Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent For the Price
The HP Photosmart M527 is an all around well built camera, espicially considering the price it can be purchased at.

The body is all metal and it's honestly built like a small tank. It feels good and strong in your hands. The weight of the camera is also very evenly balanced, so you can hold it in one hand and get clear shots in almost any situation. The...
Published on December 28, 2006 by R B

versus
29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Megapixels aren't everything...
Don't be fooled by the enticing 6 megpixels that this camera offers. I'd been waiting along time to upgrade from my 3 MP Nikon Coolpix SQ as the prices of the higer resolution cameras continued to drop. What've I've discovered, however, is that there is so much sensor noise in the full resolution 6 MP images from this HP camera that the additional resolution is...
Published on September 8, 2006 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent For the Price, December 28, 2006
By 
R B (Southern California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: HP Photosmart M527 6MP Digital Camera with 3x Optical Zoom (Electronics)
The HP Photosmart M527 is an all around well built camera, espicially considering the price it can be purchased at.

The body is all metal and it's honestly built like a small tank. It feels good and strong in your hands. The weight of the camera is also very evenly balanced, so you can hold it in one hand and get clear shots in almost any situation. The ergonomics and overall design also help with this. Every button on the camera can be accessed with just your one hand.

The screen is very nice, bright, and colorful, even on the lowest brightness setting. I really don't have a problem with it being "only" 2". I can't imagine a situation where the "small" screen would negatively impact the ability to accurately frame a shot.

The image quality, for the price, is also fantastic. The shots can be a little noisey. But honestly, how many cameras in this price range will not produce noisey pictures? Considering the price, the image quality is great. Sure, it doesn't look as good as a Canon that costs an extra hundred dollars. But that doesn't mean the image quality is bad. The noise disappears completely when you shrink the picture down to fit in an email. Afterall, you're not emailing friends pictures that are 3.3MB in size each, are you? ;) When printed out, using a photo printer or getting them done professionally, the prints are very colorful with good detail, definition, and color saturation. They will definitely be able to sit next to all of your other framed prints, or go in a photo album, and only you will ever know that it is a digital print because nobody else will be able to see the difference in quality.

The camera also offers multiple shooting modes that can help improve the image quality in certain situations. For example, it has a "Portrait" mode which can help the look of closeups dramatically. It also has the obvious "Night" mode which will take care of any dark or murky pictures in low light. There is a "Beach and Snow" mode which will help you with those high contrast shots in bright lighting. It has a Macro mode which has obvious uses. You can also manually adjust certain other parameters, such as ISO speed. However, you cannot adjust shutter speed or more advanced settings like that. But if you find your pictures aren't exactly what you want them to be, there are definitely modes that can help you get the quality you desire.

The camera also has a decent movie mode. It can record roughly 30 minutes of slightly better than VHS quality video, with sound, on a 512MB memory card. It's not very good in low light, but it can be good for those quick moments when you are out and wish you had a video camera. However, you cannot zoom in or out while recording. You can adjust the zoom before and after recording. But not during.

The camera also has very extensive photo editing features built-in, like the famous "slimming" effect, and you can do other things like add borders. It also has a very thorough Help system.

There are only a couple of minor gripes I have about this camera. The first is battery life. Real world battery life is about 100 shots on two alkaline batteries. So get some rechargables or lithium batteries. The second gripe is that the memory card slot is right in there with the batteries. So that can be a little bit of a pain if you use a memory card reader instead of hooking the camera up to your computer to transfer pictures.

Overall its a great camera for the price, as long as you keep you are realistic with what to expect. You're getting a complete package for not very much money. Not many other cameras under the $200 price range offer such a complete package. If you're looking for a great camera on the cheap that is built well and has a ton of features, this is definitely one to look at. However, if you want absolutely pristine image quality, you're better off looking at the $250+ Canon PowerShot A6x0 series. For me, this camera is the one that is built like a tank and will get taken with me everywhere I go. But I will keep a higher quality Canon around for those times when image quality is more important than the quick, yet good, shot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Megapixels aren't everything..., September 8, 2006
This review is from: HP Photosmart M527 6MP Digital Camera with 3x Optical Zoom (Electronics)
Don't be fooled by the enticing 6 megpixels that this camera offers. I'd been waiting along time to upgrade from my 3 MP Nikon Coolpix SQ as the prices of the higer resolution cameras continued to drop. What've I've discovered, however, is that there is so much sensor noise in the full resolution 6 MP images from this HP camera that the additional resolution is worthless. The images look absolutely horrible. My little Nikon SQ with it's lower resolution produces much sharper pictures at every image size. Do your homework and make sure that the sensor in the camera you're buying is a good one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't BUY, November 23, 2009
This review is from: HP Photosmart M527 6MP Digital Camera with 3x Optical Zoom (Electronics)
I only have this camera for under 2 years & now have battery problems. The camera no longer recognizes a charged battery. I put new ones in & can get 3 or 4 photos max til it dies. I have a charging dock that no longer charges. Very disappointing. My first HP was a 735 & it is still working great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars buy this camera!!!, January 19, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: HP Photosmart M527 6MP Digital Camera with 3x Optical Zoom (Electronics)
I've had digital cameras before, but this one is has it all. If you want to take really good pictures of your life then buy this camera. The HP Photosmart M527 6MP Digital Camera with 3x Optical Zoom has more features than I'll commonly use , but I think all of them will come in handy in specific settings. Easy to use and great photo quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not bad, December 24, 2013
This review is from: HP Photosmart M527 6MP Digital Camera with 3x Optical Zoom (Electronics)
I used this camera for years pics were good and video was ok. the main draw back was that it would eat the AA batteries way to fast. But the camera stood up and worked fine and I'm hard on devices
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars HP keeps it simple and smart, April 4, 2007
By 
Dave Sterling (New York, New york) - See all my reviews
This review is from: HP Photosmart M527 6MP Digital Camera with 3x Optical Zoom (Electronics)
The HP camera is very easy to use and takes great pictures, its small enough to carry comfortable but does not feel fragile
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, August 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: HP Photosmart M527 6MP Digital Camera with 3x Optical Zoom (Electronics)
Well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not worth it!!!!, December 22, 2006
This review is from: HP Photosmart M527 6MP Digital Camera with 3x Optical Zoom (Electronics)
I bought this camera for Christmas and it is absolutely horrible! It takes really bad quality pictures and it has a very noisy lens. It's a great looking camera but the screen is only 2 inches which is very small. This camera is not a good buy for it's class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You get what you pay for...., September 16, 2006
This review is from: HP Photosmart M527 6MP Digital Camera with 3x Optical Zoom (Electronics)
If you are looking for a cheap camera with a higher res. then here it is. Like I said, you get what you pay for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.