Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


86 of 92 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars +$900 Performance in a $500 shell. +$60 to unlock its Full potential, (thumbs up)Doc Techguy
<><>EXPECTED PERFORMANCE METER<><>
<Entertainment>
[Average] PC Gaming or [Excellent] Facebook Gaming
[Excellent] Social Media surfing (Twitter,Facebook,Linkedin)
[Excellent] Video Chatting (Skype)
[Excellent] Streaming Shows HD (Netlfix,Youtube,Hulu,iTunes)
[Excellent] Music Library (iTunes,Amazon MP3,Lastfm,Spotify)...
Published 5 months ago by GC

versus
20 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars My first HP laptop
I just wanted to test this brand. It came with Windows 8. I did not like the start up screen so I downloaded the startup for 8.1 and that worked better. The touch screen function is nice, with everything touch these days...it's handy. The right and left click mouse buttons are too hard and the keys are too soft. There is no backlight for the keyboard. It came pre-loaded...
Published 5 months ago by Lisa R


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

86 of 92 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars +$900 Performance in a $500 shell. +$60 to unlock its Full potential, (thumbs up)Doc Techguy, February 10, 2014
This review is from: HP Pavilion 14-n019nr 14-Inch Touchscreen Laptop (Silver) (Personal Computers)
<><>EXPECTED PERFORMANCE METER<><>
<Entertainment>
[Average] PC Gaming or [Excellent] Facebook Gaming
[Excellent] Social Media surfing (Twitter,Facebook,Linkedin)
[Excellent] Video Chatting (Skype)
[Excellent] Streaming Shows HD (Netlfix,Youtube,Hulu,iTunes)
[Excellent] Music Library (iTunes,Amazon MP3,Lastfm,Spotify)

[Excellent] MS Office Suite
[Excellent] TurboTax, Quickbooks
[Excellent] Education Free Courses (from basic algetbra at Udacity to advance MIT's Open Courseware)
<Express Your Creativity>
[Excellent]Creation (create music recordings, Audacity)
[Excellent] Photoshop editing (Photoshop Elements)
[Excellent] Video Editing (Sony Vegas/MovieStudio, Adobe Premier)
[Excellent] Website development (Adobe Dreamweaver CS3)

<> PROS: SOLD by Amazon. an Intel i5 touchscreen at 14" for under $800 is rare. Way under priced for the potential this can deliver after you upgrade it to 8 GB. Could easily be marked up close to +$900 for sure after Ram upgrade. Battery life is really good(+6.25hrs), even with all that processing power due to (new)Haswell processor architecture.
Skype will not be a blurry mess because of HD Webcam.
Playing pc games beyond the casual Facebook apps is possible
Very few 14" portables still has Optical Dvd Drives, this does.

[CPU Passmark Score: 3346]
This CPU score is incredible in this sub $500 category. To give some comparisons in score related to price points.

CPU Passmark Score: 900 = $299 11"notebooks
CPU Passmark Score: 1700 = $399 14" notebooks
CPU Passmark Score: 2400 = $+500 15" notebooks

Now to unlock its full potential, you just need to upgrade the ram from 4GB to 8GB.

Its easy. If you are the type of person who can drive from point A to point B using by fallowing instructions on Navigation GPS then upgrading is a simple 3 step process.

get something like this

A-DATA Premier Pro Series 8 GB Single DDR3 1600Mhz CL11 SODIMM Laptop Memory AD3S1600W8G11-R
A-DATA Premier Pro Series 8 GB Single DDR3 1600Mhz CL11 SODIMM Laptop Memory AD3S1600W8G11-R

<><>CONS: 4GB is bottlenecking the class leading CPU onboard. Not Windows 8.1 would have been nice to have Windows 8.1 out of the box. Although upgrading Win8 to 8.1 through the Microsoft Market Place is simple (I got tips for upgrading, read below).

Ideally for

Students
Business Travelers
or just about anyone who wants an easy to handle and portable notebook on the go but still relies on powerful hardware that can handle anything thrown at it.

<><>==Windows 8.1 Tips & Computing Safety==<><>

Bring back the start button: Installing one of these two software will help new Windows8.1 users to ease into "Modern" user interface of windows 8.1
1) Classic Shell (free) or 2) Start8 (Stardock $5)

___________________________________________________________________

Avoiding major damages caused by those pesky malware,virus etc by simply not using an "Administrator Account" with your main MS Account.

Viruses will likely cause more damage and will be impossible to completely remove if they gained Admisitrator's right and have dug deep inside your computer. An "Administrators" account is a backdoor route viruses/malware uses get in and cause unrecoverable distruction to your data. With Admin rights those malware can easily infect deep within your "recovery partitions'! meaning, these's not turning back and you're royally screwed. Theres many more problems that can happen but I think you already get my point.

GOALS: 1) Don't use your Main MS Account as an" Adminitrator" but instead "standard"
2) Create a secondary account called "local account" and set that up as the Administrator instead.

Account Management: steps creating a local account(administrator) and MS Account(standard)

Charms search: type"control panel" > "User's Accounts and Family Safety" > "Remove User account" > " Add a new user in PC settings " located at bottom of window > Bringing you to Metro > click "add Account" > "Sign in without MS accout" located at bottom of page > "Local Accout" > create new user name and PW

You have 2 options on Signing IN
1) Microsoft account or 2) Local Account

1) Create or sign in with your MAIN Microsoft Account. If you already an MS account or uses windows phones/ xbox live or Hotmail/live/MSN email address you can use these as well to link those services to 1 master MS Account.

2) Create a Local Account. Thise secondary account will not connect to MS's ecosytem but only in your local computer. I identical to USERS login on Windows 7,Vista,XP etc.

Once you've setup these two accounts, you must set each account type to: >
Change ACCOUNT TYPE for Main MS Account to "Standard"
Change ACCOUNT TYPE for 2ndary Local Account to "Administrator"

Please do these steps, it only takes 5minutes. Its a small price to pay considering, it may potentially rescue your entire data from a completely erasing your data after sending it for repairs.

__________________________________________________________________________

Making Back ups/ Etc

Another tip is to make a recovery image.

First install Setup all your programs , setup your custom settings, etc
After personalizing your PC. > Its time to Create a Recovery Image right after you've set everything up. This image will allow you to revert back to this pc's state in time, and in perfect working order.

Sometimes system recovery doesn't solve your problems so having secondary backup plan like Recovery Image is key.

________________________________________________________________________

Not optional, must practice these 3 regular computing habits.

#1 (Install McAfee Antivirus, which is now free starting 2014, per Intel's 2014 Keynote at CES) or Paid programs such as Kaspersky Internet Security 2014 is the leading software in the market today. $50. These programs scans your system automatically, so set it and forget it.

#2 (Install MalwareBytes/free, scan your pc every month with this program or sooner when you feel like your system is sluggish or seeing webpages poping up that you didnt click) Because this is a free software, as a user you must manually start the scaning process or by buying retail version you'll unlock the auto scan scheduler feature.

#3 (Install Superantispyware/free, Scan pc every 2wks)
Because this is a free software, as a user you must manually start the scaning process or by buying retail version you'll unlock the auto scan scheduler feature.

Its ok skip a few scans between months, although not advisable, especially if your a heavy web surfing maniac spending 2-3 hrs daily websurfing not just facebooking. But please dont go without using all 3 programs more than 5-8 Months in between scans.

________________________________________________________________________

Another way to avoid spreading your personal information out there into the wild unknowingly is to un-google yourself.

yes ladies and gents! google or yahoo especially yahoo LOL..... but google is key here.

Microsoft sells Primarily Software.
Apple sells Primarily Hardware
Google sells neither, that's why their products are so CHEAP, once they suckered in their backdoor ridden ecosystem, Google Inc. sells Primarily Everything about YOU!
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

Steps in upgrading from Windows 8 to Windows 8.1 (2-3hrs)

Key here is to ensure your windows 8 is fully updated before upgrading to win8.1

Therefore repeatedly "check of updates" on windows

How to upgrade to windows 8.1 for dummies.

Step 1: Go to Metro and not desktop

Step 2: Start typing : "Control Panel"

Step 3: Click "Windows Update" > "Check for Update"

Step 4: install updates

Step 5: restart computer

Step 6: Repeat step 1 -5 until result "no more updates"

Step 7: Run HP Update client, install all updates from HP to ensure all drivers and bugfixes are updated.( or whichever OEM you may have, lenovo,dell, sony etc.)

Step 8: Uninstall your Antivirus Software (important) then RESTART PC

Step 9: Go to Windows Store and upgrade to 8.1

Step 10: leave computer on for 2hrs as it upgrades.

Step 11: Repeat Steps 1 - 7

Step 12: if you're not a complete fool, 8.1 upgrade should be straight forward. \

After steps 1-8 ONLY THEN you should install WIndows 8.1 at the marketplace. Goodluck.

(note: steps above removes a lot of failures users experience after 8.1 update)
___________________________________________________________
Not many want to shell out their dollars on Office 360 if all they intend of using is standard word processors.
you can use a free web version of office called
Bing.com search: "MS Office Web Apps"
just sign in with the same MS Account user name used on your PC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great price and fast laptop, December 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: HP Pavilion 14-n019nr 14-Inch Touchscreen Laptop (Silver) (Personal Computers)
Great price and product, fast, and I highly recommend it. Excelent good tactil screen. It was powerful enough to do all of the tasks he needed on the internet, word processing, etc..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Overall, February 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: HP Pavilion 14-n019nr 14-Inch Touchscreen Laptop (Silver) (Personal Computers)
well first of all when amazon gives you the option of free shipping it means you place the order then wait for a week to be marked as shipped and then another week to be delivered, so if your one of the impatient type I suggest you pay the 17$ they ask you for express shipping! overall when the computer came I thought the 14inch would be a little too small since I prefer big displays but upon arrival the screen size is just perfect what I wanted. it looks waay better then the 17in and 15in screens. The computer is pretty light, it works great too. if your looking for a performance laptop at an affordable price get this one! for running on intel 15 with 2.6ghz turboboost its at a fantastic price! a lapto of this performance at bestbuy or any electronic store expect to pay 700$+ tax. the color option they give you(silver) is great it looks god on a laptop.the computer is fast it gives you Norton security free antivirus software for 2 months. the parts don't look that cheaply made as for one of the reviews! just handle with care and maintain your laptop responsibly and it should last you long enough!dont be scared to buy! if arrived in damaged condition from the carrier call amazon and their friendly enough to refund/replace for free. shipping included. Good luck!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Met my requirements, January 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: HP Pavilion 14-n019nr 14-Inch Touchscreen Laptop (Silver) (Personal Computers)
Very fast. I purchased this as a xmas gift. I played with it for a while, and I really liked it. The size was perfect,and it does have a replaceable battery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars My first HP laptop, February 9, 2014
By 
Lisa R (United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: HP Pavilion 14-n019nr 14-Inch Touchscreen Laptop (Silver) (Personal Computers)
I just wanted to test this brand. It came with Windows 8. I did not like the start up screen so I downloaded the startup for 8.1 and that worked better. The touch screen function is nice, with everything touch these days...it's handy. The right and left click mouse buttons are too hard and the keys are too soft. There is no backlight for the keyboard. It came pre-loaded with so many apps that it works slow...slow on start up and opening and saving etc. And the screen froze a few times already. I'm trying to delete most of them to see if the laptop would work faster. Might update this review later if I really get to like this laptop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great computer, May 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: HP Pavilion 14-n019nr 14-Inch Touchscreen Laptop (Silver) (Personal Computers)
I've had this computer for about three months, and I really enjoy it's light weight and sleek design. It's quite thin, and easy to stow away. Physically, the outer shell feels a little cheap, the casing behind the monitor sounds hollow and fragile. So does the keyboard, it sounds shallow, and I fear I may break it in the future. It's best to be careful with this model, it feels susceptible to fall damage. That being said, I have dropped it from a small height and it was just fine, so make of that what you will.

This model features three USB ports which is a welcome feature. One is 3.0, with the other two being 2.0. The inserts are a little tight, it can be difficult to slide in USB cords sometimes. I haven't really used the other ports except for the media ports, which worked fine. The CD Drive is a great feature for the price point and doesn't weigh the machine down. Finding a model this light at this cost with a CD Drive is difficult, as is finding the i5 Intel Processor. All in all the machine is fast and light weight, despite not feeling all that durable.

The touch screen and Windows 8 integration is tough to get the hang of, I turned off all the mouse pad features but I enjoyed them when they worked on my terms. Windows 8 offers simple ways of managing the features you want on or off. I don't really use the touch screen that much but from what I can tell it works pretty well. I especially love the split-screen feature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love at First Touch, April 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: HP Pavilion 14-n019nr 14-Inch Touchscreen Laptop (Silver) (Personal Computers)
I have had this laptop for months, and I have absolutely nothing negative to say about it. It is fast, efficient, and generally fun to use. The only negative quality people seem to have with it is Windows 8 (which they seem to blame on the actual computer). I find these complaints to be displaced because they have nothing to do with the performance of this laptop. The size is absolutely perfect for me. It is large enough to have a CD-ROM drive, but small enough to be portable. I am a graduate student and find it easy to slide it into my bag and go. It has a nice battery life as well and carries me through 3+ hour classes with no issues at all (while my classmates' Macs are dying around me). The touchscreen works great and is a fun feature. I highly recommend this laptop!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fooled by Amazon but product is good, April 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: HP Pavilion 14-n019nr 14-Inch Touchscreen Laptop (Silver) (Personal Computers)
The product is quite nice, the specifications are very good and the touch screen is very responsive too. However I checked the warranty and though it said 1 year in the specifications it's only 6 months when I checked on HP website.... I guess that's a big let down. Since I am in France now I can't really get this sorted with the Amazon us where I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For the Price a Great Computer with a few Flaws!, April 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: HP Pavilion 14-n019nr 14-Inch Touchscreen Laptop (Silver) (Personal Computers)
The Good... Touch screen, DVD drive, lightweight, Core I5 processor, 4 gigs ram

The Bad... The plug that goes into the computer is at a right angle and tends to pop out, or I don't realize that it isn't plugged in and when I go to use the computer the battery is dead. I then need it plugged in and I lose the versatility. All my other HP laptops had a straight plug and I never had this problem before.

The Ugly... Windows 8 is a horrible operating system. They should have kept Windows 7 and just added the touch screen.

Overall other than the plug it's a great laptop!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth for Money, February 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: HP Pavilion 14-n019nr 14-Inch Touchscreen Laptop (Silver) (Personal Computers)
Good one to buy. Touch works perfectly.
Appearance and features are really good.
Fels little heavy and display resolution is bit disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.