from: HP 12C Platinum Calculator (Office Product)
This is my first financial calculator purchase. I read that 12c was supposed to be "the standard" with a fanatical fan base, but was surprised to see strong critiques of the 12cp vs. the classic 12c. Some of the critiques are these:

- TVM function takes half a minute to run; took seconds on 12c

- No backspace or undo

- How can you have an Algebraic mode with no parentheses?

I e-mailed HP about these issues but received no answer for some reason. I got some info from the HP Museum forum on the "old" & "new" 12cp versions. I walked into Office Depot, and the one they handed to me had all these issues fixed. The parentheses are under STO & RCL, the backspace is under the minus sign, and the undo is under the divided by sign.

So, at this point, can we agree that 12cp is, in fact, an upgrade to 12c (assuming that you've got the right 12cp)?

Anyway, it appears to be quite slick & well-designed, with an impressive amount of functionality. I was surprised to see that people have used its programming functionality to create simple games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Slower than the "Gold" HP-12C, August 18, 2003
By 
This review is from: HP 12C Platinum Calculator (Office Product)
The HP-12C is commonly used in appraisal work; in fact, it is required for most appraisal courses. So, that's how I got started using it. Now, I have always found the "Gold" HP-12C functionally just fine, except that it is very slow, especially on TVM functions. I was excited to hear that HP had come out with an upgraded "Platinum" version. I bought it assuming it would be faster. But, I was disappointed to find out that it was, in fact, slower. You'd think HP would have their act together after all these years. Maybe some other company will come along and give us what we really need - a faster HP-12C. It would also be nice if they would add trig functions and improve it's programmability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

HP 12C Platinum Calculator
$104.99 $71.31
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.