Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beast..
Great desktop ...this beast runs everything so far FarCry3, hitman, borderlands 2, tomb raider,crysis 3, rage and much more with no problems ....
Published 18 months ago by Trini-boy

versus
19 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars windows 7 drivers are a real headache to find
as is, the item is fine. the amd processor is not up to snuff with its intel price equivalent, but so be it. i would probably rate it 4 stars if not for the following:

the real issue is i have programs that will not run on windows 8, so i "downgraded" to windows 7.

there are no official drivers from HP, and you need to get on the internet to get...
Published 20 months ago by fixxxer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beast.., April 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: HP Envy h8-1450 Desktop (Black) (Personal Computers)
Great desktop ...this beast runs everything so far FarCry3, hitman, borderlands 2, tomb raider,crysis 3, rage and much more with no problems ....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love my new Computer!, February 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: HP Envy h8-1450 Desktop (Black) (Personal Computers)
I have had this PC for about a month and I could not be happier! It is super fast and runs so quiet you can not even tell that it is running. It took a little time to get use to windows 8 but after about 2 days or so I was off and running. I would buy this again and highly recommend to anyone looking for a awesome PC. Amazon, as always, is amazing! I ordered using Prime and got it the next day. The PC arrived in perfect condition and I had it up and running in less than an hour!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The stars say it all, August 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: HP Envy h8-1450 Desktop (Black) (Personal Computers)
Great product. Well done HP! Runs great fairly easy to use. a small learning curve. Read the enclosed guides before set up and use. =D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Computer, April 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: HP Envy h8-1450 Desktop (Black) (Personal Computers)
Very fast, very quiet. No loss of performance no matter how many internet tabs are open or what's running in the background.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars windows 7 drivers are a real headache to find, February 11, 2013
By 
This review is from: HP Envy h8-1450 Desktop (Black) (Personal Computers)
as is, the item is fine. the amd processor is not up to snuff with its intel price equivalent, but so be it. i would probably rate it 4 stars if not for the following:

the real issue is i have programs that will not run on windows 8, so i "downgraded" to windows 7.

there are no official drivers from HP, and you need to get on the internet to get windows update to find most of the others (but good luck since I couldn't download a NIC driver). luckily i was able to USB tether my phone.

even after getting some drivers, there was still no Bluetooth (dont care) or USB 3.0 driver for the front ports (do care). so i'm now scouring the internet to find old windows 7 drivers, and extracting the executable files to take out the drivers files.

MAJOR PAIN IN THE A. i don't think most people looking for a computer like this will have the technical know how to do all this.

Bottom line, if you are 100% fine with Windows 8, I would say pull the trigger and buy. If you find Windows 8 to be a fail (like I did), this machine is not worth the headache to get Win7 running with all features, look elsewhere!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Be Open To Change, January 23, 2014
By 
Electronics Geek "Jack" (Suffern, NY United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: HP Envy h8-1450 Desktop (Black) (Personal Computers)
We actually bought two of these (his and hers) late last year. They replaced a 10 year old HP and a 10 year old Dell XPS Gen V, both running XP. The new machines are delightlfully quiet and responsive (upgraded both to 24 G of RAM). Did the Windows 8.1 update immediately. Use is for surfing, some work (Microsoft Office suite), photography (image proecessing), watching TV (live video streaming from stations we don't get on cable, like the news from our other home, Miami). Not gamers.

8.1 is a bit flaky. When the machine goes into sleep, it sometimes awakens with strange screen resolutions, requiring a reboot. The OS was obviously designed for tablets so it reverts back to a screen that is very unlike the start bar of past Windows (I really miss "file manager" of the very first Windows but I'm showing my age). HOWVER, like every genration of Windows after 95, you can make modifications to the GUI that put things in a far more familiar framework (like having navigation in 8.1 based on the desktop--if you looked at my machine, you'd think it was runnig XP).

The secret to embracing 8.1 is to make your PC into a tablet. That means a touch screen (in our case, big Acers). My wife LOVES 8.1 because she uses the screen more than the mouse and keyboard and it's a very smooth transition for her to go back and forth between her Kindle Fire and the HP PC. She flies around her applications and files looking like an orchestra conductor on the big monitor. So, be open...customize what you want and you can make this PC look and feel like any other computer you've had, only faster, quieter and compatible with all the newest software.

4 stars because 8.1 is still evolving and a bit unstable. 5 if rating the PC alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Computer, December 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: HP Envy h8-1450 Desktop (Black) (Personal Computers)
The computer is great.

Pros:
Fast starting up (fully boots up within seconds)
Storage (2 terabytes)
Fast all around due to the 6 core processor and 10 GB of memory

Cons:
None so far
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, December 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: HP Envy h8-1450 Desktop (Black) (Personal Computers)
Love this! We have so enjoyed our new computer and we couldn't be more pleased with the performance! Thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice PC for the money, August 19, 2014
This review is from: HP Envy h8-1450 Desktop (Black) (Personal Computers)
Nice PC with plenty of power and lots of storage. The Bluetooth is a little finicky though, but I believe it is a software issue, not a hardware prob.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Desktop, June 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: HP Envy h8-1450 Desktop (Black) (Personal Computers)
I was a little leary at first about it being a refurbished desktop, but it was such a good price, i couldn't pass it up. It arrived earlier than expected, which was wonderful, and came with all the correct parts and user materials. It is in excellent condition, and runs like a champ! Overall, i'm thrilled with this purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

HP Envy h8-1450 Desktop (Black)
Used & New from: $799.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.