Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid Performer, Great Price, Limited Expandability
If you are thinking of adding a second hard drive, or a second dvd burner to this computer, forget it, there's no room in the case.
There is one vacant memory slot, so doubling the amount of memory is an option.
This desktop comes with Windows 8, and can easily be upgraded to Windows 8.1. Now, if you can't stand not having a start up selection like Windows 7...
Published 9 months ago by Norman J.

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Hardware, Poor OS
This is great hardware hobbled by the Windows 8 operating system. This computer has a faster processor and more RAM than the Windows 7 machine that it replaced, and it should be much faster. Instead it is significantly slower. Since the OS comes with the computer as an integral part, how the two operate together is critical. I don't find Windows 8 difficult to use. Since...
Published 7 months ago by Water Bearer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid Performer, Great Price, Limited Expandability, April 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: HP Pavilion 500-270 Desktop (3.4 GHz Intel Core i3-4130 Processor, 8GB DDR3, 1TB HDD, Windows 8.1) Black (Personal Computers)
If you are thinking of adding a second hard drive, or a second dvd burner to this computer, forget it, there's no room in the case.
There is one vacant memory slot, so doubling the amount of memory is an option.
This desktop comes with Windows 8, and can easily be upgraded to Windows 8.1. Now, if you can't stand not having a start up selection like Windows 7 had, then search for StartMenu 8, download and install this free program and you will have a Windows 7 startup icon in the task bar just like Windows 7.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Hardware, Poor OS, June 5, 2014
This review is from: HP Pavilion 500-270 Desktop (3.4 GHz Intel Core i3-4130 Processor, 8GB DDR3, 1TB HDD, Windows 8.1) Black (Personal Computers)
This is great hardware hobbled by the Windows 8 operating system. This computer has a faster processor and more RAM than the Windows 7 machine that it replaced, and it should be much faster. Instead it is significantly slower. Since the OS comes with the computer as an integral part, how the two operate together is critical. I don't find Windows 8 difficult to use. Since I have 8.1, I boot into a Windows 7-like desktop. However, the Windows 8 interface takes up resources that slows down the computer. A tablet or phone interface is not useful to me on a computer. I use my computer primarily to get work done, not to browse. (And by the way, this machine is also slow on the internet. My Chromebook loads pages and downloads twice as fast.) This slowness is also obvious in the Windows Explorer file manager where image icons take a very long time to update and frequently don't completely update at all. Since I use the machine for image editing and managing a large number of image files, this is a big disadvantage. Also, attached external drives are frequently timed out, and it takes a while for them to restart. What were simple and strait-forward menus in former versions of the File Explorer have become a hodgepodge of unintelligible new choices. Nowhere in the documentation does it indicate which 7 card formats the 7-in-1 reader recognizes. I am still recommending this machine because the faults have nothing to do with the hardware, and you'll be stuck with the same problems on any computer that runs on Windows 8. But if you can find this computer with Windows 7 instead, you'll probably be much happier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yin-yang, April 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: HP Pavilion 500-270 Desktop (3.4 GHz Intel Core i3-4130 Processor, 8GB DDR3, 1TB HDD, Windows 8.1) Black (Personal Computers)
The hardware is excellent. HP makes a good and fast computer.

Windows 8 is the worst. Microsoft decides what the consumers want and then forces them to take it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Desktop and Fast Ship, March 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: HP Pavilion 500-270 Desktop (3.4 GHz Intel Core i3-4130 Processor, 8GB DDR3, 1TB HDD, Windows 8.1) Black (Personal Computers)
All good with this PC. Fast as lightening. Everything just as advertised. Windows 8 definitely takes some learning. HP makes a solid computer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good buy for the money, May 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: HP Pavilion 500-270 Desktop (3.4 GHz Intel Core i3-4130 Processor, 8GB DDR3, 1TB HDD, Windows 8.1) Black (Personal Computers)
Replaces my 8 year old HP with Windows Vista. Twice as fast so I'm happy to make the change. Windows 8.1 is fairly easy to learn. Will pair it up with an HP touchscreen which makes sense. Hardware is five stars, however, not very happy with the Microsoft log-in process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I needed, June 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: HP Pavilion 500-270 Desktop (3.4 GHz Intel Core i3-4130 Processor, 8GB DDR3, 1TB HDD, Windows 8.1) Black (Personal Computers)
I have had a few weeks to get used to my computer and I love it!
It was a little disconcerting not to have Office pre-installed or supplied with the unit, but once I downloaded it I was able to do everything, and so much faster. Very satisfied
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ... purchase this tower and decide that you do not like windows 8, November 8, 2014
This review is from: HP Pavilion 500-270 Desktop (3.4 GHz Intel Core i3-4130 Processor, 8GB DDR3, 1TB HDD, Windows 8.1) Black (Personal Computers)
if you purchase this tower and decide that you do not like windows 8.1 i have got your problem solved. listen download CLASSIC SHELL. its perfect and free. you will love it. now do it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars so far so good!!, April 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: HP Pavilion 500-270 Desktop (3.4 GHz Intel Core i3-4130 Processor, 8GB DDR3, 1TB HDD, Windows 8.1) Black (Personal Computers)
Got it yesterday and Although i am disappointed it did not come with the wireless keyboard and mouse it said it would, I do love this machine! Very fast and I haven't quite gotten used to windows 8 yet, but it's a great computer. I read in other reviews that I would have to send back the whole thing to get the wireless keyboard and mouse and I don't want to go through all that trouble and time. So I have all these wires for now! But the actual computer is great! I've already downloaded a couple things on it and its working great!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars new computer, February 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: HP Pavilion 500-270 Desktop (3.4 GHz Intel Core i3-4130 Processor, 8GB DDR3, 1TB HDD, Windows 8.1) Black (Personal Computers)
I wanted a computer that would match my internet speed and this is the one I chose after many hours of research. combined with my new Canon MX892 all in one office machine I have everything I need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Like the computer, September 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: HP Pavilion 500-270 Desktop (3.4 GHz Intel Core i3-4130 Processor, 8GB DDR3, 1TB HDD, Windows 8.1) Black (Personal Computers)
Like the computer, hate windows 8, just when you get comfortable with a system, wham they change it. Long learning curve for seniors
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.