Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insight with Impact - Essential Guidance for Progressive HR Practitioners
First and foremost it's important to note that the insights, observations and competencies identified in this book are based upon research - the largest global data set ever collected from HR professionals and their business leaders and partners according to the authors. There are no doubts that for the last 25 years these guys have blazed a trail in the HR Competency...
Published on July 30, 2012 by Allan Freed

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More of the same
I am frustrated that I keep buying the same book with the same theme with different names by different authors. The concepts of this book has already been published in articles and nothing additional has been added.
Published 23 months ago by SMG


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insight with Impact - Essential Guidance for Progressive HR Practitioners, July 30, 2012
This review is from: HR from the Outside In: Six Competencies for the Future of Human Resources (Hardcover)
First and foremost it's important to note that the insights, observations and competencies identified in this book are based upon research - the largest global data set ever collected from HR professionals and their business leaders and partners according to the authors. There are no doubts that for the last 25 years these guys have blazed a trail in the HR Competency space and this work looks set to cement their position as the leading thinkers and the 'go-to' people for progressive HR professionals seeking to improve their own personal impact and their ability to drive business results.

The authors outline 6 core competencies that have been extrapolated from the research:
1. Strategic Positioner - HR professionals must develop the skills to influence strategy formulation and position the organisation for ongoing success.
2. Capability Builder - HR professionals must be able to identify and build organisational capabilities
3. Innovator & Integrator - HR professionals should innovate and integrate systems that align talent, leadership and organisation practices to the goals of the firm
4. Technology Proponent - Advice on how to use technology to connect talented employees and smooth out HR processes
5. Change Champion - The authors give counsel on how to initiate and sustain change
6. Credible Activist - HR professionals should continue to build personal credibility and a point of view about the organisations for which they work.

The book is practical and the authors have used many case studies and examples to give food for thought to practitioners. Terrific insights presented in a way that will allow you to have more impact. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive, Useful and Good Read (with a few key flaws), February 14, 2014
This review is from: HR from the Outside In: Six Competencies for the Future of Human Resources (Hardcover)
As usual, Ulrich and company have written a well researched book that offers a very comprehensive instruction regarding the vast range of skills and actions to operate effectively in HR. I really liked the suggestions that matched up with the skills they proposed. In total, this is an excellent resource for HR professionals to draw upon in self-evaluating, but also plotting a course for development. It has a few key flaws though that I had trouble with. The first one being that they have suggested that the next step in HR's evolution is "customer centric." While no one would argue with the attractiveness of the notion, it's a bit of an academic point of view. For real practitioners who are adding value both tactically and strategically, the real next step in HR's evolution is to work cross-functionally at the organizational level on a company-wide basis delivering human capital initiatives. There is still a long way to go for the HR community to accomplish this. Advising HR to visit customers and learn what they do to help your own business is excellent, but not to the point where we suggest that this is the next evolutionary step. There are other hills and valleys to climb before we think that our role is to develop strategic relationships with our customers, many whom are very different from one another. Some of their examples weren't practical in this regard.
Also, they seem to mix skills to the point where their descriptions of these skills get too complicated, and again, are a bit academic. Example: "Strategic Positioner." Maybe I'm being picky, but it seemed like they crammed lots of requirements into 6 skills sets. Maybe they should have split them into a few more.
Last, and I"m not sure whether this is a compliment or critique, but the book was so overwhelmingly filled with skills requirements and subsets of other requirements, that it was hard to process it into an action plan. Practioners need books that are concise and with a roadmap or process.
Despite these critical comments, I am happy to have read the book and don't let these few knocks get in the way of understanding that the book is well worthwhile reading. I will refer to certain aspects of the book in my own business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They've done it again!, May 22, 2013
This review is from: HR from the Outside In: Six Competencies for the Future of Human Resources (Hardcover)
CEOs and organizational leaders now place a greater emphasis on the workforce and corporate culture than ever before. They realize the dominant role of "intangibles" in company success today and increasingly turn to HR for advice and solutions. As a consequence, many HR professionals and leaders face a steep and urgent need to improve their skills across the board. Yet those who have followed the advice of Ulrich and team over the years are probably already leading their organizations in executing and even determining strategy. Chief HR Officers in those organizations most likely find themselves among the top decision-makers and influencers. Yet, in HR From the Inside Out the authors argue that this isn't enough, change is with us again and this time HR must look outside the organization.

In leading companies, HR has made massive strides since the days, not too long ago, when it was mostly dismissed as an administrative function - necessary but certainly not strategic. Dave Ulrich, with partners including Jon Yonger, Norm Smallwood, Wayne Brockbank and others have been our undisputed oracles - at the forefront of a changing profession for decades. For more than 25 years, they have been tracking HR competencies in the US and worldwide. Every five years the group releases its latest findings and the analysis and insights almost always describe profound changes to the profession that help thousands of HR leaders move their teams to the next level. The 2012 findings synthesize input from more than 20,000 individuals in 635 business units from around the world; the results are in and they may be more revolutionary than ever before.

HR From The Inside Out is an exceptionally compelling report of where HR is headed next, what key competencies will be required and, as importantly, how those skills can be acquired in as short a time frame as possible. Consider the following questions:

* Are you already thinking beyond HR integration, beyond being a business partner and even beyond strategy to include a deep knowledge of the real "business of the business?"
* Do you have close relationships with customers, investors, suppliers, partners and the communities your company does business in? Do you seek their perspectives and work with them to co-create the future for your organization?
* How much do you know about the business broadly, including the global framework in which your organization does business?
* Are you a student of the environment in which your organization conducts business. Do you follow the political, societal, regulatory, economic, demographic and technology landscapes that impact it?
* Are you still seeking a "seat at the table" or are you "on the bridge," meaning, is HR asked for its opinion before any key decisions are made? Is HR able to add value through its deep knowledge of the people factors in the organization combined with its broad knowledge of the business?
* Do you wait to be asked or does HR proactively shape strategy and build a workforce capable of executing on the organization's highest priorities?
* Do you respond to change or continuously prepare the organization for constant change?
* Are you still building expertise in HR technologies or have you moved on so that you are now using technology and networks to manage knowledge and the flow of information throughout the organization?

If the list seems intimidating, the book is anything but. Indeed, practical recommendations, tools, examples and guides are offered page after page. The next great leap for the profession is described brilliantly and with a blueprint for action at every step. I recommend this book in the strongest terms to every HR practitioner and leader that wants to get out or stay out in front of a dynamic and increasingly critical profession.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outside In - Inside Out.... does it really matter ?, July 31, 2012
This review is from: HR from the Outside In: Six Competencies for the Future of Human Resources (Hardcover)
Outside In - Inside Out.... does it really matter ? In my opinion, and after reading this book, it clearly does...

Several years ago, the authors spoke about, value in the eyes of the receiver... Simple concept but not easy to achieve.

I have been exposed to the HR Field for the past 25 years and in many cases we still don't get it. Our value is really measured by the line managers, employees, clients and other many stakeholders.

This book demonstrates through very solid global research that we in HR need to keep on working hard to not only sit at the table but to be able to shape it.

The six domains are very deep but practical. You can evaluate yourself through that lens and find very practical actions to close your gap.

Well Done !!! After 5 years we have new 360 data, fresh results and a very comprehensive way to think about what we do every day and how we can create better IMPACT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A paradigm shift in human resource management, August 27, 2012
This review is from: HR from the Outside In: Six Competencies for the Future of Human Resources (Hardcover)
I've been dreaming about the issues David Ulrich and colleagues' new book, HR from the Outside In, deals with since the 1990s. Until this book came out, the ruling gods of Human Resources were recruiting, training, benefits and supporting the business. The obvious consequences were that HR managers and execs had no seat at the table, didn't understand the firm's business and acted passively around line managers and execs. The more serious consequences were that HR failed to center on the goals of the business and contribute significantly to business performance.

HR from the Outside In offers a radically different orientation to Human Resources, reframing the whole game and resolving issues I've faced in both small and large companies all over the nation. Ulrich argues that "aligned, innovative, and integrated HR practices make a dramatic difference in individual and organizational performance." That's a mouthful, and you'll need to work through the book to fully understand the importance of what he's saying. What's unique about the book is its emphasis upon a new HR mindset that starts with the external context in which the business operates and the goals of that business--not internal disciplines and technologies. To achieve these objectives, the authors focus upon personal effectiveness and the relevant knowledge for both HR professionals and departments to improve business success.

In a book such as this, where a major shift in a discipline is proposed, the authors need to provide a rationale for their thinking. And so their first chapter is largely devoted to this changing external context which justifies their shift in the discipline. The writers think of their rationale as "trends," enumerating six ever-changing issues which drive their research and conclusions: society, technology, economics, politics, environment and demographics. In the following chapters, they show how different companies around the world emphasize HR and deal successfully with local and national issues relating to their "trends."

Their goal is straightforward, as the authors lay out plainly in three statements: determine what HR pros should be and do to be seen as personally effective, what pros should be know and do to improve business success, and what they should focus upon to improve business performance.

As a result and in order to achieve this objective, the authors lay out six (extensive) competencies for the future of human resources. They include such domains as credible activist, capability builder, change champion and tech proponent. The most important focus, the foundational objective of the book, is the chapter about the strategic positioner: HR professionals who facilitate business strategy through their objectives and practices. Although the authors provide ways for getting at business strategy and applying it to HR, the most useful and unique means for getting at strategy issues is found in the chapter on building capabilities. There, the authors detail an approach that takes the strategic emphasis seriously, and walks the reader through a six step process for aligning HR practices:
* Business: where will we do a strategic HR linkage?
* Environment: What are the business trends?
* Strategy: What are the strategic drivers for the business?
* HR investment: What are hr priorities?
* Action plans: Who will do what, when, where and how?
* Measures or metrics: How will we measure progress?

In our tumultuous times, HR has a significant contribution to make to the success of businesses, a perspective not readily understood or even shared by many outside the field. Indeed, HR from the Outside In offers a highly transformative process, fit for today's business world. Thus, this book deserves to be on the shelf of every practitioner and put into daily practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It is a bible on HR - Excellent Resource for HR Professionals and Leaders, January 13, 2015
This review is from: HR from the Outside In: Six Competencies for the Future of Human Resources (Hardcover)
This book outlines the importance of HR and how it adds value to organizations. It is a trendsetter in HR. HR leaders are often treated as kingmakers, not kings. But this book elevates the roles of HR leaders as true kings and queens. The authors are experts in leadership and are authority on HR. It contains case studies, examples and illustrations. It shares striking stories that arouses interest to read until the end. The ideas and insights in this book are well-punched. It hits the bull’s eye. This is a book with practical application.

This is a well researched book authored with many years of experience in HR. Hence, the readers can expect the best out it. This is a highly inspiring book with HR nuggets. A must read for all HR scholars, practitioners and professionals to hone their art and craft. It is a bible on HR. Strongly recommended for reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars HR from the Outside in, January 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: HR from the Outside In: Six Competencies for the Future of Human Resources (Hardcover)
Excellent practices for HR Professional ! I have been working for Human Resources professional for almost 30 years.This book gives me the best solutions and practices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Book by Dave Ulrich, Jon Younger, and Associates, July 31, 2012
This review is from: HR from the Outside In: Six Competencies for the Future of Human Resources (Hardcover)
Another Great book that shows the research of Dave Ulrich, Jon Younger, Wayne Brockbank, and Mike Ulrich. It's nice to know there are still people out there that care about HR and the Value it can create.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars HR for all sizes, July 30, 2012
This review is from: HR from the Outside In: Six Competencies for the Future of Human Resources (Hardcover)
I own a cafe and music venue. Our business is relatively small, but I like to read about global business strategy and imagine confronting the issues faced by multinationals. I was strongly impressed by how the principles in this book, based on research from all over the globe, apply directly to our company. I look forward to watching our small HR function transform as they gain the perspective of our investors, performers, cooks and customers and engage with me in our strategy development. Thanks Dave and all for the impact that these insights have already had and will continue to have on our group.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Moving the needle, July 30, 2012
This review is from: HR from the Outside In: Six Competencies for the Future of Human Resources (Hardcover)
Answers the question: What are the HR competencies that really matter? Ulrich, Younger, Brockbank, and Ulrich look at data from every region of the world to tell us not just what competencies matter for HR professionals but why and how to build them.

Moves beyond navel-gazing that is so easy to get stuck in to look at what line managers and the business need from HR. The result is six competencies:
1) strategic positioner--understanding how the external business environment (the outside) affects the organization (the inside)
2) credible activist--being seen as someone who can be trusted as an activist who makes sure the business gets the right things done
3) capability builder--helping clarify and build the organizational capabilities that lead to competitive advantage/intangible value--people, culture, leadership, etc.
4) HR innovator and integrator--someone who makes sure HR practices are innovative AND integrated to make a system that is greater than the sum of its parts
5) change champion--professionals who are skilled at helping the organization initiate and then sustain the important individual, initiative, and institutional changes needed.
6) technology proponent--leading in application of technology that improves utility of HR operations and connects people and the business--both inside and outside of the organization.

A critical read for any HR professional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

HR from the Outside In: Six Competencies for the Future of Human Resources
$32.00 $19.04
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.