Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


63 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lightning fast!!
This laptop is a steal at this price,lightning fast CPU,it has the new 2014 amd a8 quad core CPU and graphics ! It has a great picture,great for watching HD content,vibrant bright colors.fast web browsing,downloads web pages super fast.plays Netflix and YouTube videos great,no buffering at all. Windows 8.1 is a little tricky to operate,it is a little bit different than...
Published 7 months ago by dan c.

versus
17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very Cheap Display
If you're wondering where they skimped in order to get the price to this point, wonder no more – it's the display. I haven't seen a display with these types of contrast, color temperature, viewing angle, and color depth issues in probably 6 or 7 years. Now, you might consider this nitpicking at this price point. But, when you consider that it makes nearly all text...
Published 5 months ago by Sam


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

63 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lightning fast!!, July 7, 2014
This review is from: HP 15-G012DX 15.6" Laptop PC - AMD Quad-Core A8 / 4GB Memory / 750GB HD / DVD±RW/CD-RW / HD Webcam / Windows 8.1 64-bit (Black Licorice) (Personal Computers)
This laptop is a steal at this price,lightning fast CPU,it has the new 2014 amd a8 quad core CPU and graphics ! It has a great picture,great for watching HD content,vibrant bright colors.fast web browsing,downloads web pages super fast.plays Netflix and YouTube videos great,no buffering at all. Windows 8.1 is a little tricky to operate,it is a little bit different than windows 8. I called HP tech support and they walked me through the 8.1 operating system,HP tech support has been great,very friendly and patient,they will answer any questions you have.highly recommend this HP laptop!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STEAL FOR THE PRICE!, July 31, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: HP 15-G012DX 15.6" Laptop PC - AMD Quad-Core A8 / 4GB Memory / 750GB HD / DVD±RW/CD-RW / HD Webcam / Windows 8.1 64-bit (Black Licorice) (Personal Computers)
Ok, first off the computer is lightning fast, can run DAY Z which is a hard game to run :) YAY. Over 60 FPS on Minecraft using Fancy Graphics I used to get 20-30 fps :) The hard drive we all know we will never use all of it up so good thing for that. This steal gets 5 stars :)Plus this computer has a fast CPU which is very good for computers today. Most people cant play 4k video quality videos can they? Well this one can, if you like to skype or make vlogs for youtube you have a excellent webcam to use. Also this computer has a HDMI port and 3 USB ports. If you had to get any computer this would be it! Plus with the percentage off this is a steal!

-Josh R
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive laptop, August 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: HP 15-G012DX 15.6" Laptop PC - AMD Quad-Core A8 / 4GB Memory / 750GB HD / DVD±RW/CD-RW / HD Webcam / Windows 8.1 64-bit (Black Licorice) (Personal Computers)
Great laptop for a great price. Did my research and this is the best laptop for the money by far!!!! Super fast and I've experienced very little lag. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very Cheap Display, September 7, 2014
By 
Sam (Dallas, TX) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: HP 15-G012DX 15.6" Laptop PC - AMD Quad-Core A8 / 4GB Memory / 750GB HD / DVD±RW/CD-RW / HD Webcam / Windows 8.1 64-bit (Black Licorice) (Personal Computers)
If you're wondering where they skimped in order to get the price to this point, wonder no more – it's the display. I haven't seen a display with these types of contrast, color temperature, viewing angle, and color depth issues in probably 6 or 7 years. Now, you might consider this nitpicking at this price point. But, when you consider that it makes nearly all text difficult to read, it should probably weigh more heavily into your decision-making.

Light colors don't render correctly at all, and are much paler and grayer than what you would see on any other display. It's as if the LCD pixels have trouble stopping the LED backlight from bleeding through. Text appears particularly washed out and difficult to read, since the anti-aliasing pixels all but vanish. The color temperature is also way off. You can mess with the color temperature, but it will go from blue tinged, to ugly yellowish, to slightly red. In fact, you can change the color and display settings all you want, but you will never find a good balance. You will gain something in one place but lose a lot more somewhere else. Don't even think about using this laptop for any color-sensitive work.

Don't let the WLED specification fool you. Every CCFL display I've used in the past five years has looked better than this display. I also suspect that the WLED refresh rate is fairly low, and this has been known to induce headaches and discomfort in some people. Note that this is separate from the LCD refresh rate and rarely quoted in specs.

Add all these problems to a very narrow and low optimum viewing angle, and the already well known Windows 8 font rendering issues, and you have a laptop that feels like a real chore to use.

Maybe I got a bad example. Maybe HP uses a couple different vendors to supply the screens. I don't know. It surprises me that no one else has brought up this point. I've connected the laptop to several other external displays and they all look fine. So, the core problem is almost assuredly with the display panel and not a driver/hardware/software issue. I imagine if I complained about the quality, I'd just end up without the laptop for a couple weeks and they would tell me that they checked it and everything was in spec.

Bottom line is, if you are used to the much higher end displays used on phones, tablets, monitors, tvs, and more expensive laptops, this display will probably be an unpleasant surprise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ''Great buy for anyone'', August 13, 2014
This review is from: HP 15-G012DX 15.6" Laptop PC - AMD Quad-Core A8 / 4GB Memory / 750GB HD / DVD±RW/CD-RW / HD Webcam / Windows 8.1 64-bit (Black Licorice) (Personal Computers)
I bought this laptop about a week ago and its been running great its super fast it can run pretty demanding games like Minecraft,No more room in hell,Roblox Etc ITS NOT A GAMING LAPTOP. One complaint that i do have is that the battery does die pretty quick it is only a 3 cell battery and it will only last on a full charge around 3 hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent buy, August 5, 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (Piedmont, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: HP 15-G012DX 15.6" Laptop PC - AMD Quad-Core A8 / 4GB Memory / 750GB HD / DVD±RW/CD-RW / HD Webcam / Windows 8.1 64-bit (Black Licorice) (Personal Computers)
I've only been using this computer for about a week, so will update later, but at this time I have no complaints. I bought this to replace my 17.3" HP laptop with a broken screen. For the price, it's plenty fast (I was concerned that the processor was not an i3), has a large HD, a DVD drive (this was important to me as so many inexpensive laptops leave that out to lower the price). number pad and an OK feel to the keyboard. I am not a fan of Windows 8 but am already getting used to it. Screen resolution is decent and I like the fact this computer is much lighter than my old, larger HP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Battery isn't too good since its a 3 cell but its an affordable ..., August 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: HP 15-G012DX 15.6" Laptop PC - AMD Quad-Core A8 / 4GB Memory / 750GB HD / DVD±RW/CD-RW / HD Webcam / Windows 8.1 64-bit (Black Licorice) (Personal Computers)
Has a restocking fee becareful if you open and want to return. 4gb is kinda small to have many tabs open on chrome so i suggest firefox or maybe ie. Battery isn't too good since its a 3 cell but its an affordable laptop that gets the job done so its okay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars and easy to use, August 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: HP 15-G012DX 15.6" Laptop PC - AMD Quad-Core A8 / 4GB Memory / 750GB HD / DVD±RW/CD-RW / HD Webcam / Windows 8.1 64-bit (Black Licorice) (Personal Computers)
I have always been a huge fan of hp. but this new operating system takes some getting used to. other than that i would have to say that this laptop is all that i expect from hp responsive,fast, and easy to use. this is what in my eyes everything a computer should be. the media features such as the dvd read and write cd read wtite the ease of set up. all around great product. for the price its a great deal and a lot better than trying ti find a comparable deal anywhere else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice smooth graphics, September 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: HP 15-G012DX 15.6" Laptop PC - AMD Quad-Core A8 / 4GB Memory / 750GB HD / DVD±RW/CD-RW / HD Webcam / Windows 8.1 64-bit (Black Licorice) (Personal Computers)
I bought this to run my (4) HD security cameras, it works flawlessly.

The keyboard is slightly smaller than the Toshiba satellite it replaced, but the performance makes up for that.

Nice smooth graphics, no noticeable buffering
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great computer for the price, September 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: HP 15-G012DX 15.6" Laptop PC - AMD Quad-Core A8 / 4GB Memory / 750GB HD / DVD±RW/CD-RW / HD Webcam / Windows 8.1 64-bit (Black Licorice) (Personal Computers)
Very good computer for the money it is fast, runs Windows 8.1 very well. Has built in video and audio with cd-rom burner and reader. Uses an AMD A8 processor excellent for this price.
This can be a business computer or for home use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.