Customer Reviews


99 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


320 of 337 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EVO 3D vs EVO 4G: Flagship Faceoff
Off the bat, the EVO 3D has been getting a lot of mixed reviews. People either love it or hate it, but many reviews floating around have tended to direct the focus of their positive or negative feedback towards one of two things: the 3D features, or everything else. I hope the dispel the mass hysteria of other reviews by giving you a realistic account of my ongoing...
Published on June 25, 2011 by Scott Showalter

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Solid 4G phone with a few issues
I really wanted to love this phone, and after using it for about 5 months, I still LIKE it, but I don't LOVE it.

What I like:

The phone's display is beautiful. I love the HTC-specific flavor of Android that is included on the EVO 3D. The phone is fast, and I don't suffer from any iPhone envy. In fact, just the opposite. I've had several iPhone users...
Published on May 31, 2012 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 510 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great phone - very happy with purchase!, July 18, 2011
This review is from: HTC EVO 3D 4G Android Phone, Black (Sprint) (Wireless Phone)
I absolutely love this phone.

This phone is unbelievably fast - I multitask a lot, so I'll have many apps open, browsers open, take pictures, etc. etc. and the the system barely ever slows down.

Accessing the internet on this phone is amazing, I don't use my laptop as much anymore when I'm home because of how great the browsing experience is. Unfortunately, I don't ever get 4g speeds to the point where I don't even try it anymore. But 3g and WiFi are great.

The battery life on the phone isn't as bad as some make it out to be. Few big things, download a battery management application and make sure your screen brightness is set to low. You'll be fine.

Sense 3.0 is great, it's fast, it's easy to setup shortcuts, widgets, folders, etc. on your home screen. Very easy to use.

Google Marketplace is also unbelievable, it feels like I have access to an unlimited amount of apps whenever I want them, and they download and install so fast.

I can go on and on about this phone, I just love it. Best phone I've ever had, Hands Down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HTC EVO 3D is a wonderful phone!, June 25, 2011
By 
Lotto (Texas, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: HTC EVO 3D 4G Android Phone, Black (Sprint) (Wireless Phone)
I too was on the fence on buying this phone since I do have an HTC EVO 4G and with the Gingerbread 2.3.3 release it has been wonderful. I decided to go ahead a treat myself and made the purchase.

The Pros:

1. HTC Sense 3.0 is absolutely the best custom UI on the market at this time. Very refined and many enhancements over the previous version that was included in the HTC EVO 4G.
2. Features galore. There are many subtle options built into the OS that many reviews don't mention like enable power efficiency and turn on power saver when your battery is @ xxx %.
3. 3D. Definitely a gimmick but once you see it in person it has a certain WOW factor that is hard to get over.
4. Battery life is good. This is mostly because of the OS version of Android 2.3.3 which the original HTC EVO 4G received recently and the battery life on that is now good as well.
5. Very responsive and fast.
6. iphone style texting with the speech bubbles. I know I'm a sucker for style and flash.

The Cons:

1. No kickstand. I did go to HTCPedia.com and purchased the hard case with kickstand but it is on backorder.
2. Speaker Volume is not as loud as the original HTC EVO 4G. Definitely noticeable so don't let the other reviewers tell you otherwise.
3. USB Charging port was moved to the left side of the phone. I preferred the bottom myself.

All in all, it is a great phone and I am please to have it. If you are on the fence and can afford it, why not? Is this phone a huge step up from the original HTC EVO 4G? Probably not so if you don't care for the extra bells and whistles, you can probably get away with keeping the EVO 4G for another year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best on the Market, July 13, 2011
This review is from: HTC EVO 3D 4G Android Phone, Black (Sprint) (Wireless Phone)
Thats right, as of right now, this is the best phone on the market. I will spare you the long drawn out dribble, so here are a few points to consider. You are probably tossing between this or iphone 4.

- 3D is just awesome. Taking pics and video is great. The gaming and movie experience is 2nd to none (for phones).
- I dont believe iphone gives insurance now, this phone does.
- Does EVERYTHING!!!! 4g, wifi, hotspot, wireless modem, bluetooth, gps etc... too numerous to mention.
- iphone is good, but you are not getting the value-per-feature, EVO 4g 3D ....gives much more for the price.

iphone 4 lacks most of the features found on the EVO3D4G, iphone may come out with another phone, but nobody knows when. If they do, what features will ot have?? If your looking for a phone now...EVO3D4G is the way to go.

I've had this phone for a few weeks and love it. I still use iphone for app. development, but the EVO is the main tool in my belt.

In the end, its just a smart-phone, and they all do BASICALLY the same thing, but some are sexier than others. Right now...EVO3D4G is where its at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Total Let Down!!!!, July 27, 2012
This review is from: HTC EVO 3D 4G Android Phone, Black (Sprint) (Wireless Phone)
I bought this phone in July of 2011 and it was a great buy. Or so I thought! It turned out to be the phone from hell. The 1st month of having it, I had to return it and get a new one because the previous one over heated! Then, once I received the nest one, it went down hill from there. It freezes, overheats, Shuts off unexpectedly and I lose connection constantly! It overheated so bad one day, as soon as I picked it up, it burned to the touch. I ended up dropping it to the floor damaging the frame. I no longer have that red piece that goes around the camera part because it peeled off!! I rarely used the 3D option so I have no opinion on that. For those who bought it and had no problems, LUCKY YOU, I'm envious. For those who are planning on buying it, GOOD LUCK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Phone When It's Plugged In, August 23, 2011
By 
Dresch "Dresch" (Los Angeles, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: HTC EVO 3D 4G Android Phone, Black (Sprint) (Wireless Phone)
I really like the EVO 3D for blazing fast speed and cool features. I can download and use apps within a few seconds. The video is amazing and I love the customizable interface of the phone.

However, weighing heavily against the features I like about this phone are the following (in order of magnitude):

#1 - The battery life is terrible - Even after I did all of the battery saving tricks (dimming the phone, app killers, battery saver apps, shutting down network features...etc), the battery still runs out way too quickly. I'm always trying to find a place to charge my phone and I don't use it that often.

#2 - The onscreen keypad is way too sensitive, very small, and difficult to use. I've been trying to train my fingers on the keypad, but it is difficult to use because a key will be pressed just before my finger touches the screen and the keys appear very narrow.

#3 - USB on the side of the phone. This wasn't an issue when I first started using the phone, but now I find it increasingly annoying because I find it necessary to be plugged in so frequently (see issue #1 above).

#4 - The speaker is very weak on high volume. For turn by turn directions I could barely hear the voice navigation over the engine noise.

Unfortunately if I can't find a good enough fix for the battery life issue, this will be a deal breaker and I will return the phone. Because what's the point of having this phone if the battery is constantly going dead?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great 3D phone, July 12, 2011
By 
This review is from: HTC EVO 3D 4G Android Phone, Black (Sprint) (Wireless Phone)
I upgraded this from HTC EVO 4G. It has a faster processor and the HTC sense is nice. Of corse the 3D feature is the talk of my team mates.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Evo 3d, June 27, 2011
This review is from: HTC EVO 3D 4G Android Phone, Black (Sprint) (Wireless Phone)
This is a really good phone, i have only had it for few days but it has been incredible, the 3d is suprisingly good and does not strain my eyes s much as I thought that it would. The battery life leaves something to be desired but overall it is an impressive device.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Phone Ever, June 26, 2011
This review is from: HTC EVO 3D 4G Android Phone, Black (Sprint) (Wireless Phone)
I couldn't be more pleased! The one thing this bad boy is missing is a Root, and that's gotta be coming soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars After a year, screen is defective, May 1, 2014
By 
Royal "RoyalEF" (New Rochelle, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: HTC EVO 3D 4G Android Phone, Black (Sprint) (Wireless Phone)
My phone has a dead strip of screen along the ZXCVBNM keyboard row. This started after it was about 14 months old. Sporadic at first, becoming more frequent. Often I can't answer the phone because the unlock swipe passes over the dead spot on the screen. Can't text without turning screen sideways and QWASZ are constantly mistyping. Sometimes my phone will start swiping and typing by itself. The lock will jump over and over as the screen shorts and detects phantom touches. It has become useless. $300+ dollars down the drain.

The camera on this phone has always been abysmal. Colors are often wildly off. Blurs and softness abound. I didn't care about 3d. When I asked around people said HTC is know for crappy cameras in their phone.

I often don't get 4G, and if you travel say good buy to having a phone if you travel outside of metropolitan cities. I didn't have data access on my phone for weeks. I lost PHONE access heavily in northern michigan. I actually had to ask people if there was a public phone booth around. Because of this I ended up buying a Verizon pay-as-you-go phone while traveling around the U.S. I simply couldn't go days and weeks without phone service.

I wouldn't buy another HTC unless I got a big bargain and a warranty. Everything I liked about it was courtesy of Android, not specific to HTC. HTC specific hardware was bad.

Battery drain from the start was bad, as is usual amongst smart phones. I have a Samsung flip-phone. I charge it and it is good for most of the week.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excelente, December 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
El producto llegó en perfecto estado y es de buena calidad, lo recomiendo, el envío llegó a tiempo según lo acordado
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 510 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.