Truck Month Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Mudcrutch Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Luxury Beauty The Baby Store Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Cash Back Offer DrThorne DrThorne DrThorne  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now SnS

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars11
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 3, 2002
this is a great way to get introduced to Giger's work. I would recomend The Necronomicon to follow up this book and watch any of the Alien films to see how Giger's work has influenced Hollywood. Its also an extremely good price.
11 comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2003
just because some art explores sex does not mean it is "porn". I love the rampant abundance of ignorance in this country. Giger is an amazing artist, if you have not experienced his work than you are surely missing out on some of the most ORIGINAL artwork of this time.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2015
I wanted to get hold of a good reference book of some of Giger's work. Most of the coffee table books I would find were either in less than favorable shape, or entirely too expensive for an artist to buy. I found this for a few bucks and although it's it's a softcover, it's still a great collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2011
I was overwhelmed with how wonderful this small little book was. Even though it really has taken up a lot of pages because all of Giger's writing in it is in 4 different languages in the same book so buyers beware, a lot of the pages are not in english. But the great note is it really has an enormous number of a lot of the art, projects, film, and museum photos in it. A lot of them in which cannot be found in any of his other books. For the price though it is a quantum steal. If you are a huge Giger fan like me it is a must have.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2014
This is an incredible book. In it, the psychoanalyst Stanislav Grof examines the stunning artwork of his colleague H.R. Giger, the Swiss painter, sculptor, and set designer (who won an Academy Award for his work on the film "Alien"). Presented in a creative bilingual format that altenrates between German and English, Giger's work is both beautiful and frightening, both symbolic and realistic. Furthermore, his art exemplifies Grof's model of consciousness, plumbing into domains of the human psyche that have rarely been rendered so graphically in such a revelatory manner.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2003
Although not for the weak at heart, Giger explores the dark reaches of his soul and shares it to the world through his paintings. From there, one can begin to see the alien born in each of us.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2010
A very nice collection of lots of varied art from a master. After seeing his work in the Alien series I became very interested in Giger's work and this book did a great job of showing all the different kinds of things he has worked on from classic paintings, to the Giger museum, and even a microphone he designed for Korn.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2015
great deal.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2003
ok, there are indeed some very odd pictures that explore sex, but oh well. this book is a pure work of art, different and grand.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2009
Alien was a great movie and all...but, come on...H R Giger is essentially nothing more than the Thomas Kincaid of grotesque dark fantasy. How many smoothly contoured robot babes slathered in amniotic fluid can you see before it just starts to seem DULL, DULL, DULL...
22 comments|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.