Customer Reviews


352 Reviews
5 star:
 (130)
4 star:
 (91)
3 star:
 (35)
2 star:
 (24)
1 star:
 (72)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1,163 of 1,194 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WARNING: Do NOT use "Express Setup" - use only "CUSTOM Setup"
Go ahead and read the 1-star reviews first, let yourself get scared silly, then come back and read THIS review, and you will quickly see that the problems the 1-star complainers are experiencing are because THEY WON'T READ AND FOLLOW SIMPLE DIRECTIONS, so the problems they describe are their own fault. Those who followed simple directions gave the laptop 5 stars...
Published 9 months ago by D. Cushman

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Takes a good amount of configuring to get this to work how you want it
I wasn't expecting this to be the fastest netbook in the world, but it was painfully slow when running it "out of the box". Yeah, yeah, yeah, I did the "custom setup" and not the express setup and made sure everything was disabled... but it still didn't feel "snappy" enough. Whenever I clicked or tapped on an icon, button, or anything in the...
Published 4 months ago by E. Hyman


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1,163 of 1,194 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WARNING: Do NOT use "Express Setup" - use only "CUSTOM Setup", December 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: HP Pavilion 10-e010nr TouchSmart Notebook PC (Personal Computers)
Go ahead and read the 1-star reviews first, let yourself get scared silly, then come back and read THIS review, and you will quickly see that the problems the 1-star complainers are experiencing are because THEY WON'T READ AND FOLLOW SIMPLE DIRECTIONS, so the problems they describe are their own fault. Those who followed simple directions gave the laptop 5 stars.

People will throw away 100+ hours every month watching mindless television programs, but they won't invest just a few hours of their TV-watching life to learn how to use a computer. Instead, they want manufacturers to make idiot-proof software so they don't have to actually READ (God forbid they might have to sacrifice an episode of some mindless television program), and if the manufacturer doesn't assist in enabling those people, then the manufacturer is vilified for not making moron-proof products. Furthermore, those same people want the manufacturer to develop a laptop with the performance of a $1,200 unit, yet they want to pay less than $300 for that laptop! ....go figure.

Ya just can't fix stupid.

But take the experience of the complainers and be warned....when you first open and launch Windows 8, you will be presented with the option to select EXPRESS Setup or CUSTOM Setup. If you do as all the nay-sayers did, and you mistakenly select Express Setup, you WILL have a slow-running laptop on your hands that constantly updates itself and throws popups at you. However, if you wisely select CUSTOM Setup, you can easily disable all the unnecessary background apps that are not required for Windows 8 to run, and you will have a quick and fast little laptop like all of us that gave it 4 and 5 stars. Don't be intimidated by the setup process. Microsoft has made it fairly idiot-proof. HOWEVER: Simply going through the Custom Setup process isn't all. You also need to run (and then TURN OFF) Windows Automatic Updates! Keep reading....

I've owned several different laptops over the years (Dell, HP, Lenovo and Sony brands), and I can confidently say this is a GREAT little laptop. I wanted to get something small and compact for my 9 year old daughter for Christmas, but since most of the websites she visits require Flash, that immediately disqualified anything with Chrome OS, Apple iOS, and Android OS. So I wanted to find a small laptop with Windows OS as well as MS Office and a touchscreen. When I found this laptop in December 2013, I was excited because it offers so much for so little. However, I was skeptical because it was brand new to market and as of 12-15-2013, there were almost NO reviews out there I could rely on. However, I invested 2 hours on this laptop before packaging it and handing it over to my daughter for Christmas, and I can confidently give this little beast 2 thumbs up.

It IS very small - perfect for a young kid, teen or college student with small hands. It is NOT for someone with large hands or bad vision (the small screen really shrinks everything down). However, it's perfect for fitting right into a purse or backpack, and it comes with MS Office which is perfect for students (more on the MS Office installation further down in this review). It's very thin, very lightweight, durable, and very compact. It has a quality build to it - not cheap and flimsy. My daughter already dropped it from 3 feet off the floor and it didn't crack or dent, and the hard drive wasn't affected in the least.

BUT REMEMBER THE WARNING YOU MUST HEED: when you power it up, you will be taken through a series of Windows 8 setup processes before you can use it, as well as setting up a personal Microsoft account (don't worry, no money or credit card required. This is where the nay-sayers all went wrong. I cannot emphasize enough how important it is to NOT select "Express Settings". If you do, you WILL regret it. There are a great deal of background apps and services that are defaulted to launch on Startup and constantly seek updates (including Windows itself). Due to limited processing speed and memory on this laptop (in order for HP to sell it for $300 or under), all those apps running in the background will result in slow operation and response times. However, if you choose the Custom setup process, you can disable many unnecessary processes and updates that are not needed to run Windows 8. But don't forget Windows Updates! Keep reading...

I advise NOT to set Windows to Automatic Updates. You can manually update Windows yourself (I usually do this once a month). Those processes are still available whenever you want them - but they do NOT need to automatically load and run in the background each time you start this laptop, so disable all the unnecessary apps and set them to manual. Here's how: Once you have completed the Windows 8 Custom Setup process, you will need to open Internet Explorer, select Tools, and select Windows Update. Even though Windows 8.1 comes installed on this laptop, there are dozens of new updates coming out all the time. The Windows Update process alone could take from 10 to 45 minutes to complete all necessary updates. Once done, my advice is to go back into Control Panel and turn Windows Automatic Updates to OFF or it will always be running in the background and slowing down your laptop. Ignore all the dire warnings it will throw at you. You can manually update Windows anytime you want to. There is no need to have all these processes always running in the background and taking up valuable processor and memory resources. I usually run Windows Update once monthly, but when finished, I go to Control Panel and I again set Windows Automatic Updates to OFF.

If you choose Custom Setup, you will be walked right through this process and it's easy to complete. But if you choose Express Setup, you will be defaulting them to run automatically on startup which is going to place a lot of unnecessary demand on the processor and memory, slowing the machine down and resulting in negative reviews, when in fact the problem is the user, not the laptop. Simply disable the services that aren't required to run on Startup and it'll be quick and responsive.

Sidebar: I note that several of those who 1-star'd the laptop are claiming they selected Custom setup and still experience slow response from the laptop. Okay, pay attention, please...... recall I said earlier "ya can't fix stupid". That being said, even though you select Custom Setup, you still have to manually go through each and every option listed and you must DISABLE all those unnecessary apps! You cannot simply select Custom Setup and then simply click Next, Next, Next on the prompt screens! All that accomplishes is the same as selecting Express Setup, because all those unnecessary apps are still left running in the background. I realize I'm stating the obvious here, but apparently stupidity runs rampant and knows no bounds, hence all the silly warning signs you now find on every product you buy (so as to protect people against their own stupidity).

And don't forget to download and install Flash. Plan on 2 hours to complete ALL setup steps and learning to add/remove/relocate apps on the new Windows 8 Start screen, as well as configuring the laptop to run only necessary Windows processes. It's a bit time consuming but well worth the time invested. If you choose to simply hit "Express" settings, then you'll be one of the unhappy reviewers like a few others here. However, if you take my advice and select the custom manual setup and disable all those unnecessary apps, then you'll find it runs quick and you'll be quite happy with it.

While others complained about Windows 8, I was impressed with the number of user-controlled settings that Windows is providing with this new OS, and the new tiled apps with a touchscreen are pretty cool. The new Start Screen and tiles are new and different, but like anything that needs to be learned, I found it to have a lot of features I really liked. You can add and remove tiles to your start screen, organize the tiles into groups, name the groups, etc.

HP has created a website that teaches you everything you need to know to use Windows 8. At the bottom of this review, go to the Comments and click on page 2 where you will find the URL address that you can cut and paste into your browser.

The touchscreen of this little laptop really impressed me. I expected it to be a bit inaccurate and unresponsive like so many smartphone touchscreens are, but in fact it is VERY responsive and accurate, down to the tiniest little box to be checked with your finger.

Picture quality of the screen is not high definition, but it's normal, and since it's a 10-inch screen, high definition detail cannot be seen anyway. However, it does have a High Definition port to connect to a large HD monitor or television, and others have reported excellent video quality when connected to a TV screen or external monitor. Video quality on the laptop itself is perfectly fine otherwise.

Someone else mentioned slowness in streaming videos, but since I have a high broadband internet connection, I found that videos loaded fast and were absolutely flawless with no buffering or delay. So that user's problem was NOT the laptop, it was her own limited broadband.

The sound system on this laptop also impressed me. It even comes with a built-in sound equalizer to customize sound to your personal tastes.

If you're a hardcore online gamer, you are NOT going to be very happy with the AMD 1 Ghz processor, but then again, this laptop was not designed for heavy duty online gaming, and you can't expect an Intel i7 hyper-threading processor in a laptop under $300. You wouldn't reasonably expect to buy a little car with a 1.5 liter engine and then complain that it doesn't go from 0 to 60 mph in 4.5 seconds, right? Understand that in order for HP to make this a low-priced $300 laptop, they had to put only 2 GB of memory in it and a simple AMD 1Ghz processor. For heavy online gamers or for running resource-intensive programs, this laptop is not sufficient. However, for normal everyday interactive gaming websites and other operating functionality for 90% of most people, it's great. My daughter has had NO trouble at all, even with 3 different web browsers open (Firefox, Chrome and IE) and 4 other offline applications running simultaneously. When launching apps, there is a slight delay of a few seconds, but otherwise the 1 Ghz AMD Processor speed and 2 GB RAM is fine for all applications. If you want faster response and the ability to run programs or gaming software that puts heavy demand on the processor and memory, then you'll need to step up to a laptop in the range of $500 to $1,000. But for basic computing, this laptop performs wonderfully.

The speed and motion of the touchpad mouse is completely adjustable in the Control Panel, so the people that claim the touchpad is slow and unresponsive are simply proving my point that the nay-sayers are those that have not taken a few minutes of time to adjust and control all the various settings a computer or laptop makes available to users. When you get into a car rental or someone else's car, you have to adjust the seat and mirrors to fit YOU so it's comfortable for YOU, right? Well, in like manner, on any laptop you need to adjust the touchpad to respond to your own touch and speed preference. It's silly to simply accept the default settings and then complain about it! If you don't know how to do something on any laptop or PC, just remember: Google is your friend....Use it! Everything and anything you want to learn is available at your fingertips through a simple Google search. I often use Youtube to watch quick How-To videos to learn anything I need to know.

I took 2 hours to complete all updates and adjust various settings and configurations before gifting it to my daughter, and this laptop works GREAT. For anything I didn't know how to do on Windows 8.1, I simply Googled the question and found dozens of immediate How-To's. Once I was done, I found the laptop to be fast and responsive with a LOT of functionality and excellent build quality.

Oh, by the way: When you open the box, there is a small yellow card with your MS Office activation code. Do NOT throw it away! You will need that activation code when you launch Office 2013 that comes pre-installed on this laptop. It is Office Home and Student 2013, so it only includes Word, Excel and PowerPoint (it does NOT include Access, Publisher, Outlook or SharePoint), but the version this comes with is a FULL version for you to keep. It is NOT a trial version. To me, that makes this laptop a remarkable buy, because Office Home & Student 2013 is a $100 program, so considering the HP build quality, the touchscreen, a decent amount of processor speed and memory, as well as having Windows 8.1 fully installed (no upgrade required), that makes this $300 laptop the number one bargain laptop to be found anywhere in 2014. PERIOD. You can find cheaper ones, but they won't even begin to compare to this one.

All in all, I am absolutely amazed at how much value this laptop offers for such a low price and with excellent build quality. I challenge anyone to find a laptop for under $300 that compares to this one. Go ahead and search away, you will not find another laptop in this price range that has all this unit offers with the build quality of HP. I find it to be THE best bargain in it's class. And that's important to remember: You're looking at a $300 laptop, so don't expect it to have 8 GB of memory and an Intel i7 processor! But for under $300, I am amazed HP has packed so much quality and functionality into this thing.

Just remember: do NOT, do NOT, do NOT select "Express" setup when you first launch Windows 8 (on this laptop or ANY laptop for that matter!) Select the CUSTOM manual setup and disable all the unnecessary processes that are defaulted to run on startup. Yes, it's very easy to do. You can do this during the setup process as well as after the fact. That way, you'll have a fast little laptop you'll be very happy with.

To prove my point, if you scroll through these reviews and search for another user named "Donna Mac", she wrote the following in her review: "First of all I made the mistake of doing express setup, made the computer really slow. ... Decided to do a complete factory reset and that seemed to fix all the problems. I did a custom setup and the difference was amazing, everything is now running a lot smoother and faster."

So there you have it! Do NOT select "Express Setup" when Windows 8 launches.

Other than Windows issues, my hat is off to HP for producing a low-priced laptop with so much quality and value.

I highly recommend this unit. I have worked with many different desktops, tablets and laptops throughout my workday for years, so I think my opinion can be relied upon. Ignore the nay-sayers that don't want to learn how to set up and configure Windows 8. Get yourself one of these. It packs tremendous value and build quality for less than $300. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


226 of 239 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Goldilocks computer; not too big, not too small, just right, December 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: HP Pavilion 10-e010nr TouchSmart Notebook PC (Personal Computers)
Rating technology is tricky since it relys on the acumen of the user. So first a bit about me.
I am an average tech user. I know how to fix basic problems but I really don't care about the small details as long as my device is functional.
Uses: Mainly this device would be for travel or meetings.
Pros:
It is small 10.1 screen
The battery is detachable, which makes it easier to switch out.
The battery life is decent: I got a little less than 5 hours from a mix of internet searches, video watching and photo editing.
The operating system is actually 8.1.
It came with Microsoft Office Home and Student.
It was very easy to set up.
It is a very functional little computer for a good price.
It has built in Windows security software
The keyboard was just right for me but then I have rather small hands.
It stays pretty cool when you have it on your lap for hours at a time.

Cons:
The touchscreen is responsive but I found that sometimes it was easy to accidentally go to a previous page or another screen entirely by touching the wrong part of the screen.
It takes an inordinate amount of time to download things (but that could be attributed to my wifi)
They have a somewhat limited selection of "apps" some of them (like a microphone) are already on your computer.
The whole windows 8 interface is more of a step sideways than a step forward.

There is not much information out there on this computer. Not even on HP's website. If you go looking for this elsewhere it has another name:
HP Pavilion 10 TouchSmart 10z-e000 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


196 of 211 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT DEVICE, January 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: HP Pavilion 10-e010nr TouchSmart Notebook PC (Personal Computers)
HP PAVILLION Touchsmart10-e010

First, let me say that I got this HP laptop after trying two different Asus 1015Es, neither of which, among other issues, would stay connected to the internet. I really liked the Asus but anyway, it just didn't work out and the HP Pavilion Touchsmart was the same size and pretty much identical specs, or at least very similar.

I read all the reviews and heeded other reviewers advice to bypass the Express Setup, which so far has prevented the endless downloads noted by some reviewers.

Another problem noted by some reviewers was that the included Microsoft Office could A: Not be successfully Activated and B: if you were successful in Activating it, you could not then subsequently find it. Here is the solution to both:

I discovered that the key to successfully getting the enclosed Activtion key to work is that you first have to register the device with HP online. Once I did that, I was able to easily activate and download the Office software. HOWEVER, no Office icon appeared anywhere, so I had to search all over to find it.
To actually find the program go to:
c: program files/Microsoft Office 15/root/office 15/
There you will see a ton of files that I have no idea what they are or what they do, but once you are there, look for the icons for Excel, Winword etc that say "application “way over the right.
Next, hover your mouse on the program icon you want, right click and then click on "send to desktop" or "pin to taskbar" and you are good to go.

WARNING: Unless you are an expert, which I most definitely am NOT, don't mess with all those other files because as I say, I have no idea what they do.

So far at least, I am loving this little laptop. Considering the price, I think it’s a great buy. Yes it is a bit slow when compared to a more powerful device, but what do you want for $300, especially considering you get the usually very expensive Office for free.. I have the full Photoshop program loaded on mine and it works perfectly. If you need a device for business and need to whiz through your work at lightning speed, then you may want to look elsewhere. But for me, I am very happy – at least so far – with this device. Again, I heeded the advice noted by other reviewers and chose Manual Setup and I am very happy with the performance of the device. By the way, the speakers are very nice too and the screen resolution is fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Value But Take Note..., April 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: HP Pavilion 10-e010nr TouchSmart Notebook PC (Personal Computers)
**UPDATE September 8,2014**
I've had this notebook for 4 months now. First, an update on the "power supply" notification after startup that I mentioned in my initial review. HP has released a new BIOS version that addresses power supply recognition. If you have this issue, go to the HP support website and update (flash) the BIOS to the latest version. It's simple to do, and you'll be guided through the steps. Just be sure you leave power plugged in while you are doing it. I started getting a "battery capacity" warning just after startup, and the battery icon showed "Unknown Remaining". Updating or reinstalling BIOS corrects this too. I still like having the 65 Watt power supply anyway (see below). It's only $25, stays cool, and the battery charges at full rate even when running high resource applications.
I'm happy with battery performance.
I found the default touchpad settings were not satisfactory. If you have problems with random clicks, menu items appearing unintentionally, or missed clicks and swipes, or if you want to try out the new tricks this mouse can do, go to "Control Panel" and "Mouse" and "Settings" on the "Device Settings" tab, and go through each setting one by one until it's set up according to what's comfortable for you.
Windows 8.1 took some time to get used to, but eventually I began to understand why Microsoft changed things the way they did. A lot of recent changes have been made based on customer feedback, so download all of the Windows updates before you get started.
*******************************************************************************************

Pay attention to the other reviews about doing "Custom Setup" the first time you turn on the computer. Choose a time when you are not rushed to do a proper setup and you'll prevent trouble appearing later. Go ahead and setup a Microsoft account at Live.com now to get ready to take advantage of all Windows 8.1 and a Cloud has to offer. It will save a lot of time during computer setup if you already have an account, and you don't need a new e-mail address. You can now get a Microsoft account using any existing e-mail account, including Gmail, Yahoo, local ISP, or your own website's mail. Windows 8.1 takes some getting used to, but if you are a Windows user and have used a touchscreen such as an Android device before, it will be a breeze. If you're one of those still holding on to Windows 95/98/2000 and resist learning new technology, expect a big learning curve requiring lots of time and patience, but well worth it. Vista/7/8 users won't have too much more to learn once you learn where they rearranged everything. XP users... It's just time to bite the bullet.

Now, the note...... If you look at the PDF "Datasheet" for this model (bottom of the item page) you will see that it is supposed to come with a 65 Watt "Smart AC Adapter" (the power supply you plug into the wall). However, HP is shipping these with 45 watt Smart AC Adapters (stamped 45W in tiny print on the adapter). You will likely see a HP warning pop-up after Windows starts that says "The Smart AC Adapter you have connected will power your computer at a reduced performance level, and resource intensive tasks may cause your system to not perform at its highest level." Then it says you can buy a higher rated one from HP. When you find your way to the support webpage for this model about batteries and power, it will tell you that "newer computers require a 90 or 130 Watt AC adapter". While I believe the whole thing is aimed at HP selling accessories, the fact remains that the spec sheet calls for a 65 Watt adapter. I corresponded with a lead parts rep who researched it and said they don't even sell 90 or 130 Watt adapters for this model. I agree that's overkill and applies to the larger notebooks instead. However, if someone orders a replacement adapter, they send a 65 Watt adapter. I have one of the older HP 10" Mini's and it uses a 30 Watt adapter, and this model should operate fine with 45 watts of power available. However, I do not know if these new "Smart" adapters have a method of throttling down performance when a 45 Watt adapter is attached, or if it is even possible. When running on battery alone, there isn't an adapter connected at all. The answer is yet to be revealed, but I would NOT let it affect your decision to buy one of these. At 288 bucks, you're still getting a great price, even if you have to buy a 65 Watt adapter later, which is only 25 bucks from HP directly. If your 45 Watt adapter gets hot when your battery is charging AND the applications you are using use a lot of resources, or if your battery doesn't charge when you use resource intensive applications, you definitely need to opt for the 65 Watt Adapter (HP part number 710412-001).

Now.... Back to setup. The April 2014 Microsoft updates for Windows 8.1 included a lot of tweaks and feature changes based on user feedback. Therefore, once you're finished setting up, go ahead and download the updates before loading your own software and configuring everything to your own liking. Be sure you look over everything and get the optional updates in addition to the critical updates. Once that's done, if you're an average or above user, go to Control Panel and tweak things such as mouse pointer sensitivity and speed, and other things the way you're used to. Be aware that the "Settings" menu added in Windows 8.1 doesn't have everything. You'll still have to go to Control Panel to find everything, especially advanced settings.

Next, to optimize performance and gain some speed, I would go ahead and uninstall applications that you know you'll never need. Since Windows 8.1 has Windows Defender built in and is intended to replace Microsoft's security software Security Essentials (optional free anti-virus and anti-malware used in earlier Windows versions such as XP), I uninstalled McAfee (trial) to get rid of the constant nagging to buy a subscription. If you hang out in dangerous places or want extra security, you might feel better having a more interactive and comprehensive security suite such as Bitdefender, but be aware that these applications are often the culprits that cause sluggish computer performance.

OFFICE 2013 STUDENT VERSION. YES!! IT IS INCLUDED with this HP model, and it IS a full working version, NOT a trial version. To unlock it, open Office and activate it using the serial number (key) printed on the yellow card that came in the box with the computer. Look for it loose in the box. It's not in the bag with the other documents.

I had to return the first notebook I received because of a letter key that was not aligned correctly and would type when lightly brushed over. That was just a random manufacturing glitch though. Amazon had a replacement on the way same day. Other than that, and the possible issue with the Smart AC Adapter, I have been impressed, especially with the features and performance. I like the convenience and portability of using a small device, but I also need the ability to run production software to keep up with work. Added with the touchscreen features, this provides it all at a cheap price. The keyboard is almost full size (91%) and it's easy to connect a larger monitor and accessories, or dock when needed. It's too early to know where battery performance will settle out at, but so far so good. Everything else is as good or better than the specs and descriptions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Takes a good amount of configuring to get this to work how you want it, May 13, 2014
By 
E. Hyman (Winter Park, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: HP Pavilion 10-e010nr TouchSmart Notebook PC (Personal Computers)
I wasn't expecting this to be the fastest netbook in the world, but it was painfully slow when running it "out of the box". Yeah, yeah, yeah, I did the "custom setup" and not the express setup and made sure everything was disabled... but it still didn't feel "snappy" enough. Whenever I clicked or tapped on an icon, button, or anything in the Windows interface, it would randomly respond. I couldn't tell if it registered my input and was delayed, or if it didn't register my input at all. This became frustrating as you can tell. I mainly bought this for my wife to use, and she had the same complaints about the unresponsiveness and slowness of the pc... so it was off to the configuring!

The first thing I did was added a REAL start menu back to the pc, by installing a custom Start Menu program that makes your pc feel a lot more like Windows 7. I found a freeware app called "Start Menu 8 v.1.4.0

The next thing I did was I went to AMD's official website and I updated the graphics/APU driver for the A4 apu that this netbook uses. (things significantly sped up after I did this)

Another step I took to improve the performance was I went into the settings of the netbook and turned off all of the fancy visual effects that Windows 8 uses. I selected "adjust graphics settings for maximum performance" (quality graphics sacrifices speed)

An additional step I took was that I performed a Windows update from Microsoft's website to fix any "hotfixes" that needed to be patched.

Another recommendation I have is to install "adblock plus" to your web browser ( I prefer Chrome) and that will help keep annoying ads out that slow down your browsing, and might block out some adware as a bonus. Installing "Spybot search and destroy" and immunizing your computer also helps.

I've been using this computer for about a week now, and I am satisfied with it. It's not GREAT for my needs (I love pc gaming), but if all you want to do is some more casual activities like web browsing, social media, email, etc (I'm actually typing my review from this netbook), then it's a pretty good little machine. Windows 8 is still a pretty clunky and quirky OS, but if you install a custom start menu you will mostly feel right at home (I'm using an app called "Start Menu 8 v1.4.0).

You can't beat the price of this netbook, but if you aren't comfortable at configuring and customizing pc settings then you might want to spend a little more and look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little laptop., December 20, 2013
By 
Zandra E. Everett (Calhoun, GA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: HP Pavilion 10-e010nr TouchSmart Notebook PC (Personal Computers)
This item was a gift. But they have told me several times how much they love it. There were extra features that they didn't expect, like having Netflix. They have cancelled their cable service and now connect this laptop to their television and watch Netflix. Also, the fact that it's so light weight and can be carried around in a purse or bag is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I like it., December 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: HP Pavilion 10-e010nr TouchSmart Notebook PC (Personal Computers)
Well, I was going to get a tablet. But then I realized that I needed a keyboard for it. And that they don't have much memory. I'd have to buy more memory And that I really prefer windows so I can load my programs. So I asked myself, why not just get a small computer? So I ordered this for a very good price on a lightning deal on black Friday ($227).

NOTE: I hate windows 8. So I downloaded classic shell and now it looks and functions very much like windows 7.

If you are like me and have limited internet bandwidth available each month, go to the library immediately before it starts upgrading itself. It wants to do about a gigs worth of upgrades between windows and the HP support assistance thingie. So turn off the automatic updates right away if you don't want any huge download surprises.

Oh - and when you upgrade with the support assistant, it's like my other HP laptop - it tells you to do the same upgrades again after you do them. Seems to be typical for HP for some reason.

So in conclusion, it will be a great netbook for traveling. Small enough to be convenient but a big enough hardrive to load up with movies and such.

I'll update if I encounter problems, but so far, I'd recommend it. Especially if you want something small but a tablet doesn't fill your needs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 63 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars decent laptop with reservations, January 14, 2014
This review is from: HP Pavilion 10-e010nr TouchSmart Notebook PC (Personal Computers)
Pros:
1) 2 usb 2.0 connectors (connected a external usb cd/dvd device and works fine). Was able to burn DVDs and play DVDs with very little
degradation (using NERO software).
2) 1 usb 3.0 connector.
3) 1 full size HDMI connector (works great).
4) 1 full size SD connector.
5) Windows 8.1 full version. Have installed some Windows 8.1 programs with the external CD/DVD drive and they work fine (unlike the RT version
which apparently has no 8.1 compatibility).
6) touch screen works and have had no issues with it.
7) 320 GB hard drive. Excellent storage and has a SD connector as well as USB connectors.
8) dedicated Ethernet connector (haven't had a need to use it yet).
9) comes with Microsoft Office.
Cons:
1) sensitive touch pad. Installed a mouse for most usage and it works fine.
2) speed is definitely slower than my current AMD A6 HP 17" inch laptop (with 8GB ram). I would estimate that the 10" laptop is approximately 60
to 70% of the speed of my 17" laptop. I uninstalled the included MC Afee internet security and installed my Norton Internet Security and it runs
faster.
3) I have previously used 2 different ASUS tablets with detachable keyboards. I returned them because of problems with powering up on both of
them. Also one of them had the RT version of Windows and I didn't like it. They were both faster than this laptop.
4) will sometimes the lose the wifi connection. Does not happen often and easy to reconnect to wifi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's great once I figured Windows 8 Out, December 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: HP Pavilion 10-e010nr TouchSmart Notebook PC (Personal Computers)
I did what another reviewer did in choosing Manual Settings otherwise everything updates by itself. The setup process is already long enough since everything needs to load, but, Manual Settings will make your life easier. This is my first experience dealing with Windows 8 and I like it now that I have it figured out. I removed all unnecessary tiles and have only the ones I'll need. I got incredibly frustrated and it took about 2 hours but I can deal with it now. It's a little weird having to install apps on a laptop though.

This review is about the entire laptop though (not just windows 8) and I chose it because I wanted something portable that I can use for my grad studies without having to buy a 10.1 tablet and a separate keyboard. And at $279 I couldn't really go wrong. It also comes with Office 2013, just don't throw away the small yellow booklet, you'll need it!

The touchscreen is incredibly responsive and I found I used that more than the mouse touchpad.

One thing I wish it had was a smaller charging cable. Right now it's a regular laptop one, I was kind of hoping for a USB charging mechanism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just as Described, January 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: HP Pavilion 10-e010nr TouchSmart Notebook PC (Personal Computers)
Before purchasing, I read the specs, and I read the reviews. The specs were exactly correct, and the reviews were largely incorrect.

This cute little computer is just as just as described. It is small. It has no optical (CD/DVD) drive. The memory is limited. If you are looking for a traditional, full-size laptop, buy something else. If you are looking for a small, ultra-portable, Windows 8 Notebook, this is your baby. Read the other review which details how to set it up. DO NOT USE EXPRESS SETUP!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.